Best Sauna Brands 2026: Top 10 Ranked by Evidence

Brand rankings · Evidence-scored · Updated September 01, 2026

Edited by: Melanie Green, Health and Wellness Copywriter · Registered Dietitian Background · MSc Human Nutrition.
Expert contributor: Jennifer King, DNP, Doctor of Nursing Practice · Certified Fitness Professional.
Clinically reviewed by: Dr. Joe Lee, DPT, OCS · Duke University Doctor of Physical Therapy · Board Certified Orthopedic Clinical Specialist.
Published July 10, 2026 · Updated September 01, 2026 · Every price, warranty term and test claim below carries a check date in the source table.
Disclosure: We don't run affiliate links or earn commissions on it; we rank brands on the merits and award categories to competing brands where they lead. Our reasoning and criteria are laid out in full below so you can judge each pick for yourself.

Quick answer

Home Saunas is our best overall sauna brand for 2026, scoring 84.0 of 100 on the weighted matrix below. It is the only brand on this list that publishes named-lab EMF, cabin-air VOC and adhesive reports as downloadable documents, and its current models have hands-on coverage from Garage Gym Reviews, Fortune and The Good Trade. The right brand for you still depends on what you are buying.

By use case: for a barrel sauna, choose Almost Heaven. For an infrared sauna delivered and installed for you, choose Good Health Saunas. For the lowest-priced outdoor kits with a Harvia heater included, choose Redwood Outdoors. For a heater for a custom build, choose Harvia. For the longest track record in infrared specifically, Health Mate. For a delivered-and-installed luxury build, Cedar & Stone. On a tight budget, Dynamic is the entry point.

Best sauna brands at a glance

Eight brands, ranked by the weighted score from the matrix. Price tiers use the definitions in the price tier section; dated starting prices for each representative model are in the comparison table.

Table 1. The 8 best sauna brands of 2026, ranked by weighted evidence score (out of 100)
Rank Brand Best for Sauna types Price tier Weighted score
1 Sun Home Saunas Best overall: published named-lab EMF, VOC and adhesive reports plus independent hands-on coverage Full-spectrum and far-infrared cabins, traditional (Nova, Solaris), cold plunges $$ to $$$$ 84.0
2 Almost Heaven Best barrel saunas: lifetime structural warranty, published bench dimensions, Harvia heater included Barrel, cabin, cube, indoor traditional, infrared and hybrid $$ to $$$ 79.5
3 Good Health Saunas Best delivered-and-installed infrared; best annual published EMF testing Infrared (Signature and Hybrid series, 1 to 4 person) Not published (quote) 74.0
4 Redwood Outdoors Best value outdoor kits: lowest verified kit prices with a Harvia heater included Barrel, cabin, cube, panorama, indoor traditional $$ 69.0
5 Harvia Best sauna heaters: reference-standard sizing documentation, 75 years of heater manufacturing Electric and wood-burning heaters, controls; complete rooms through partners Component (dealer-priced) 65.0
6 Health Mate Longest-running infrared specialist (since 1979) Infrared (Enrich, Inspire, Elevated Health, Therapy Lounge) $$ to $$$ 62.5
7 Cedar & Stone Best handcrafted luxury outdoor saunas: mass-timber builds delivered and installed in one day Pre-designed and bespoke traditional outdoor saunas $$$$ 56.0
8 Dynamic (Golden Designs) Best budget entry point Far-infrared cabins (some full-spectrum models) $ 55.5

Best sauna brand by buyer type:

  • Best sauna brand for most homes: Sun Home Saunas
  • Best barrel sauna brand: Almost Heaven
  • Best sauna brand for delivery and installation: Good Health Saunas
  • Best value outdoor kit brand: Redwood Outdoors
  • Best sauna heater brand: Harvia
  • Longest-running infrared brand: Health Mate
  • Best luxury outdoor sauna brand: Cedar & Stone
  • Best budget sauna brand: Dynamic

How we rank: criteria and weights

We weight independently verifiable evidence over marketing. Each brand is scored from 1 to 5 in half-point steps on the eight criteria below, using only what the brand publishes on its own pages and what named third parties have published about it. The weighted total is the sum of weight times score, divided by 5, for a maximum of 100. Anyone with the linked sources can reproduce the numbers.

Table 2. Scoring criteria, weights and anchors
# Criterion Weight What earns a 5 What earns a 1
1 Published third-party testing 25 Named-lab EMF and VOC reports with numeric results published as documents, plus an independent instrumented heat test of a current model No test data, or safety claims with no lab, method or number
2 Warranty as written 15 Lifetime or 10-year-plus coverage of the structure and the heaters in published terms, with labor addressed One year or less on the structure
3 Materials and construction documentation 15 Wood species, thickness, dimensions and weight published and consistent across the brand's own pages Materials unnamed, or contradicted across the brand's own listings
4 Heater documentation 10 Heater type, output, electrical requirement and sizing guidance published Heater type or output unpublished
5 Price transparency 10 Every model priced on the brand's own site with online checkout Pricing gated behind a quote request
6 Delivery and service model 10 Brand delivers, installs and demonstrates the sauna, or offers showrooms where you can sit in one Curbside freight, DIY assembly and no in-person option
7 Track record 10 25 or more years in the category (4 = 15 to 24 years; 3 = 5 to 14 years; 2.5 = founding year not published by the brand) Unclear corporate identity
8 Independent editorial coverage 5 Named outlets with hands-on reviews of current models No hands-on coverage located
Total weight 100 Ties are broken by the criterion 1 score, then criterion 2. Scores are as of the check dates in the source table.

Two rules shape the result. First, a brand can rank high overall and still lose a category award: the "best for" labels go to whichever brand leads on the criterion that matters for that lane. Second, when a brand's own pages disagree with each other (wood species, warranty terms, circuit requirements), we disclose the conflict and lower the documentation score; we do not pick a side. Sun Home's first-place position rests on criterion 1, and each underlying report is linked in its entry so you can check it yourself.

Brand-by-brand scoring matrix

Scores per criterion (1 to 5), the weight of each criterion in parentheses, and the weighted total. The reasoning behind every score is in each brand's "Score notes" further down.

