Sun Home vs LIT Method Saunas (2026): Infrared, Hybrid and Red Light Compared

Brand comparison, specifications verified September 17 to 19, 2026

Edited by: Melanie Green, Health and Wellness Copywriter · Registered Dietitian Background · MSc Human Nutrition.
Expert contributor: Jennifer King, DNP, Doctor of Nursing Practice · Certified Fitness Professional.
Clinically reviewed by: Dr. Joe Lee, DPT, OCS · Duke University Doctor of Physical Therapy · Board Certified Orthopedic Clinical Specialist.
Published . All prices are regular list prices from each brand's live product pages on the verification dates. Both brands were running promotions at check (Sun Home's Friends and Family sale ends September 21; LIT's has no published end date); promotional prices are omitted for both brands so that the comparison does not expire with a sale, and each product page shows the current price.

Sun Home vs LIT Method: the short answer

Sun Home is the better-documented choice: named-lab EMF and VOC reports, published ceilings of 165°F (Equinox, Eclipse, Pod) and 170°F (Luminar), independent hands-on readings of 165°F on the Equinox and about 160°F on a Luminar 5, and seven-year heater coverage. LIT Method fits buyers who want a stove-and-infrared hybrid (Titan) or a sub-$6,000 two-person red-light cabin (BeautyBox).

Lanes: which model wins where

How lanes are decided: a lane is awarded only where both brands sell a comparable product, and it goes to the model with the stronger published, independently checkable record on the criteria used throughout this article (published safety testing, temperature evidence, warranty terms, and circuit and build documentation). Where only one brand builds a format, we describe it without an award. Sun Home is one of the two brands compared; see the disclosure above.

  1. Indoor infrared with integrated red light, two to four people: Sun Home Eclipse 2 ($10,599 list) and Eclipse 4 ($13,599 list), against the LIT BeautyBox and Forge. Deciding record: dedicated full-spectrum heaters plus far-infrared panels, 165°F published, 660 and 850 nm towers with published irradiance, a brand-owned app, seven-year heater coverage, and the only named-lab EMF and VOC documents in this comparison. The Forge answers with a 170°F published ceiling, four full-spectrum heaters and a lower price, but no lab documentation, no published light output and two-year heater coverage.
  2. Outdoor cabin: Sun Home Luminar 2 ($11,599 list) and Luminar 5 ($14,499 list), against the LIT Titan 2-Person and 4-5 Person. Deciding record: 170°F published with an independent reading on file (about 160°F on a Luminar 5 in Garage Gym Reviews' test), a patented aluminum exterior with a cedar interior, a brand-owned app, seven-year heater coverage, and a Fortune and Garage Gym Reviews award record. The Titan answers with stove heat plus infrared in one shell, built-in red light and a lower price, but no independent temperature record, two-year heater coverage and two required circuits.
  3. Lowest-price two-person cabin with built-in red light: LIT Method BeautyBox ($5,999 list), against the Sun Home Eclipse 2. LIT wins this lane on price, $4,600 below the Eclipse 2 at list (editorially calculated), with a 660 and 850 nm panel included and a 120 V, 20 A circuit instead of a 30 A one, and it has the only hands-on editorial review on LIT's side of this comparison (Esquire, months of home use, no measurements). What it gives up: carbon far-infrared heaters only, a 150°F published ceiling, manufacturer-stated EMF figures and two-year heater coverage.
  4. Stove-and-infrared hybrid in one cabin: only LIT builds it (Titan, 2-person from $9,499 list; 4-5 person from $10,999 list). No award, because Sun Home has no comparable product: it sells stove heat as separate cabins (Nova indoor, Solaris outdoor). LIT's specification states the Titan's two modes are independent systems that cannot run at the same time (manufacturer-stated).
  5. Portable: no award. The LIT InfraPod ($1,199 list) is a stand-up tent with red light; the Sun Home Infrared Sauna Blanket ($499 list) is a lie-flat blanket with an independent hands-on record. Different formats, not substitutes.

