Buyer's guide · Large saunas · Updated August 30, 2026
The short answer
Among the five models compared, the Sun Home Luminar 5 is our overall pick for households that prefer outdoor infrared and typically sauna with three or four adults. It is manufacturer-rated for five, but the independent review cited below found four more comfortable. For buyers prioritizing six-person seating and traditional steam, the Almost Heaven Princeton 6 has the strongest published bench-length evidence in this guide. Indoors, the Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 and Sun Home Nova 6 split the verdict.
Our large-sauna picks at a glance
| Category | Winner | Manufacturer rating | Comfortable capacity (evidence) | Why it wins | Price at check |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall large sauna | Sun Home Luminar 5 (outdoor full-spectrum infrared) | 5 | 4 (Garage Gym Reviews hands-on) | Aluminum exterior with no wood to stain or seal, app control, brand-published EMF and VOC lab data (see scope note), GGR Best Outdoor Sauna Overall (August 2026), Fortune best overall home sauna | $14,499 regular; $13,899 sale advertised through Aug 31 |
| Best 6-person traditional outdoor | Almost Heaven Princeton 6 Barrel | Up to 6 | Published 86⅜-inch benches are consistent with 6 (editorial; not confirmed with six adults seated) | Longest published benches in this guide, Harvia 8 kW heater, limited lifetime room warranty, built in West Virginia | $8,932 |
| Best large indoor: documented seating and value | Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 | Up to 6 | Published bench dimensions are consistent with 6 (editorial; benches share corner space; not confirmed with six adults seated) | Only indoor pick with every bench dimension published, installs on existing flooring, lowest indoor price | $7,624 |
| High-heat indoor pick (manufacturer-rated to 230°F) | Sun Home Nova 6 | 6 | Not estimable; bench dimensions unpublished | Only indoor pick with a published maximum temperature (230°F), HUUM DROP 7.5 kW heater, Canadian cedar, limited lifetime cabinetry | $16,399 regular; $15,799 sale advertised through Aug 31 |
| Best value into 6-person capacity | Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel | 4 to 6 (manufacturer's own range) | Not estimable; bench dimensions unpublished | Lowest price in the guide, Harvia 6 kW heater standard with Wi-Fi upgrades, heat-treated hemlock that needs no stain | $6,299 (listed out of stock at check) |
Seating evidence, model by model
Capacity labels are the least reliable number on a sauna spec sheet, so this table is the heart of the guide. Our editorial standard: about 24 inches of bench length per seated adult with elbow room, and roughly 72 inches of clear, flat bench to lie down. Where a maker does not publish bench dimensions, we say so and do not estimate from cabin size.
| Model | Manufacturer-rated capacity | Published bench dimensions | Comfortable capacity | Reclining suitability | Installation footprint and clearances | Evidence type |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Luminar 5 | 5 | Primary bench 59 in. × 20 in.; return bench 44 in. × 20 in., L layout; interior 78 × 47 × 72 in. (spec sheet) [1] | 4: GGR's testers were not comfortable with five and wrote that a four-person label would be fairer [7]. Our estimate from bench length: 3 to 4. | Recline only. The bench is curved; GGR's tester found lying flat uncomfortable after about 20 minutes. Longest span is 59 in. | 82.25 in. W × 51.75 in. D × 84 in. H, 1,270 lb, 24 in. door; leave 4 to 6 in. around and 20 to 24 in. above the roof; elevated concrete or wood base, no standing water | Manufacturer spec [1] + independent hands-on (GGR) [7] |
| Almost Heaven Princeton 6 | Up to 6 | Two opposite-facing benches, each 16 in. W × 86⅜ in. L × 17 in. H; interior 75¼ × 86⅜ × 69¼ in. [11] | Consistent with the rated 6 by our 24-in. standard (editorial); we have not confirmed six adults seated at once | Published length exceeds 72 in. on both benches, which should allow two adults to lie flat (editorial reading; not confirmed in person) | 78 in. W × 94 in. D × 75⅜ in. H assembled; solid level base (concrete, pavers, deck); ships by flatbed | Manufacturer spec [11]; no independent hands-on test of this model located in our research |
| Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 | Up to 6 | Upper bench 81¼ in. W × 24 in. D × 35⅞ in. H; lower rear bench 81¼ × 15⅜ × 21¾ in.; lower side bench 23½ × 25½ × 21¾ in.; interior 81¼ × 58½ × 76⅛ in. [12] | Consistent with the rated 6 by our 24-in. standard (editorial). The lower rear and side benches meet at a corner and the tiers share legroom, so we do not add seats bench by bench, and we have not confirmed six adults seated at once | Published upper bench (81¼ in. by 24 in.) should allow one adult to lie flat (editorial reading; not confirmed in person) | 86 in. W × 63 in. D × 77⅝ in. H; 2 in. from walls at vents; about 12 in. overhead to build; uses existing hard flooring, not carpet | Manufacturer spec [12]; no independent hands-on test of this model located in our research |
| Sun Home Nova 6 | 6 | Not published. Two-tier benches; lengths, depths, and interior dimensions absent from the product page [5] | Not estimable | Not estimable | 68.9 in. L × 78.7 in. W × 82.7 in. H, 926 lb; indoor, hardwired 40 A | Manufacturer spec (partial) [5] |
| Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel | 4 to 6, depending on seating arrangement and bather size (manufacturer's own wording) | Not published. Two side benches shown; no lengths or depths [14] | Not estimable beyond the manufacturer's 4 to 6 | Not estimable; an adjustable recliner is sold as an add-on | 71 in. L × 72¾ in. W × 76½ in. H, 900 lb, two cradles; concrete pad, footings, reinforced deck, or compacted gravel base | Manufacturer spec [14]; GGR's hands-on coverage is of Redwood's 4-person Cabin [8], not this barrel |
Why this matters: Sun Home's own product page lists the Luminar 5 at five people, and Redwood's lists its barrel at four to six. Neither is wrong. Published bench dimensions help assess whether a capacity rating is plausible, but do not confirm comfortable seating for that many adults.