Table 3. Scoring matrix, checked August 2026 (weighted total = sum of weight times score, divided by 5)
Brand 1 Testing (25) 2 Warranty (15) 3 Materials (15) 4 Heater (10) 5 Price (10) 6 Service (10) 7 Track record (10) 8 Editorial (5) Weighted total
Sun Home Saunas 5 4 4 4 5 3 3 5 84.0
Almost Heaven 2.5 4.5 4.5 5 5 3.5 5 3 79.5
Good Health Saunas 4.5 3.5 4 4 1 5 4 1 74.0
Redwood Outdoors 3 1.5 4.5 5 5 3.5 2.5 4 69.0
Harvia 2 3 4 5 3 2.5 5 3 65.0
Health Mate 2 3.5 3 3 5 3 5 1 62.5
Cedar & Stone 1 2 5 3 4 5 2.5 1 56.0
Dynamic (Golden Designs) 2 2 2.5 2.5 5 3 4 3 55.5

Worked example, Sun Home: (25 × 5) + (15 × 4) + (15 × 4) + (10 × 4) + (10 × 5) + (10 × 3) + (10 × 3) + (5 × 5) = 420; 420 ÷ 5 = 84.0. Worked example, Almost Heaven: 62.5 + 67.5 + 67.5 + 50 + 50 + 35 + 50 + 15 = 397.5; ÷ 5 = 79.5.

Comparison table: prices, warranties, materials, testing and delivery

Prices are regular list prices from each brand's own site on the date shown; promotional prices seen during our checks are noted in the brand entries. "Testing available" describes what the brand or a named third party has published, not what we measured.

Table 4. Decision data for the 8 ranked brands (check dates in the source table)
Brand Representative model and dated list price Warranty as written Materials Testing available Delivery model Primary drawback
Sun Home Saunas Luminar 5 outdoor infrared, $14,499 (Aug 26, 2026); Equinox 2 indoor infrared, $6,799 (Aug 30, 2026); Nova 3 traditional, $12,499 (Aug 25, 2026) Eclipse, Pod and Luminar: limited lifetime, defined as up to 7 years on cabinetry and heaters, 3 years on controls (Luminar exterior 3 years), 90 days parts, labor and shipping. Equinox and Solstice: 7 years cabinetry and heaters, 3 years controls, 1 year glass and audio, no labor line. Nova heater: HUUM 3-year terms. Luminar: aluminum exterior, Canadian red cedar interior. Equinox and Solstice: eucalyptus. Nova: Canadian cedar. Eclipse and Pod: species stated differently across Sun Home's own pages (see entry). Vitatech EMF report, VERT / LA Testing VOC report and ATS adhesive report, all downloadable. Garage Gym Reviews measured about 160°F on the Luminar 5. Direct to consumer, free US shipping, crated curbside; self-assembly (Luminar: 2 to 4 people, 3 to 4 hours) or paid white-glove upgrade. Premium pricing; large models are a multi-person assembly job; GGR's measured Luminar temperature fell below the 170°F rating.
Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4-Person Barrel, $7,575 (Aug 26, 2026; $5,302.50 on a 30% August sale that day) Limited lifetime on manufacturing defects of the sauna room; Harvia heater 1 year on elements, 5 years on other components. Rustic Red Cedar 1-3/8 in. ball-and-socket staves on the Pinnacle; Nordic spruce and hemlock on other models (confirm per model). No published lab testing (traditional saunas). Garage Gym Reviews hands-on coverage of the Morgan barrel. Freight-delivered DIY kit, 6 to 8 week lead time; optional nationwide professional installation from $1,400. DIY assembly; heater and accessory options configured separately; traditional-focused lineup.
Good Health Saunas GSE-2 Signature 2-person infrared; price not published (quote form on every model page, Aug 31, 2026) Lifetime on all GHS heaters and electrical components; cabinet and wood coverage not stated on the warranty page. FSC-certified Canadian hemlock or red cedar interiors; per-model spec sheets published. Annual Vitatech EMF report with per-model readings (June 2026 PDF); IAQ Diagnostics / SGS Galson VOC report (May 2026 PDF); emissivity report. Hand-delivered and installed nationwide if you choose; showrooms in Appleton and Waukesha, WI and at Mall of America, MN; trade-show circuit. No published prices; infrared only; no independent hands-on review of a current model located.
Redwood Outdoors Cabin 4-Person, $7,299 (Aug 31, 2026; out of stock at check); 6-Person Barrel, $6,299 (Aug 29, 2026; out of stock at check) 1-year limited on the sauna; Harvia heater 1 year on elements, 5 years on other components; labor not covered. Heat-treated Canadian hemlock ("thermowood"), FSC-C210325; published dimensions and weight. No published lab testing. Garage Gym Reviews dedicated hands-on review of the Thermowood Cabin (190°F ceiling in GGR's spec table). Curbside freight crate, DIY kit, licensed electrician required for the hardwired heater; showrooms in Seattle, Los Angeles and Salt Lake City. Shortest warranty on the list; kit assembly; stock gaps at our checks.
Harvia KIP 6 kW electric heater; sold through dealers (bundled in Almost Heaven and Redwood kits); no direct US checkout Harvia global terms: 2 years on electric heaters plus 1 year with registration within 30 days. US resellers publish 1 year on elements and 5 years on components. Stainless-steel heaters with published stone capacity, output and circuit requirements. Published sizing documentation and temperature curves; no cabin testing (component maker). Dealer network; US office in Lewisburg, WV; online support center. Not a complete-sauna seller in the US; warranty terms differ between Harvia and its resellers.
Health Mate Enrich 3 infrared, $5,900 (Aug 26, 2026) Marketed as a Limited Lifetime Warranty; the published chart lists 10 years on cabin, frame, paneling, controls, heater core, lighting, audio and factory labor for indoor residential use (1 to 5 years commercial). Non-transferable. Mahogany per the About page and Enrich 3 listing; eucalyptus on the warranty page; both on the Therapy Lounge page. Manufacturer states third-party EMF and non-toxic certification; no lab report, measurement position or date located on its pages. UL and ETL listings stated. Shipped for tool-free magnet or buckle assembly; phone and virtual consultations. Conflicting wood and warranty statements; no published maximum temperature; no independent hands-on review located.
Cedar & Stone Model 5/5+ outdoor sauna, from $59,900 (Aug 31, 2026); ready-built units listed at $61,200 to $68,400 the same day 2 years, as stated on the model page. Cross-laminated timber (CLT) structure, Western red clear cedar interior, 6,000 lb, published dimensions and bench length. None published; no independent hands-on review located. Delivered fully built and installed in one day with white-glove service; showroom experiences in Duluth, MN and at Four Seasons Hotel Minneapolis. Price; 2-year warranty; 4 to 6 months from deposit to completion.
Dynamic (Golden Designs) Barcelona DYN-6106-01, $2,099 direct (Aug 31, 2026); $1,699.99 on a Costco listing the same day 5 years on heating elements and electronics (residential), 1 year on the wood structure; indoor use only; registration required. Canadian hemlock; published dimensions and weight; circuit and maximum temperature differ across listings. Brand-stated EMF of 5 to 10 mG at 2 to 3 inches from the panels; no lab report. Garage Gym Reviews lists a Dynamic model (Andora 2-Person) in its infrared roundup. Curbside pallet delivery; clasp-together assembly in about an hour; sold direct and through Costco, Wayfair and specialty retailers. Listing conflicts across channels; 1-year wood warranty; interior is tight for two adults.