Specs and verification at a glance
| Model | Format | Price at check | Electrical (per model) | Max temperature: published / measured | Smart control in the standard package | Warranty as published | Independent hands-on coverage |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Luminar 5 | Outdoor full-spectrum infrared (5 far-infrared + 10 full-spectrum heaters) | $14,499 regular; $13,899 sale through Aug 31; red light add-on $1,699; free shipping | Dedicated 240V 30 A circuit, NEMA L6-30 outlet | 170°F published [1] / about 160°F within 10 minutes (GGR) [7] | Yes: native Sun Home app (remote preheat, scheduling, guided breathwork), premium Bluetooth audio, chromotherapy | Limited lifetime (up to 7 yr) cabinetry and heaters; 3 yr exterior cabin; 3 yr controls; 1 yr LED, glass, audio; labor and shipping first 90 days only [3] | Garage Gym Reviews (dedicated review [7] and outdoor guide [6]), Fortune [9], The Good Trade (brand partnership) [10] |
| Almost Heaven Princeton 6 | Outdoor traditional barrel, Harvia 8 kW | $8,932 base configuration; shipping at checkout; pro install from $1,400 | Heater 240V 40 A hardwired; lighting 110V 15 A plug-in | Manufacturer states 180°F within one hour (a heat-up claim) [11]; maximum operating temperature not published for this heater and controller / no independent measurement located in our research | No: dial controls. Optional KIP Smart or Spirit Smart packages add Harvia Fenix Wi-Fi and the MyHarvia 2 app | Limited lifetime on manufacturing defects (room); Harvia heater 1 yr elements, 5 yr other components [13] | Not located in our research |
| Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 | Indoor traditional cabin, Harvia 8 kW | $7,624 base configuration; shipping at checkout; pro install from $1,400 | Heater 240V 40 A hardwired; lighting 110V 15 A plug-in | Manufacturer states 180°F within one hour (a heat-up claim) [12]; maximum operating temperature not published for this heater and controller / no independent measurement located in our research | No: dial controls. Optional Spirit Smart or Virta Smart packages add Harvia Fenix Wi-Fi and the MyHarvia 2 app | Limited lifetime on manufacturing defects (room); Harvia heater 1 yr elements, 5 yr other components [13] | Not located in our research |
| Sun Home Nova 6 | Indoor traditional, HUUM DROP 7.5 kW | $16,399 regular; $15,799 sale through Aug 31; free shipping | Dedicated 40 A circuit, hardwired | 230°F published [5] / no independent measurement located in our research | Not stated on the product page | Limited lifetime (7 yr) cabinetry; 1 yr fan and light controls and LED; HUUM heater 3 yr body and controls, elements excluded; parts only after 90 days, no labor [3] | Not located in our research (launched July 2026) |
| Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel | Outdoor traditional barrel, Harvia KIP 6 kW standard | $6,299 with 6 kW; Labor Day discounts advertised; listed out of stock at check | 240V 30 A with the 6 kW KIP; 240V 40 A with the 8 kW packages; 120V lighting; hardwired by an electrician | Brand-wide claim: heats to 195°F in under an hour [14]; no model-specific maximum published / no independent measurement of this model located in our research | No: dial controls with 8-hour delay timer. Wi-Fi via 8 kW KIP Wi-Fi package, Spirit packages, or a $599 Fenix controller upgrade | 1-year limited on the sauna; Harvia heater 1 yr elements, 5 yr other components [15] | Not located for this barrel; GGR tested Redwood's 4-person Cabin [8] |
How we ranked these saunas, and what we did not do
Eligibility. A sauna is ranked here only if the manufacturer rates it for five or more people and publishes its specifications on a live product page. Models rated for four, or whose maker publishes conflicting capacity figures, sit in the "considered" section, whatever their quality.
Lane awards. Each lane has one checkable criterion, stated in its heading: the longest published benches outdoors, the most complete published bench dimensions indoors, the highest published maximum temperature indoors, and the lowest price into a six-rated sauna. Anyone can rerun those criteria against the sources listed at the end.
The overall award. Seating evidence is the gate, but it is not the only thing an owner lives with, so the overall award is written for a specific household: adults who will use the sauna together regularly in a group of three or four, occasionally five, who want an outdoor-rated cabin they can leave uncovered, who prefer infrared heat, and who value app control and published testing over steam and a sixth seat. For that household we asked five yes-or-no questions of every eligible pick: Is it outdoor-rated with no exterior wood the maker says to stain or seal? Is app control standard? Does the maker publish named-lab EMF and VOC testing? Does this exact model hold a current independent best-overall award? Does an independent tester report it reaching working temperature in minutes rather than an hour? The Luminar 5 is the only pick that answers yes to all five; the matrix below shows every answer. If six seats or löyly are non-negotiable for you, the overall award does not apply to your household; start with the Princeton 6.
| Criterion | Sun Home Luminar 5 | Almost Heaven Princeton 6 | Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 | Sun Home Nova 6 | Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer-rated capacity | 5 | Up to 6 | Up to 6 | 6 | 4 to 6 |
| Every bench dimension published | Yes, length and depth [1] | Yes [11] | Yes [12] | No [5] | No [14] |
| Independent hands-on test of this exact model | Yes (Garage Gym Reviews [7]) | Not located in our research | Not located in our research | Not located in our research | Not located in our research |
| Current independent best-overall award for this exact model | Yes (GGR Best Outdoor Sauna Overall, August 2026 [6]; Fortune best overall home sauna [9]) | Not located in our research | Not located in our research | Not located in our research | Not located in our research |
| Outdoor-rated | Yes | Yes | No (indoor) | No (indoor) | Yes |
| Exterior wood the maker says to stain or seal | No (aluminum exterior) | Yes (Almost Heaven strongly advises a stain) | Indoor | Indoor | No (Redwood says heat-treated hemlock needs no stain or sealer) |
| App control in the standard package | Yes (native app) | No (optional Fenix Wi-Fi package) | No (optional Fenix Wi-Fi package) | Not stated | No (optional Wi-Fi packages or Fenix upgrade) |
| Named-lab EMF and VOC testing published by the maker | Yes, brand-level for Sun Home's infrared cabins (VOC sample not identified by model) | Not located | Not located | No model-specific testing; Sun Home's published EMF and VOC reports concern its infrared cabins | Not located |
| Steam and löyly | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Published maximum temperature | 170°F (about 160°F observed by GGR) | Not published (180°F within an hour stated) | Not published (180°F within an hour stated) | 230°F | Not published per model (195°F brand-wide claim) |
| Heat-up in minutes reported by an independent tester | Yes (about 10 minutes, GGR [7]) | No test located in our research | No test located in our research | No test located in our research | No test located in our research |
| Price at check (August 29, 2026) | $14,499 regular; $13,899 sale through Aug 31 | $8,932 | $7,624 | $16,399 regular; $15,799 sale through Aug 31 | $6,299 |
What we did. On August 29, 2026, we read each product page, spec sheet, warranty page, and assembly page linked in the Sources section, recorded the figures exactly as published, and noted every conflict between a maker's own pages. Where an independent outlet tested a model, we cite its finding and name it.
What we did not do. homesauna.com did not sit in, measure, or heat any of these saunas. We took no tape measurements and ran no temperature tests. Capacity figures labeled "editorial" are estimates from published bench lengths using a standard of about 24 inches of bench per seated adult; they show whether a published length is consistent with a rating, and they do not confirm that six adults are comfortable at once. When a bench dimension is unpublished, we do not derive one from the exterior size. Where a maker states a heat-up figure ("180°F within an hour"), we report it as a heat-up figure, not as a maximum.
Conflict rule. When a manufacturer's pages disagree with each other, or a dealer disagrees with the manufacturer, we print the conflict and use the manufacturer's product page. We never pick a side quietly.
Commercial relationship. This guide contains affiliate links, which may earn us a commission at no additional cost to you.(see the disclosure at the top). The criteria above are applied identically to Sun Home and competitor models, and every award can be rechecked against the sources listed at the end.
Best overall large sauna: Sun Home Luminar 5
Outdoor full-spectrum infrared · rated for 5 · Sun Home product
The Luminar 5 is the large sauna we would choose for a backyard installation without exterior wood cladding to stain or seal. The exterior is aerospace-grade aluminum, so there is no wood cladding to stain or seal; the interior is Canadian red cedar; and the heating system pairs five far-infrared heaters with ten full-spectrum heaters. The native Sun Home app handles remote preheat, scheduling, and guided breathwork, and premium Bluetooth audio and chromotherapy lighting are standard. A red light therapy add-on (660 nm red and 850 nm near-infrared) is a $1,699 option on the product page, which is why this guide no longer carries a separate red-light category: it is the same cabin with an accessory.
Price, checked August 29, 2026: $14,499 regular, or $13,899 on a Back to School sale the site says ends August 31. Free shipping in the United States.
Independent record. Garage Gym Reviews named the Luminar 5 its Best Outdoor Sauna Overall in the August 2026 update of its outdoor sauna guide; the Redwood Outdoors Cabin, which held the top spot in GGR's April 2026 re-evaluation, now holds Best Traditional Outdoor Sauna. GGR's dedicated Sun Home review, scored 4.3 out of 5 when we checked, reports the cabin reaching about 160°F within roughly ten minutes of switching on. Sun Home publishes a 170°F maximum. GGR did not record 170°F, so treat 170°F as the manufacturer's specification and 160°F as the independently observed figure. Fortune named the Luminar 5 its best overall home sauna after testing. The Good Trade reviewed a Luminar installed in a real home in a feature produced in partnership with the brand.
Published testing, with its scope. Sun Home publishes named-lab results on its safety testing page: an EMF summary from Vitatech Electromagnetics (report VTE-3534, January 2025) showing 0.3 to 0.9 mG at the typical three-foot seated distance and up to 4.0 mG at one foot, measured across 120V and 230V configurations; and one cabin-air VOC sample collected by VERT Environmental on April 2, 2026 and analyzed by AIHA-accredited LA Testing under EPA Method TO-15, at 27 µg/m³ TVOC, classified Low. Two scope notes: the VOC figure reflects one tested unit under the reported conditions, and the safety page does not identify which model was sampled, so we cite it as brand-published data rather than a Luminar 5 measurement; and the product page's "under 0.5 mG" figure sits within Vitatech's three-foot range, not at every distance. The Luminar is RoHS-compliant and Intertek-tested.
Capacity, stated plainly. The spec sheet publishes a 59-inch by 20-inch primary bench and a 44-inch by 20-inch return bench in an L layout. GGR's testers were not comfortable with five people inside and wrote that calling it a four-person sauna would have been fairer. By our 24-inch-per-adult standard, those bench lengths seat three to four. The bench is curved; GGR's tester found lying flat uncomfortable after about 20 minutes. Treat it as a recliner for one, not a lie-down bench.
Delivery and assembly. The Luminar does not ship fully assembled. It arrives crated on a pallet at the curb, and Sun Home's assembly and shipping page says the Luminar requires at least two to four people, recommends a contractor although one is not required, estimates three to four hours of assembly, and makes the buyer responsible for moving the pieces from the curb to the site (most pieces are a one- or two-person carry; a dolly is recommended). A white-glove inside-delivery upgrade is offered. Electrical is a dedicated 240V, 30-amp circuit with a NEMA L6-30 outlet, installed by a licensed electrician. Leave 4 to 6 inches around the cabin and 20 to 24 inches above the roof, set it on an elevated concrete or wood base where water never stands, and plan for 1,270 pounds at 82.25 inches wide, 51.75 inches deep, and 84 inches tall.