What the price tiers mean

Tiers are based on the regular list price of a complete sauna (cabin or kit with its standard heater, before shipping, electrical work and installation), as checked on the dates in the source table.

$ (under $3,000)
Dynamic: Barcelona $2,099 direct; $1,699.99 on a Costco listing (Aug 31, 2026).
$$ ($3,000 to $7,999)
Redwood Outdoors: 6-Person Barrel $6,299, Cabin 4-Person $7,299. Health Mate: Enrich 3 $5,900. Almost Heaven: Pinnacle 4-Person Barrel $7,575, Bridgeport 6 $7,624. Sun Home: Solstice 2 $6,199, Pod $6,699, Equinox 2 $6,799.
$$$ ($8,000 to $14,999)
Almost Heaven: Princeton 6 $8,932. Health Mate: Elevated Health and Therapy Lounge $8,500. Sun Home: Eclipse 2 $10,599, Luminar 2 $11,599, Nova 3 $12,499, Luminar 5 $14,499.
$$$$ ($15,000 and up)
Sun Home: Nova 6 $16,399. Cedar & Stone: pre-designed models $49,900 to $72,000; bespoke projects $80,000 to $250,000 per the brand's own FAQ.
Not published or component
Good Health Saunas gates pricing behind a quote request. Harvia sells heaters through dealers; heater packages are priced inside Almost Heaven and Redwood kits.

Sun Home, Almost Heaven and Redwood Outdoors all ran promotions during our checks (Sun Home's Back to School sale was advertised as ending August 31, 2026; Redwood advertised Labor Day discounts on August 31; Almost Heaven ran a 30% August sale). We list regular prices so the tiers stay comparable.

The 8 best sauna brands of 2026

Entries run in ranked order. Each one names the evidence behind its score, links the warranty page, test reports, specifications, pricing and company history we used, and lists the tradeoffs in plain terms.

1. Home Saunas: best overall

Weighted score 84.0 · Best for: buyers who want performance and safety claims they can verify before spending five figures, and one brand across infrared, traditional and cold plunge

Sun Home Saunas is a San Diego-based direct-to-consumer brand founded in 2021 by Tyler Fish and Adam Fischer. Its lineup covers full-spectrum and far-infrared cabins (Equinox, Solstice, Eclipse, Pod and the outdoor Luminar), the Nova and Solaris traditional lines, and cold plunges (company page; Inc. 5000 profile, No. 20 in 2025 and No. 198 in 2026).

Testing evidence (criterion 1, scored 5)

Sun Home is the only brand on this list that publishes three named-lab reports as downloadable documents from its safety and testing page:

  • EMF. Vitatech Electromagnetics report VTE-3534 (January 2025) publishes RMS magnetic-field ranges by seated distance: 0.6 to 4.0 mG at 1 foot, 0.4 to 1.8 mG at 2 feet and 0.3 to 0.9 mG at 3 feet, measured from 10 to 3,000 Hz with the heaters under load across 120 V and 230 V configurations. The summary does not identify individual models, so treat it as a platform-level record rather than a per-cabin figure (Sun Home's low-EMF explainer says model reports are available on request).
  • Cabin air. One cabin-air sample collected by VERT Environmental (Project #66958, April 2, 2026) and analyzed by LA Testing, an AIHA-accredited lab, under EPA Method TO-15, returned 27 µg/m³ total VOCs, classified "Low" under the report's guideline. It is a single sample of one unidentified unit, so it is brand-level evidence for the infrared line, not a per-model result.
  • Adhesive. Applied Technical Services report 486424 (June 18, 2026) found no formaldehyde or BTEX compounds above reporting limits in the cabin-assembly adhesive.

Independent performance evidence is narrower than the lab record, and we state it exactly: Garage Gym Reviews measured roughly 160°F on the 5-person Luminar in its hands-on review, against Sun Home's published 170°F maximum. That single measurement is the only third-party temperature figure we cite for the brand; it is not an independent verification of temperatures across the lineup. GGR's outdoor roundup, updated in August 2026, names the Luminar 5 its Best Outdoor Sauna Overall at 4.4 out of 5. The Good Trade reviewed the Luminar in May 2026, and Fortune rated the Luminar 5P 4.5 out of 5 as its best overall home sauna (we cite the award, not Fortune's warranty summary, which differs from the terms below).