Warranty, as published for orders placed on or after March 2, 2026 (warranty page). Limited lifetime coverage on cabinetry and heaters, which Sun Home defines as up to seven years; 3 years on the exterior cabin and on controls; 1 year on LED lighting, glass doors, and audio. Labor and shipping are included only for the first 90 days after delivery; after that, the customer pays labor and shipping. One term matters for contrast setups: coverage is void if the sauna is installed within five feet of any water source, including a cold plunge, shower, or hot tub.
Best for: households that want a large infrared cabin with no exterior wood to stain or seal, app control, brand-published lab data, and heat in minutes rather than an hour.
Where it falls short: the highest-priced outdoor pick, no steam or löyly, a 170°F published ceiling (160°F observed) against the traditional picks' stated figures (Almost Heaven states 180°F within an hour, Redwood claims 195°F brand-wide, and the Nova 6 publishes a 230°F maximum), a realistic four seats, the heaviest and most involved installation, and red light as a paid add-on.
Consider instead: the Princeton 6 if six adults must sit at once or you want to lie flat; the Nova 6 for high-heat löyly indoors; the 4-person Sun Home Eclipse 4 if factory-integrated red light matters more than seating five.
Best 6-person traditional outdoor sauna: Almost Heaven Princeton 6 Barrel
Outdoor traditional barrel · rated up to 6 · built in Renick, West Virginia
On documented seating, nothing else in this guide matches the Princeton 6. Almost Heaven publishes two opposite-facing benches, each 86⅜ inches long, 16 inches wide, and 17 inches high, inside a 75¼-inch by 86⅜-inch by 69¼-inch room. By our 24-inch-per-adult standard those lengths are consistent with six seated adults, and both benches exceed 72 inches, so each should allow an adult to lie flat. Neither is something we have confirmed in person: Almost Heaven rates the Princeton for up to six, and we did not locate independent reporting confirming six adults seated simultaneously. The barrel is 1⅜-inch ball-and-socket Rustic Red Cedar with stainless steel bands, hinges, and fasteners, a tempered-glass door, an interior LED light, and sauna stones included.
Price, checked August 29, 2026: $8,932 for the base configuration (8 kW KIP heater with dials, glass door, no window). Shipping is calculated at checkout; because of its size the Princeton ships by flatbed, with an 8- to 12-week lead time stated on the product page. Nationwide professional installation starts at $1,400.
Heat and electrical. Almost Heaven states that the included Harvia 8 kW heater reaches 180°F within an hour, with a delayed start of up to eight hours. That is a heat-up claim; the product page does not publish a maximum operating temperature for this heater and controller. Almost Heaven's site-wide description of its electric heaters gives a 150°F to 195°F range, and some dealers advertise 195°F for the Princeton; we cite only the manufacturer's figure. Electrical is model-specific: the heater needs a 240V, 40-amp hardwired connection, and the lighting needs a separate 110V, 15-amp plug-in circuit.
Smart control depends on the heater package. The standard 8 kW KIP heater uses manual dials and has no app. Two optional packages, the 8 kW KIP Smart and the 8 kW Spirit Smart, add the Harvia Fenix Wi-Fi controller and the MyHarvia 2 app for remote start, temperature, and lighting control. Traditional heating does not rule out app control here; it is simply a configuration choice.
Warranty, as published (warranty page). Limited lifetime on manufacturing defects for the sauna room; Harvia heaters carry 1 year on heating elements and 5 years on other components.
Assembly and site. Almost Heaven describes its barrels as DIY-friendly, with a construction manual and videos, recommends a solid and level foundation such as concrete, pavers, or decking, and strongly advises applying a stain to protect the lumber outdoors. Assembled size is 78 inches wide, 94 inches deep, and 75⅜ inches tall.
Best for: households that want the best-documented case for six seats, traditional löyly, published bench length for lying flat, and a lifetime room warranty from a U.S. builder.
Where it falls short: dial-only controls unless you pay for a Fenix package, an exterior Almost Heaven says should be stained, flatbed delivery with a multi-week lead time, and no infrared or red light. We located no independent hands-on test of this exact model.
Consider instead: the Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel to spend about $2,600 less; Almost Heaven's own 6-person cabins (Allegheny and Appalachia) if you prefer a cabin, which we did not evaluate in detail here; the Luminar 5 for an outdoor build with no exterior wood care.
Best large indoor sauna for documented seating and value: Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6
Indoor traditional cabin · rated up to 6 · built in the USA
The Bridgeport 6 is the only indoor sauna in this guide with every bench dimension on its product page: an upper bench 81¼ inches wide by 24 inches deep at 35⅞ inches high, a lower rear bench 81¼ inches by 15⅜ inches at 21¾ inches high, and a lower side bench 23½ by 25½ inches. By our 24-inch standard those lengths are consistent with the rated six, though the lower rear bench and the side bench meet at a corner and the two tiers share legroom, so we do not add seats bench by bench, and we have not confirmed six adults seated at once. The 24-inch-deep, 81¼-inch upper bench should allow one adult to lie flat. The room is 81¼ by 58½ by 76⅛ inches inside an 86-inch by 63-inch by 77⅝-inch exterior, with a 71⅛-inch by 24-inch door. Construction is 1⅜-inch tongue-and-groove lumber in Rustic Red Cedar or Hemfir.
Price, checked August 29, 2026: $7,624 for the base configuration (8 kW KIP heater with dials, glass door). The product page states shipment within six weeks; shipping is calculated at checkout; professional installation starts at $1,400.