Warranty, specs, pricing

Warranty as written: the Eclipse, Pod and Luminar carry a limited lifetime warranty defined as up to 7 years on cabinetry and heaters and 3 years on controls (the Luminar's exterior cabin is also 3 years), with 90 days of parts, labor and shipping coverage; the Equinox and Solstice carry 7 years on cabinetry and heaters, 3 years on controls and 1 year on glass and audio, with no labor line; the Nova's HUUM Drop heater follows HUUM's 3-year residential terms. Published regular prices at our checks: Solstice 2 $6,199, Pod $6,699, Equinox 2 $6,799, Eclipse 2 $10,599, Luminar 2 $11,599, Nova 3 $12,499, Luminar 5 $14,499 and Nova 6 $16,399. The Luminar 5 spec sheet lists 15 heaters (5 far-infrared, 10 full-spectrum), a dedicated 30 A 240 V circuit, a 24-inch door and 1,270 lb; the Nova line runs a HUUM Drop heater rated to 230°F (6 kW on the 3-person, 7.5 kW on the 6-person). Sun Home holds a design patent (D1,079,961) on the Luminar's aluminum exterior.

Delivery is direct to consumer with free US shipping. Saunas arrive crated at the curb; the assembly page says the Luminar needs at least two to four people and roughly three to four hours, and white-glove inside delivery is a paid upgrade. There is no showroom network, which is why the service score is a 3 rather than a 5.

Score notes

Testing 5 (three named-lab documents plus a third-party measured temperature). Warranty 4 (published terms on every line; "lifetime" is capped at 7 years). Materials 4 (per-model spec sheets and a design patent, minus one point because the Eclipse and Pod wood species read Canadian hemlock on the product pages and red cedar on the safety page; we did not pick a side). Heater 4 (heater counts, wattage and circuit published per model). Price 5. Service 3. Track record 3 (five years). Editorial 5 (GGR, Fortune, The Good Trade and others on current models).

Wins when: you want claims you can verify against a named lab report, or you want infrared and traditional options from one company. Tradeoffs: premium pricing, a self-assembly delivery model on large outdoor units, and a lineup-wide temperature record that so far rests on one independent measurement. See our low-EMF infrared guide and large sauna guide for model-level comparisons.

2. Almost Heaven: best barrel saunas

Weighted score 79.5 · Best for: a classic outdoor barrel with a Finnish heater and a lifetime structural warranty at a mid-range price

Almost Heaven has built saunas in West Virginia's Greenbrier Valley since 1977 and joined the Harvia family in 2019. Its barrels, cabins, cubes and indoor rooms ship as kits with Harvia heaters, built from Rustic Red Cedar, Nordic spruce or hemlock depending on the model (confirm the lumber per model and finish; a dealer listing for the Onyx finish describes stained fir while the maker frames the line as cedar).

Warranty as written: limited lifetime coverage against manufacturing defects on the sauna room, with the Harvia heater covered 1 year on elements and 5 years on other components. That is the strongest published structural term on this list. The representative Pinnacle 4-Person Barrel listed at $7,575 regular ($5,302.50 on a 30% August sale at our August 26 check): 1-3/8 inch ball-and-socket Rustic Red Cedar staves, a Harvia 6 kW heater included (240 V, 30 A hardwired, with 120 V lighting), a published bench of 16 by 63¼ by 17 inches, an assembled footprint of 78 by 71 by 81.5 inches, made in the USA, six to eight week lead time and optional nationwide professional installation from $1,400. Almost Heaven publishes bench dimensions, which most brands do not; our 5- to 6-person guide uses the Princeton 6 ($8,932) and Bridgeport 6 ($7,624) for the same reason.

Independent evidence: no published lab testing (this is a traditional-sauna maker), but the April 2026 edition of Garage Gym Reviews' outdoor roundup named the Morgan barrel its best outdoor barrel sauna, with its tester reporting roughly 190°F after a half-hour preheat (we could not confirm that award in the August 2026 edition at our check). Almost Heaven's "180°F within an hour" copy on larger models is a heat-up claim, not a published maximum.

Score notes

Testing 2.5 (no lab reports; hands-on third-party coverage only). Warranty 4.5 (lifetime on the room; heater elements only 1 year). Materials 4.5 (species, stave thickness, interior and bench dimensions published; half a point off for the Onyx wood conflict). Heater 5 (Harvia output, circuit and control options published). Price 5. Service 3.5 (DIY kit with an optional paid installation program). Track record 5 (49 years). Editorial 3 (GGR category award).

Wins when: you want a barrel with genuine Finnish heater hardware, published bench geometry and a long structural warranty. Tradeoffs: DIY assembly is part of the deal, heaters and accessories are configured separately, and the lineup is traditional-first (its infrared and hybrid models do not carry the lab documentation of the infrared specialists above).

3. Good Health Saunas: best delivered-and-installed infrared, best annual published EMF testing

Weighted score 74.0 · Best for: buyers who want the sauna hand-delivered, installed and demonstrated, with a fresh third-party EMF report each year

Good Health Saunas has sold infrared saunas for more than two decades from Wisconsin, with showrooms in Appleton and Waukesha and at Mall of America in Bloomington, Minnesota, plus a national trade-show circuit. The company says it hand-delivers each sauna and installs it if you choose, which is the strongest service model among the infrared brands here.

Testing evidence: the 2026 Vitatech Electromagnetics EMF report (VTE-3559, June 10, 2026) publishes point readings by model rather than a single headline number: 0.125 to 0.251 mG RMS on the GOAT, 0.125 to 0.377 mG on the Hybrid, and 0.377 to 0.879 mG at six of seven Signature measurement points, with one Signature point reading 6.536 mG. The 2026 VOC report (IAQ Diagnostics, analyzed by SGS Galson, dated May 14, 2026) took one EPA TO-15 sample inside each of three models running at or above 135°F; the summary page reports the cabin air as equivalent to the showroom air and does not print a numeric TVOC, though the full report is downloadable. An emissivity report and FSC wood documentation are also published.

Warranty as written: a lifetime guarantee on all GHS heaters and all electrical components. The warranty page does not state coverage for the cabinet or wood, so we score it below the brands that publish structural terms. Specifications are published per model (the GSE-2 Signature runs on 120 V, 20 A with a NEMA 5-20 receptacle, measures 75 by 48 by 48 inches, and is built from FSC-certified Canadian hemlock or red cedar, with a spec sheet), but every model page routes pricing through a quote form, and we located no independent hands-on review of a current model.

Score notes

Testing 4.5 (annual named-lab EMF with per-model figures and a downloadable VOC report; no independent instrumented heat test located). Warranty 3.5 (lifetime on heaters and electronics; cabinet coverage not stated). Materials 4 (FSC-certified species and per-model spec sheets). Heater 4 (carbon and ceramic hybrid heaters, circuit published; emissivity report). Price 1 (quote-gated). Service 5. Track record 4 (20-plus years). Editorial 1.

Wins when: you want the sauna delivered, installed and demonstrated rather than assembled from a crate, backed by a report you can download every year. Tradeoffs: infrared only, no published prices, and a warranty that is explicit about heaters and electronics but silent on the cabinet.

4. Redwood Outdoors: best value outdoor kits

Weighted score 69.0 · Best for: a well-reviewed traditional kit with a Harvia heater at the lowest verified kit prices on this list

Redwood Outdoors is based in Kent, Washington, outside Seattle, founded by Killian Lannen and Nicholas Jensen, with showrooms in Seattle, Los Angeles and Salt Lake City. Despite the name, its saunas are built brand-wide from heat-treated Canadian hemlock ("thermowood"), not cedar or redwood; the wood carries FSC chain-of-custody code C210325. The Cabin 4-Person listed at $7,299 regular on August 31, 2026 (out of stock that day) with a 6 kW Harvia KIP included on a 240 V, 30 A hardwired circuit, two-level seating, an exterior of 78 by 67 by 92.5 inches and a 1,150 lb crate; the 6-Person Barrel listed at $6,299 on August 29 (also out of stock at check).

Independent evidence: Garage Gym Reviews' dedicated hands-on review of the Thermowood Cabin, and the August 2026 update of its outdoor roundup, which names the cabin Best Traditional Outdoor Sauna and lists a 190°F temperature ceiling in its comparison table. Warranty as written: a 1-year limited warranty on the sauna, with Harvia heaters covered 1 year on elements and 5 years on other components; labor is not covered. Delivery is a curbside freight crate, assembly is DIY, and the brand requires a licensed electrician for the heater.

Score notes

Testing 3 (independent hands-on review with a measured ceiling; no lab reports). Warranty 1.5 (one year on the structure). Materials 4.5 (species, treatment process, dimensions, weight and FSC code published). Heater 5 (every heater option published with output, voltage, amperage and stone capacity). Price 5. Service 3.5 (curbside kit, but three showrooms). Track record 2.5 (founding year not published by the brand). Editorial 4 (GGR category award and dedicated review).

Wins when: you want a Harvia-heated traditional kit at the lowest price we verified and you are comfortable assembling it. Tradeoffs: the published warranty is one year on the sauna, far shorter than Almost Heaven's lifetime structural term, and both representative models showed out of stock at our checks.

5. Harvia: best sauna heaters

Weighted score 65.0 · Best for: choosing the heater for a custom build, or knowing what is inside the cabin you buy

Harvia, founded in 1950 in Finland and headquartered in Muurame, says it manufactures more than 200,000 heaters a year for customers in more than 90 countries (75-year history page). Its KIP, Spirit, Virta and Cilindro units are the standard heaters inside Almost Heaven and Redwood Outdoors kits, and Harvia owns Almost Heaven outright. Its heater-sizing documentation (updated May 2026) is the reference standard: about 1 kW per cubic meter of room volume, with each square meter of glass or stone counted as 1.2 extra cubic meters and a 1.5 factor for non-insulated log walls, plus published temperature curves and a volume calculator.

Warranty as written, with a conflict to note: Harvia's own global warranty terms (November 2025) list 2 years on electric heaters for family use, plus 1 additional year if the heater is registered within 30 days; the US resellers on this list (Almost Heaven and Redwood Outdoors) publish 1 year on heating elements and 5 years on other components. Read the terms of whichever company sells you the heater. In the US, Harvia sells through dealers rather than direct checkout; its US office is in Lewisburg, West Virginia, at Almost Heaven's address.

Score notes

Testing 2 (component maker; heater documentation but no cabin-level lab testing, and independent evidence arrives indirectly through tested saunas that run its heaters). Warranty 3 (published terms, but they differ from reseller terms). Materials 4 (stainless construction, stone capacity and dimensions published). Heater 5. Price 3 (dealer pricing, published inside partner kits). Service 2.5 (dealer network). Track record 5 (76 years). Editorial 3 (Harvia heaters appear in GGR-tested kits).

Wins when: you are building a custom traditional sauna and choosing the heater yourself. Tradeoffs: complete rooms are mostly sold through partner brands in the US, and heater warranty terms depend on who sells it to you.

6. Health Mate: longest-running infrared specialist

Weighted score 62.5 · Best for: buyers who value the longest track record in infrared specifically and published pricing on a mid-range cabin

Health Mate was founded in 1979 and is a subsidiary of the Samick Group. Its cabins pair patented Tecoloy mid- and far-infrared heaters with a near-infrared LED panel (600 to 900 nm, per the brand). The representative Enrich 3 listed at $5,900 on August 26, 2026 (120 V, 2,205 W, 20 A, NEMA 5-20P), with no published maximum temperature (the brand's FAQ suggests 120 to 140°F sessions) and a listing that states both 10 and 8 heaters.

Two documentation conflicts lower its score, and we disclose both rather than resolve them. Wood: the About page and the Enrich 3 listing say solid mahogany, the warranty page says solid eucalyptus, and the Therapy Lounge page says both. Warranty: the brand markets a Limited Lifetime Warranty, but its published warranty chart for full-size saunas bought after December 31, 2024 lists 10 years on the cabin and frame, paneling, flooring, door, controls, heater core, lighting, audio and factory labor for indoor residential use (1 year on the cabin and 5 years on components for commercial use), with labor covered in the US and Canada and no transfer to a second owner; the Elevated Health page describes different terms. Testing: the brand states third-party EMF and non-toxic certification and lists UL, ETL (Intertek), CE, S-Mark, KC and PSE marks, but we did not locate a lab report, measurement position or test date on its pages.

Score notes

Testing 2 (manufacturer-stated certifications without a published report; no independent hands-on review located). Warranty 3.5 (10-year published chart, labor included; marketing language exceeds the chart). Materials 3 (conflicting species across pages; dimensions and electrical published). Heater 3 (patented heater type and wattage published; heater count conflicts, no maximum temperature). Price 5. Service 3. Track record 5 (47 years). Editorial 1.