Heat and electrical. Almost Heaven states the Harvia 8 kW heater reaches 180°F within an hour, with a delayed start of up to eight hours; that is a heat-up claim, and the page publishes no maximum operating temperature for this heater and controller. Heater: 240V, 40 amps, hardwired. Lighting: 110V, 15 amps, plug-in.
Smart control. The standard package is dials only. Optional 8 kW Spirit Smart or 9 kW Virta Smart packages add the Harvia Fenix Wi-Fi controller and the MyHarvia 2 app. An infrared hybrid configuration is also offered.
Installation notes. The Bridgeport uses your existing floor (concrete, tile, vinyl, or laminate; not carpet), needs about 2 inches of clearance from walls where the vents sit, and about 12 inches above the roof during the build. Vents are included.
Warranty: limited lifetime on manufacturing defects for the room; Harvia heater 1 year on elements and 5 years on other components.
Best for: a basement, garage gym, or large bathroom where published bench dimensions and a moderate price matter more than a published high-heat ceiling.
Where it falls short: no published maximum temperature (Almost Heaven states 180°F within an hour) against the Nova 6's published 230°F, dial controls unless you upgrade, no floor in the kit, and no independent hands-on test that we located.
Consider instead: the Sun Home Nova 6 for the only published indoor maximum here; the Princeton 6 if you can go outdoors.
High-heat indoor pick: Sun Home Nova 6, manufacturer-rated to 230°F
Indoor traditional · rated for 6 · highest published maximum in this guide · Sun Home product
The Nova 6 is the only indoor pick in this guide with a published maximum temperature: a HUUM DROP 7.5 kW heater rated to 230°F with water-on-stones löyly, in a Canadian cedar cabin with two-tier benches. It launched July 1, 2026, after the first version of this guide was written. The cabin measures 68.9 inches long, 78.7 inches wide, and 82.7 inches tall and weighs 926 pounds.
Price, checked August 29, 2026: $16,399 regular, or $15,799 on a sale the site says ends August 31. Free shipping in the United States.
Electrical: a dedicated 40-amp circuit, hardwired, installed by a licensed electrician.
Warranty, as published (warranty page). Limited lifetime on cabinetry, defined as seven years, covering interior and exterior wood, benches, floor grates, and heater cover frames; 1 year on fan and light controls and on LED lighting. The HUUM DROP heater is covered under HUUM's own residential warranty, 3 years on the steel body and controls; heating elements are treated as consumables and are not covered. Beyond 90 days coverage is replacement parts only, and labor and technician costs are not covered.
What is not published. Bench lengths, bench depths, and interior dimensions are absent from the product page, and app or Wi-Fi control is not stated. We do not estimate seating from exterior dimensions, so the Nova 6 does not hold the documented-seating lane; that goes to the Bridgeport 6. This award rests on the heater, the published 230°F maximum, the cedar construction, and the cabinetry warranty. Because the Almost Heaven models publish a heat-up figure rather than a maximum, this is a "highest published maximum" award, not a measured comparison of operating temperatures.
Best for: buyers who want authentic high-heat löyly indoors from a premium heater in a cedar cabin, sized for a group.
Where it falls short: more than twice the Bridgeport's price, unpublished bench geometry, a heater warranty that excludes elements, and no labor coverage.
Consider instead: the Bridgeport 6 for documented seating at $7,624; the Sun Home Nova 3 if you can size down; the Luminar 5 if you would rather be outdoors with infrared.
Best value into 6-person capacity: Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel
Outdoor traditional barrel · rated 4 to 6 by the manufacturer
At $6,299 with the standard 6 kW Harvia KIP heater, the Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel is the least expensive route into a six-rated sauna in this guide, and Redwood's specification table is candid about capacity: it rates the barrel at four to six people depending on the seating arrangement and the size of the bathers. The barrel is heat-treated hemlock, 71 inches long, 72¾ inches wide, and 76½ inches tall, 900 pounds on two cradles, with a tempered-glass door, shingles, wall-mounted backrests, a bulkhead light, and sauna rocks included.
Price, checked August 29, 2026: $6,299 with the 6 kW KIP; 8 kW, Wi-Fi, and 9 kW heater packages cost more. A Labor Day promotion was advertised ($500 off orders over $7,000, up to $1,200 off over $10,000). The product page carried a "currently out of stock" label at our check, so confirm lead time before you plan an install.
Heat and electrical. Redwood states that its barrels heat to 195°F in under an hour; that is a brand-wide manufacturer claim, and we located no independent measurement of this model. The standard 6 kW KIP needs 240V at 30 amps; the 8 kW KIP or Spirit packages need 240V at 40 amps; the 9 kW Homecraft packages need 50 amps; lighting is 120V. Redwood requires a licensed electrician to hardwire every heater.
Smart control. The standard KIP uses manual dials with an 8-hour delay timer. Wi-Fi is available through the 8 kW KIP Wi-Fi package, is standard on the Harvia Spirit packages, or can be added with the $599 Harvia Fenix controller upgrade listed on the page.
Warranty (warranty page): 1-year limited on the sauna; Harvia heaters 1 year on elements and 5 years on other components.
Bench dimensions are not published. Two side benches are shown, but no lengths or depths, so we cannot estimate comfortable capacity beyond the manufacturer's own four-to-six range.
Best for: budget-conscious buyers who want traditional steam, a DIY kit of pre-cut interlocking panels, and an exterior that needs no stain (Redwood says heat-treated hemlock needs no stain or sealer and weathers to grey if left untreated).
Where it falls short: the shortest sauna warranty in the guide at 1 year, unpublished bench dimensions, a manufacturer capacity range that starts at four, and stock status to confirm.
Consider instead: the Princeton 6 for published 86⅜-inch benches and a lifetime room warranty; Redwood's Vista 6 ($6,899, same footprint, full-glass rear wall) if the view matters.