Wins when: you want a long-established infrared maker with published pricing and online checkout. Tradeoffs: its pages disagree with each other on wood and warranty, its safety claims are not backed by a published report, and the lineup is infrared-only.

7. Cedar & Stone Nordic Sauna: best handcrafted luxury outdoor saunas

Weighted score 56.0 · Best for: a permanent, architect-grade outdoor sauna built, delivered and installed for you

Cedar & Stone is a Duluth, Minnesota design-build company (manufacturing in Superior, Wisconsin) co-founded by Joel Vikre and Justin Juntunen, with a guided sauna experience on the Duluth harbor and a partnership at Four Seasons Hotel Minneapolis. Its Model 3, Model 5/5+ and Model 8 saunas are built from cross-laminated timber with a Western red clear cedar interior and a Wi-Fi-enabled electric stove (wood-burning stove optional); the Model 5/5+ page publishes seating (4 to 6), hot-room volume (292 cubic feet), a 6 foot 9 inch bench, a 6,000 lb weight and full dimensions, with a model comparison sheet.

Pricing is more transparent than a design-build shop usually is: the Model 5/5+ starts at $59,900, ready-built units were listed at $61,200 to $68,400 on August 31, 2026, the Model 3 at $51,100, and the brand's own FAQ puts its pre-designed line at $49,900 to $72,000 and bespoke projects at $80,000 to $250,000. Final pricing comes through a contract after a consultation, with 50% due at signing and 50% before shipment. Saunas are delivered fully built and installed in a single day; most projects run four to six months from deposit to completion. Warranty as written: 2 years, per the model page. We found no published testing and no independent hands-on review.

Score notes

Testing 1. Warranty 2 (two years on a five-figure product). Materials 5 (construction system, species, volume, bench length, weight and dimensions all published). Heater 3 (Wi-Fi electric stove with large stone capacity; brand not named on the model page). Price 4 (starting and unit prices published; final price by contract). Service 5. Track record 2.5 (founding year not published). Editorial 1.

Wins when: you want a structure rather than a kit and you value design as much as heat. Tradeoffs: the highest prices on this list, the shortest warranty relative to price, and a multi-month lead time. Our luxury sauna guide compares it model by model.

8. Dynamic (Golden Designs): best budget entry point

Weighted score 55.5 · Best for: a first sauna when budget is the binding constraint

Dynamic Saunas is a Golden Designs, Inc. brand that has imported far-infrared cabins since 2008 from a facility in Ontario, California, selling direct and through Costco, Wayfair and specialty retailers. The representative Barcelona (DYN-6106-01) listed at $2,099 on the brand's own store on August 31, 2026, and at $1,699.99 on a Costco listing the same day: Canadian hemlock, six carbon far-infrared panels, 39 by 36 by 73 inches, 250 lb, clasp-together assembly in roughly an hour on a curbside pallet. The brand page lists a 120 V, 15 A circuit while the Costco configuration lists 120 V, 20 A dedicated; listed maximum temperatures range from about 135°F to 145°F depending on the seller; and the "red light therapy" feature is chromotherapy lighting, as the listing's own wording and owner reviews make clear.

Warranty as written: 5 years on heating elements and electronics for residential use (1 year commercial), 1 year on the wood structure, indoor use only, with registration required. Testing: the Golden Designs listing states EMF of 5 to 10 mG at 2 to 3 inches from the panels, with no lab report, and an "Elite" ultra-low-EMF variant is sold separately. Garage Gym Reviews' 2026 infrared roundup lists a Dynamic model, the Andora 2-Person, as its low-EMF category pick; we did not locate a GGR EMF measurement for it.

Score notes

Testing 2 (brand-stated EMF figure with a distance, no report; a third-party roundup mention). Warranty 2 (5 years electronics, 1 year wood). Materials 2.5 (species and dimensions published; circuit and temperature conflict across channels). Heater 2.5 (panel count and circuit published; total wattage not on the brand page). Price 5. Service 3 (curbside pallet, fast assembly, wide retail availability). Track record 4 (18 years). Editorial 3.

Wins when: you want basic far-infrared function at the lowest cost of entry and can accept thinner documentation. Tradeoffs: listing conflicts, a 1-year wood warranty, an interior that is tight for two adults, and safety claims you should ask the seller to document. Our under-$1,000 guide and portable sauna guide cover the tier below this one.

How to choose between sauna brands

How to choose quickly:

  • Choose infrared (Sun Home, Good Health Saunas, Health Mate, Dynamic) if you want lower-temperature radiant heat indoors, mostly on 120 V household circuits.
  • Choose traditional (Almost Heaven, Redwood Outdoors, Cedar & Stone, Sun Home's Nova and Solaris, or a Harvia-heated custom build) if you want high heat and löyly steam; expect a dedicated 240 V circuit and an electrician.
  • Choose a barrel or cabin kit brand (Almost Heaven, Redwood Outdoors) if you have yard space and will assemble it yourself or pay for installation.
  • Choose a service-first or design-build brand (Good Health Saunas, Cedar & Stone) if you want delivery and installation handled for you.

Start with type, not brand: traditional rooms run hot air and steam in the 150 to 230°F range depending on the heater, while infrared cabins are rated by their makers at roughly 135 to 176°F and are often used lower. Then match the buying model to your situation: direct-to-consumer brands (Sun Home, Redwood Outdoors, Almost Heaven, Dynamic, Health Mate) publish prices and ship to your curb; Good Health Saunas adds hand delivery and installation; Cedar & Stone trades a published starting price for a contract, a consultation and a one-day install. Finally, compare evidence the way this ranking does: a named lab report beats a "third-party tested" badge, a warranty chart beats a warranty headline, and a specification that matches across a brand's own pages beats one that does not. For model-level decisions, see our best home saunas guide, the seven-decision buying guide, and the quality-features checklist.

Research limitations

  • We did not physically test every brand. homesauna.com did not run instrumented temperature, EMF or air-quality tests on the saunas in this ranking. Where a measured figure appears, it comes from the brand's own published lab report or from a named third-party reviewer, and the text says which.
  • Published documents are the evidence base. Scores reflect what each brand publishes on its own pages as of the check dates below. A brand that tests but does not publish scores the same as one that does not test.
  • Lab reports are not equivalent across brands. EMF and VOC protocols differ (measurement position, frequency band, sample count, cabin temperature), so we compare whether a numeric, named-lab, downloadable report exists, not the numbers against each other.
  • Prices move. All prices are regular list prices on the dates shown; three brands ran promotions during our checks and two representative models showed out of stock.
  • Conflicts are disclosed, not resolved. Where a brand's own pages disagree (Sun Home's Eclipse and Pod wood species, Health Mate's wood and warranty, Dynamic's circuit and temperature, Harvia's heater warranty versus reseller terms), we print both statements and lower the documentation score.
  • Commercial relationship. This guide does not have a commercial relationship with the brands featured in the ranking. The scoring weights, matrix and sources are published so the result can be checked and challenged.

What changed in the August 31, 2026 update

  • Title corrected from "Top 10" to "Top 8" to match the eight ranked brands.
  • Ranking rebuilt on published criterion weights and a brand-by-brand matrix; positions 2 through 8 now follow the weighted totals (Almost Heaven moved to 2, Good Health Saunas to 3, Redwood Outdoors to 4, Harvia to 5, Health Mate to 6, Cedar & Stone to 7).
  • Sun Home's independent temperature evidence restated as Garage Gym Reviews' roughly 160°F measurement on the 5-person Luminar, not lineup-wide verification; the Vitatech EMF figure restated as published seated-distance ranges rather than a single number.
  • Good Health Saunas' warranty corrected to what its warranty page states (lifetime on heaters and electrical components; cabinet coverage not stated) and its 2026 EMF and VOC reports linked directly.
  • Health Mate's published 10-year warranty chart and its mahogany-versus-eucalyptus wood conflict disclosed; Cedar & Stone's published starting prices and 2-year warranty added; Harvia's global warranty terms shown beside reseller terms.
  • Garage Gym Reviews' outdoor awards updated to the August 2026 edition (Luminar 5 best outdoor overall; Redwood Thermowood Cabin best traditional outdoor).
  • Price tiers defined in dollars with dated representative list prices; comparison table expanded; dated source table added; schema corrected (author matches the byline, description populated, publication date precedes modification date, ranked ItemList and breadcrumbs added).

Sources and verification dates

Every factual claim above traces to one of the sources below. "Checked" is the date we last loaded the page or document. Brand pages change; if a linked page no longer says what we report, the check date tells you when it did.

Table 5. Source verification log (all dates 2026)
# Source Supports Checked
S1 Sun Home safety and testing page EMF ranges by distance, VOC result and scope, adhesive result, certifications Aug 31
S2 Vitatech Electromagnetics report VTE-3534 summary (PDF) 0.6 to 4.0 / 0.4 to 1.8 / 0.3 to 0.9 mG RMS at 1, 2 and 3 ft; 10 to 3,000 Hz; models not identified Aug 31
S3 VERT Environmental / LA Testing cabin-air report (PDF) 27 µg/m³ TVOC, one sample, April 2, 2026, EPA TO-15 Aug 31
S4 Applied Technical Services adhesive report 486424 (PDF) No formaldehyde or BTEX above reporting limits, June 18, 2026 Aug 31
S5 Sun Home warranty page 7-year, 3-year and 1-year terms by model line; 90-day parts, labor and shipping on Eclipse, Pod and Luminar; Nova heater terms Aug 29
S6 Sun Home delivery and assembly page Curbside crate, 2 to 4 people, 3 to 4 hours, paid white-glove upgrade Aug 29
S7 Luminar 5 product page $14,499 regular, 15 heaters, 30 A circuit, 24 in. door, 1,270 lb, 170°F rating Aug 26
S8 Luminar 2 product page $11,599 regular Aug 30
S9 Equinox 2 product page $6,799 regular; eucalyptus Aug 30
S10 Eclipse 2 product page and Pod product page $10,599 and $6,699 regular; Canadian hemlock on product pages (red cedar on S1) Aug 30
S11 Nova page and Solstice page Nova 3 $12,499 and Nova 6 $16,399 (product pages, Aug 25); HUUM Drop 6 kW / 7.5 kW, 230°F; Solstice 2 $6,199 list Aug 27
S12 Sun Home low-EMF explainer Platform-level scope of the Vitatech summary; model reports on request Aug 30
S13 Garage Gym Reviews: Sun Home Luminar review Roughly 160°F measured on the 5-person Luminar after about 10 minutes, below the 170°F rating Aug 25
S14 Garage Gym Reviews: best outdoor sauna roundup August 2026 update: Luminar 5 Best Outdoor Sauna Overall (4.4/5); Redwood Thermowood Cabin Best Traditional Outdoor Sauna, 190°F ceiling; the April 2026 edition ranked the Redwood cabin overall, the Luminar best outdoor infrared and the Almost Heaven Morgan best barrel Aug 31
S15 The Good Trade: Sun Home Luminar review Independent review, May 14, 2026 Aug 27
S16 Fortune: Sun Home Luminar review Luminar 5P best overall home sauna, 4.5/5 Aug 27
S17 Inc. 5000 profile: Sun Home Saunas and Sun Home about page No. 20 (2025), No. 198 (2026); founding and location Aug 27
S18 Almost Heaven about page Founded 1977, Greenbrier Valley, WV; Harvia family since 2019; lumber species Aug 31
S19 Almost Heaven warranty page Limited lifetime on manufacturing defects; Harvia 1-year elements, 5-year components Aug 26
S20 Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4-Person Barrel $7,575 regular, $5,302.50 sale; stave thickness, bench, footprint, heater, electrical, lead time, installation. Princeton 6 ($8,932) and Bridgeport 6 ($7,624) per their product pages, linked from our large sauna guide Aug 26 (Pinnacle), Aug 29 (Princeton, Bridgeport)
S21 Good Health Saunas company page Two decades, hand delivery and installation if you choose, showrooms Aug 31
S22 Good Health Saunas warranty page Lifetime on all GHS heaters and electrical components; cabinet not addressed Aug 31
S23 Good Health Saunas 2026 EMF report, Vitatech VTE-3559 (PDF) Per-model point readings; June 10, 2026 Aug 30
S24 Good Health Saunas VOC report page and report (PDF) IAQ Diagnostics / SGS Galson, May 14, 2026, TO-15, one sample per model at or above 135°F, qualitative summary Aug 31
S25 Good Health Saunas GSE-2 Signature page and spec sheet (PDF) Quote-gated pricing; 120 V 20 A NEMA 5-20; 75 by 48 by 48 in.; FSC hemlock or red cedar Aug 31
S26 Redwood Outdoors about page Kent, WA; co-founders Aug 31
S27 Redwood Outdoors Cabin 4-Person $7,299 regular, out of stock; Harvia KIP 6 kW, 240 V 30 A; dimensions, weight, FSC code, delivery, electrician requirement Aug 31
S28 Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel $6,299, out of stock at check Aug 29
S29 Redwood Outdoors sauna warranty 1-year limited; labor not covered; Harvia heater terms Aug 31
S30 Garage Gym Reviews: Redwood Outdoors sauna review Hands-on review of the Thermowood Cabin; one-year warranty noted Aug 31
S31 Harvia US site and 75-year history page Founded 1950; 200,000 heaters a year; 90-plus countries; US office in Lewisburg, WV; Almost Heaven ownership Aug 31
S32 Harvia support: selecting heater power 1 kW per m³; 1.2 m³ per m² of glass or stone; 1.5 factor for logs; updated May 11, 2026 Aug 31
S33 Harvia warranty terms, November 2025 (PDF) 2 years on electric heaters, plus 1 year with registration within 30 days Aug 31
S34 Health Mate about page Founded 1979; Samick Group; mahogany; certifications; "3rd-party tested" claim without a report Aug 31
S35 Health Mate warranty FAQ and warranty page 10-year residential chart; labor in US and Canada; non-transferable; eucalyptus wording Aug 31
S36 Health Mate Enrich 3, Therapy Lounge and Elevated Health pages $5,900; 2,205 W; heater-count conflict; no maximum temperature; wood and warranty wording conflicts Aug 26 (Enrich 3), Aug 29 (Therapy Lounge), Aug 31 (Elevated Health)
S37 Cedar & Stone Model 5/5+ page and model comparison (PDF) $59,900 starting; unit prices; CLT; dimensions; 2-year warranty; one-day installation; payment and lead-time terms; investment ranges Aug 31
S38 Cedar & Stone about page Co-founders, leadership, Duluth and Four Seasons locations, Superior, WI manufacturing Aug 31
S39 Dynamic Saunas about page Golden Designs; since 2008; Ontario, CA; retail channels Aug 31
S40 Dynamic Barcelona DYN-6106-01 (brand store) $2,099; hemlock; 120 V 15 A; six panels; dimensions; chromotherapy; owner reviews Aug 31
S41 Golden Designs Barcelona listing and Costco listing EMF 5 to 10 mG at 2 to 3 in.; Costco $1,699.99 and 20 A configuration Aug 31
S42 Golden Designs factory warranty 5 years elements and electronics (residential), 1 year wood, indoor only Aug 31
S43 Garage Gym Reviews: best infrared sauna roundup Dynamic Andora 2-Person listed as the low-EMF category pick Aug 31