Considered, but outside the size band or unverified
- Redwood Outdoors Cabin, 4-Person ($7,299). Garage Gym Reviews' Best Traditional Outdoor Sauna in its August 2026 guide, and its Best Outdoor Sauna Overall in April 2026; GGR's tester found it fits four and reached top heat within about 35 minutes. Excluded on capacity, not quality: it is rated for four.
- Health Mate Elevated Health ($8,500). Health Mate's comparison page lists it as a five-person model with Tecoloy heaters and a near-infrared LED array on 230V, 15-amp service. The Elevated Health product page describes it for two to four people, and Health Mate files it under four-person saunas. Because the manufacturer's own capacity figures conflict, it is not ranked; confirm the configuration with Health Mate before buying for a group.
- Health Mate Therapy Lounge ($8,500). The comparison page also lists it as a five-person model, but the Therapy Lounge product page files it under four-person saunas and publishes no model-specific person count; its description text repeats the Elevated Health's two-to-four wording, and the page presents the cabin as a lie-down design with a patented flexible bench for one reclined user (interior 79 by 44.5 by 69.75 inches; 230V, 15-amp, NEMA 6-15P). The same page lists Indonesian mahogany in one section and 100 percent eucalyptus in its specifications. With the manufacturer's pages conflicting on capacity and material, and a single-user recliner as the design purpose, it is not ranked.
- Sun Home Solaris 6. A 6-person outdoor custom traditional sauna (HUUM HIVE Mini 9 kW, 230°F published, thermo-alder, 40-amp hardwired, 3-year cabinetry warranty). Pricing is not published in Sun Home's lineup module, so it is not ranked. Disclosed as a Sun Home product.
- Sun Home Eclipse 4. A 4-person indoor full-spectrum infrared cabin with factory-integrated red light towers. Below the size band, but the size-down answer if built-in red light matters more than a fifth or sixth seat.
- Almost Heaven 6-person cabins (Allegheny, Appalachia). Listed as 6-person outdoor cabins on the manufacturer's site; not evaluated in detail for this update.
- Redwood Outdoors 8-person cabins (Garden, Noctra, Grove). Above the size band.
Choosing between the top picks
Luminar 5 versus a 6-person traditional sauna: choose the Luminar 5 for gentler infrared heat in minutes, no exterior wood to stain or seal, app control, an optional red light add-on, and brand-published lab data. Choose the Princeton 6, Nova 6, or Redwood barrel for löyly and higher stated temperatures, and, in the Princeton's and Bridgeport's case, published bench dimensions consistent with six seats.
Barrel versus cabin at six people: a barrel (Princeton 6, Redwood) heats a smaller air volume and suits a backyard; a cabin (Bridgeport 6, Nova 6) offers more headroom, tiered benches, and indoor placement.
Indoor versus outdoor at this size: the Bridgeport 6 and Nova 6 install on an existing hard floor with a hardwired 40-amp circuit; the Luminar 5, Princeton 6, and Redwood barrel need a level outdoor base and a 240V circuit run to the site.
How to choose a 5- to 6-person sauna
Buy the bench, not the label
Ask for bench length and depth in writing before you order; our seating standard is defined under Seating evidence above. Of the five picks here, only the Princeton 6, the Bridgeport 6, and the Luminar 5 publish bench dimensions.
Match the circuit to the model
Every pick needs a dedicated 240V circuit installed by a licensed electrician, but the amperage differs: 30 amps for the Luminar 5 (NEMA L6-30) and for the Redwood barrel's standard 6 kW heater; 40 amps for the Princeton 6, the Bridgeport 6, the Nova 6, and any 8 kW Harvia package; 50 amps for Redwood's 9 kW Homecraft packages. The Almost Heaven models also need a separate 110V, 15-amp plug-in circuit for lighting, and the Redwood barrel needs 120V for its light.
Plan the delivery, not just the install
Outdoor kits arrive on a pallet at the curb, and carriers will not carry them into the yard. The Luminar 5 needs two to four people and three to four hours to assemble; the Princeton 6 ships by flatbed; the Redwood barrel is a DIY kit that owners report building in several hours. Almost Heaven offers professional installation from $1,400, and Sun Home offers a white-glove inside-delivery upgrade.
Read the warranty as written
"Limited lifetime" means different things here. For the Luminar 5 it is up to seven years on cabinetry and heaters. For the Nova 6 it is seven years on cabinetry only, with the HUUM DROP heater under HUUM's separate three-year residential warranty that excludes heating elements. At Almost Heaven it is manufacturing defects on the room, with Harvia heaters covered separately (one year on elements, five years on other components). Labor coverage is the quiet difference: the Luminar covers labor and shipping for the first 90 days only, and the Nova 6 covers replacement parts only. Redwood's sauna warranty is one year.
Give it room
Outdoors, leave the manufacturer's clearance around the cabin (the Luminar specifies 4 to 6 inches around and 20 to 24 inches above the roof), set the sauna on an elevated, level base with drainage, and keep the door swing and heater clearances free. Indoors, the Bridgeport 6 wants 2 inches from walls at its vents and about 12 inches overhead to build, on a hard floor.
How much does a large home sauna cost?
Use this formula: total cost = sauna price + dedicated 240V circuit + site preparation + delivery and assembly help. The sauna prices are the ones we checked on August 29, 2026; the other figures are planning ranges, not quotes.
- The sauna: Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel $6,299; Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 $7,624; Almost Heaven Princeton 6 $8,932; Sun Home Luminar 5 $14,499 regular ($13,899 sale through August 31); Sun Home Nova 6 $16,399 regular ($15,799 sale through August 31). The Luminar's red light add-on is $1,699.
- Electrical: a dedicated 240V circuit at 30 to 50 amps commonly runs $500 to $1,600 installed; Garage Gym Reviews reported paying about $1,600 for an outdoor 240V outlet at its own facility. Almost Heaven's models add a 110V lighting circuit.