FAQs

What is a good brand for a home sauna?

Sun Home Saunas ranks first on our weighted matrix (84.0 of 100) because it publishes named-lab EMF, VOC and adhesive reports as downloadable documents and has independent hands-on coverage of current models. Almost Heaven (79.5) is the strongest traditional barrel pick, and Good Health Saunas (74.0) is the pick if you want the sauna delivered and installed for you. The right brand depends on sauna type, budget and how much documentation you want behind the claims.

What is the best sauna brand for the money?

Redwood Outdoors publishes the lowest prices among the outdoor traditional kits we verified (6-Person Barrel $6,299 and Cabin 4-Person $7,299 at our checks) with a Harvia KIP heater included, but only a 1-year sauna warranty. Almost Heaven costs more (Pinnacle 4-Person Barrel $7,575 list) and adds a limited lifetime warranty on the sauna room. At the entry level, Dynamic's Barcelona lists at $2,099 direct.

Are budget sauna brands worth it?

Sometimes. Dynamic's Barcelona delivers basic far-infrared function at roughly a fifth of a premium cabin's price, with a 5-year warranty on heating elements and electronics. What you give up is documentation: the brand states an EMF figure (5 to 10 mG at 2 to 3 inches) without a lab report, its listings disagree on circuit and maximum temperature, and the wood structure carries a 1-year warranty. Ask for the test report before buying any budget sauna.

Which sauna brand is best for traditional saunas?

Almost Heaven for barrels (lifetime structural warranty, published bench dimensions, Harvia heater included), Redwood Outdoors for value cabins and barrels, Cedar & Stone for a delivered-and-installed luxury build, and Sun Home's Nova and Solaris lines if you want one brand across infrared and traditional. If you are building custom, size the heater first using Harvia's published guidance of about 1 kW per cubic meter, with more capacity for glass and stone surfaces.

Which sauna brands publish third-party test results?

Sun Home publishes named-lab EMF (Vitatech), cabin-air VOC (VERT Environmental, analyzed by LA Testing) and adhesive (Applied Technical Services) reports as downloadable PDFs. Good Health Saunas publishes an annual Vitatech EMF report with per-model readings and an IAQ Diagnostics and SGS Galson VOC report. Health Mate states third-party EMF and non-toxic certification, but we did not locate the report on its pages. The traditional-sauna brands on this list do not publish lab testing; their independent evidence comes from hands-on reviews.

How did you score the brands?

Eight criteria with published weights (published testing 25, warranty 15, materials documentation 15, heater documentation 10, price transparency 10, delivery and service 10, track record 10, editorial coverage 5), each scored from 1 to 5 in half-point steps from the brand's own pages and the linked third-party sources, then weighted to a total out of 100. The full matrix and every source with its check date are in this article. We did not physically test every brand.