- Site: a level concrete pad, paver base, or reinforced deck for outdoor models; the Bridgeport and Nova use an existing hard floor.
- Delivery and assembly help: Sun Home includes shipping; Almost Heaven and Redwood calculate shipping at checkout; professional installation from Almost Heaven starts at $1,400, and a white-glove upgrade is available from Sun Home.
As planning figures: roughly $7,500 to $12,000 for a traditional 6-person barrel or indoor cabin fully installed, roughly $15,000 to $17,500 for the Luminar 5 with electrical and a pad, and roughly $17,000 to $19,000 for the Nova 6 with its 40-amp circuit.
What we corrected in this update (August 29, 2026)
- Award attribution updated to Garage Gym Reviews' August 2026 guide: Sun Home Luminar 5 is Best Outdoor Sauna Overall and the Redwood Outdoors Cabin is Best Traditional Outdoor Sauna. The earlier version cited GGR's April 2026 rankings.
- The Luminar 5's 170°F is now presented as Sun Home's published maximum, with GGR's observed 160°F stated separately. The earlier version described 170°F as GGR-verified.
- The earlier statement that the Luminar 5 ships fully assembled was wrong and has been replaced with Sun Home's own assembly guidance.
- The Luminar 5 warranty summary now matches the published terms for orders on or after March 2, 2026, including the 90-day limit on labor and shipping. The earlier "6-year outdoor residential coverage with in-home technician service" language has been removed.
- Electrical requirements are now listed per model; the Princeton 6 and Bridgeport 6 need 40-amp heater circuits plus a separate lighting circuit.
- Smart control is now described per heater package; Almost Heaven's Fenix Wi-Fi and MyHarvia 2 app options are noted.
- The claim that Health Mate tops out at four people has been replaced with the manufacturer's conflicting five-person and two-to-four-person figures.
- Prices now carry a check date and separate regular from promotional pricing.
- The separate red-light category, which duplicated the Luminar 5, has been folded into the Luminar entry; the Sun Home Nova 6 (launched July 2026) has been added; and a seating-evidence table with published bench dimensions has been added.
- Seating estimates are described as consistent with a manufacturer rating rather than confirming it; Almost Heaven's 180°F is reported as a heat-up claim rather than a maximum; the overall recommendation names the household it is written for; and price offers were removed from the structured data (prices remain in the dated text).
Sources and verification
All pages below were read on August 29, 2026. Bracketed numbers in the tables above point to these entries. Prices, stock status, and warranty terms change; confirm with the manufacturer before you buy.
- Sun Home Saunas, Luminar 5 product page and linked spec sheet: price, heaters, electrical, dimensions, weight, clearances, red light add-on, bench layout.
- Sun Home Saunas, Assembly and Shipping Info: people required, contractor recommendation, assembly time, curbside delivery.
- Sun Home Saunas, Warranty Information: Luminar and Nova terms for orders on or after March 2, 2026.
- Sun Home Saunas, EMF, VOC and Materials Testing: Vitatech report VTE-3534 ranges by distance; VERT Environmental / LA Testing VOC sample of April 2, 2026 and its scope statement.
- Sun Home Saunas, Nova 6 product page: price, heater, 230°F, electrical, dimensions, weight.
- Garage Gym Reviews, Best Outdoor Sauna (August 2026 update): award attributions.
- Garage Gym Reviews, Sun Home Saunas review: 160°F in about 10 minutes, four-person comfort finding, bench comfort, assembly notes, 4.3 score at check.
- Garage Gym Reviews, Redwood Outdoors review: Cabin fits four; top heat within about 35 minutes.
- Fortune, Sun Home Luminar review: best overall home sauna after testing (award cited; its spec-table warranty line differs from Sun Home's published terms, which we use).
- The Good Trade, Sun Home Luminar review (produced in partnership with the brand).
- Almost Heaven Saunas, Princeton 6 product page: price, bench and interior dimensions, electrical, heater, lead time, heater packages, Fenix.
- Almost Heaven Saunas, Bridgeport 6 product page: price, bench, interior, exterior, and door dimensions, electrical, heater packages, clearances.
- Almost Heaven Saunas, warranty page: limited lifetime on manufacturing defects; Harvia heater terms.
- Redwood Outdoors, Barrel Outdoor Sauna, 6 Person: price, capacity wording, dimensions, heater options and amperage, stock label, promotion.
- Redwood Outdoors, warranty page: 1-year limited sauna warranty; Harvia heater terms.
- Redwood Outdoors, Cabin Outdoor Sauna, 4 Person: price and capacity.
- Health Mate, comparison page and Elevated Health product page: conflicting capacity figures, price, electrical.
- Health Mate, Therapy Lounge product page: four-person category placement, absence of a model-specific person count, lie-down bench design, interior dimensions, electrical, mahogany-versus-eucalyptus conflict.
Related homesauna.com guides: the 10 best home saunas of 2026, best outdoor saunas of 2026, best 3-person home saunas for sizing down, and best prefab home saunas.
FAQs
What is the best large home sauna in 2026?
For households that prefer outdoor infrared and typically sauna with three or four adults, the Sun Home Luminar 5: an outdoor full-spectrum infrared cabin with an aluminum exterior, app control, brand-published EMF and VOC lab data, and Garage Gym Reviews' Best Outdoor Sauna Overall award in its August 2026 guide. It is manufacturer-rated for five; its published maximum is 170°F, GGR observed about 160°F, and GGR's testers found four more comfortable. If steam or a documented case for six seats comes first, the Almost Heaven Princeton 6 barrel publishes two 86⅜-inch benches.
What is the best 5- or 6-person sauna?
For infrared, the Sun Home Luminar 5 is the best-documented large cabin we found, rated for five and comfortable for four in independent testing. For a manufacturer-rated six-person traditional sauna with published bench dimensions, choose the Almost Heaven Princeton 6 barrel outdoors or the Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 indoors; the published lengths are consistent with six seated adults, which we have not confirmed in person. The Sun Home Nova 6 is the only indoor pick with a published maximum temperature, 230°F, and the Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel is the least expensive route into a six-rated sauna.
Do 6-person saunas actually fit six adults?
Only when the benches are long enough. Judge by published bench length, not the label: at about 24 inches of bench per seated adult, the published benches of the Almost Heaven Princeton 6 (two 86⅜-inch benches) and Bridgeport 6 (two 81¼-inch benches plus a side bench) are consistent with six, though we have not confirmed six adults seated in either. The Sun Home Luminar 5 is rated for five but its 59-inch and 44-inch benches seat three to four, which matches Garage Gym Reviews' finding that four is more realistic. Redwood Outdoors rates its 6-person barrel at four to six people depending on seating arrangement and bather size.
What is the best large outdoor sauna?
For outdoor infrared, the Sun Home Luminar 5, which Garage Gym Reviews named Best Outdoor Sauna Overall in its August 2026 guide. For traditional outdoor heat with the longest published benches, the Almost Heaven Princeton 6 barrel. Garage Gym Reviews' Best Traditional Outdoor Sauna is the Redwood Outdoors Cabin, but that model is rated for four people, so it sits outside this guide's size band.
Can you get a 5- or 6-person infrared sauna?
Yes, but options are limited and capacity ratings need checking. The Sun Home Luminar 5 is rated for five and seats four comfortably in independent testing. Health Mate's comparison page lists its Elevated Health and Therapy Lounge as five-person models, while its product pages file both under four-person saunas and the Elevated Health page describes it for two to four people; because the manufacturer's own figures conflict, we did not rank them. We did not verify a six-person pure-infrared option for this guide.
What is the best large indoor sauna?
It depends on what you value. The Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 ($7,624 at our August 29, 2026 check) is the only indoor pick with every bench dimension published, publishes lengths consistent with six, and installs on your existing floor. The Sun Home Nova 6 ($16,399 regular) is the only indoor pick here with a published maximum temperature, 230°F from a HUUM DROP 7.5 kW heater, but its bench dimensions are not published. For indoor infrared with red light, the 4-person Sun Home Eclipse 4 is the size-down option.
How much does a large (5- to 6-person) home sauna cost?
Prices checked August 29, 2026: Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel $6,299; Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 $7,624; Almost Heaven Princeton 6 $8,932; Sun Home Luminar 5 $14,499 regular ($13,899 on a sale advertised through August 31); Sun Home Nova 6 $16,399 regular ($15,799 on the same sale). Budget separately for a dedicated 240V circuit, commonly $500 to $1,600 installed, plus a level pad or foundation for outdoor models, and shipping where it is not included.
Does a large sauna need a 240V circuit?
Every pick in this guide does, and the amperage is model-specific: Sun Home Luminar 5, dedicated 240V 30-amp circuit with a NEMA L6-30 outlet; Almost Heaven Princeton 6 and Bridgeport 6, 240V 40-amp hardwired for the 8 kW heater plus a separate 110V 15-amp plug-in circuit for lighting; Sun Home Nova 6, dedicated 40-amp hardwired circuit; Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel, 240V 30 amps with the standard 6 kW heater or 40 amps with the 8 kW upgrade, plus 120V for lighting. Use a licensed electrician.
Is a large infrared or traditional sauna better?
Neither is objectively better. A large infrared cabin like the Luminar 5 heats up in minutes, runs cooler (170°F published, about 160°F observed), needs no water or stones, and adds app control and an optional red light add-on. A traditional 6-person barrel or cabin runs hotter (Almost Heaven states 180°F within an hour for its picks; the Nova 6 publishes a 230°F maximum) and lets you pour water for löyly. Choose infrared for convenience and gentler heat, traditional for high heat and steam.
Does the Sun Home Luminar 5 ship fully assembled?
No. It ships crated on a pallet to your curb. Sun Home's assembly guidance says the Luminar requires at least two to four people, recommends a contractor although one is not required, estimates three to four hours of assembly, and makes the buyer responsible for moving the pieces from the curb to the site. A white-glove inside-delivery upgrade is offered. The 240V circuit must be installed by a licensed electrician.
Which large sauna has the best warranty?
Read the terms rather than the headline. Sun Home Luminar 5 (orders on or after March 2, 2026): limited lifetime, defined as up to seven years, on cabinetry and heaters; 3 years on the exterior cabin and controls; 1 year on LED lighting, glass doors, and audio; labor and shipping covered only for the first 90 days. Almost Heaven Princeton 6 and Bridgeport 6: limited lifetime on manufacturing defects for the room, with Harvia heaters at 1 year on elements and 5 years on other components. Sun Home Nova 6: limited lifetime (seven years) on cabinetry, with the HUUM heater under HUUM's 3-year residential warranty that excludes heating elements, and no labor coverage. Redwood Outdoors: 1-year limited on the sauna, Harvia heaters 1 year on elements and 5 years on other components.
How much space do I need for a 5- to 6-person sauna?
Use the published footprints: Sun Home Luminar 5, 82.25 by 51.75 by 84 inches, with 4 to 6 inches of clearance around and 20 to 24 inches above the roof; Almost Heaven Princeton 6, 78 by 94 by 75⅜ inches assembled; Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6, 86 by 63 by 77⅝ inches, with 2 inches from walls and about 12 inches overhead for the build; Sun Home Nova 6, 68.9 by 78.7 by 82.7 inches; Redwood Outdoors 6-Person Barrel, 71 by 72¾ by 76½ inches. Outdoor models need a solid, level base and clear access for the door swing and the delivery pallet.