Two brands at a glance

Sun Home vs LIT Method: brand-level comparison (verified September 17 to 18, 2026)
Criterion Sun Home Saunas LIT Method
Company Founded 2021 in San Diego by Tyler Fish and Adam Fischer; a dedicated sauna and cold plunge maker; Inc. 5000 No. 20 (2025) and No. 198 (2026) per Inc.'s profile. Los Angeles fitness brand founded in 2015 by Justin and Taylor Norris (LIT stands for Low Impact Training); began with in-person studios and the LIT Strength Machine, later added saunas, cold plunges and red light devices. Sources: LIT Our Story; 2021 investment announcement; Esquire, August 2026.
Sauna lineup Indoor infrared (Solstice, Equinox, Eclipse, Pod); outdoor infrared (Luminar 2 and 5); indoor traditional (Nova 3 and 6); outdoor traditional (Solaris 4 and 6); infrared blanket. Indoor infrared (BeautyBox 2-person, Forge 3-4 person); indoor or outdoor hybrid (Titan 2-person, 4-5 person); portable InfraPod; a traditional line (Solis) and custom saunas that we did not verify for this comparison.
Published maximum temperature 165°F (Equinox, Eclipse, Pod); 170°F (Luminar); 230°F (Nova, Solaris). Manufacturer-stated. Independent readings, one unit each: 165°F in Garage Gym Reviews' Equinox 2-person review; about 160°F on a Luminar 5 in its Luminar review; a 149°F maximum listed in its April 2026 Pod review (see Heat). Independently hands-on tested. 150°F (BeautyBox; InfraPod, whose FAQ says 160°F); 170°F (Forge); Titan 150°F infrared or up to 200°F stove heat (the base 4.5 kW heater is listed at 185°F). Manufacturer-stated. LIT's warranty states temperature and heat-up figures are estimates, not guarantees. No independent instrumented test located. Not located.
EMF documentation Vitatech Electromagnetics report VTE-3534 (January 2025): 0.6 to 4.0 mG at 1 ft, 0.4 to 1.8 mG at 2 ft, 0.3 to 0.9 mG at 3 ft, RMS fluxgate under load. Brand-level: the published summary names no model. Source: Vitatech summary (PDF). Independently laboratory-tested, commissioned. "0.1 to 0.5 mG at bench seating" and "0.3 to 0.7 mG at seating level" appear on the same BeautyBox page; the InfraPod page says "independently measured 0.02 to 0.99 mG." No laboratory, instrument, method or report located. Manufacturer-stated.
VOC and material documentation VERT Environmental cabin-air sample (April 2026, EPA TO-15 at an AIHA-accredited lab): 27 µg/m³ total VOCs from one sample; brand-level, the report does not identify the model. ATS adhesive report: no formaldehyde or BTEX above reporting limits. Sources: VERT report via Sun Home's safety testing page; ATS report (PDF). Independently laboratory-tested, commissioned. "Non-toxic, low-VOC adhesives," "no off-gassing at sauna temperatures"; the Titan spec panel says "no glues" while its feature list says "low VOC adhesives." No air or material test located. Manufacturer-stated.
Red light therapy Eclipse 2 and 4 and Pod: factory-integrated 660 and 850 nm towers with published irradiance (180 to 250 mW/cm² at 6 in, 219 average, per Sun Home's Eclipse page); Luminar: $1,699 door-mounted tower option; Equinox and Solstice: none. BeautyBox, Forge, Titan and InfraPod: 660 and 850 nm panel or panels (Forge sold with one or two). LED count and irradiance not located.
App and controls Brand-owned Sun Home app on Eclipse, Pod and Luminar (remote preheat, scheduling, guided breathwork); Nova uses HUUM's app over Wi-Fi for the heater. Equinox and Solstice: touch controls, no app. Forge: WiFi touchscreen and app (the app is not named). Titan: Harvia's app over Bluetooth on the WiFi heater variants only. BeautyBox and InfraPod: no app.
Warranty, headline terms Eclipse, Pod, Luminar: up to 7 years cabinetry and heaters, 3 years controls, 1 year LED, glass and audio, parts plus labor plus shipping for the first 90 days. Equinox and Solstice: 7, 3 and 1 years. Component table below; source: Sun Home warranty page. Residential: 5 years structure, wood, electrical, controls, lighting, benches and doors; 2 years heaters. Commercial: 1 year. Component table below; source: LIT sauna warranty. Product pages variously state 1, 2 or 5 years on heaters.
Returns on cabins 30 days from delivery, unused and unopened only; 25 percent restocking plus outbound and inbound freight; uncrated, assembled or used units not returnable; custom and made-to-order units non-refundable; 3 percent fee on any cancellation. Source: Sun Home Warranty and Returns FAQ. 30 days from delivery, unused, unassembled and unopened only; 25 percent restocking plus outbound and inbound freight; uncrated, assembled, installed or used units not returnable; custom units final sale. Source: LIT return and cancellation policy.
Safety certification ETL Listed for the U.S. and Canada through Intertek, plus RoHS (Luminar: RoHS and Intertek only). Manufacturer-stated, certifier named. "ETL certified" (Forge, Titan FAQ) and "every heater is UL certified under 6J21" (Titan). No listing numbers located. Manufacturer-stated.
Customer-record signals BBB A+, accredited December 9, 2025, 69 reviews averaging 4.87; brand-hosted product reviews (Equinox 2: 117 at 4.8 on September 18). Brand-hosted Okendo widgets: Titan 5.0 across 49 reviews (pooled across both sizes), BeautyBox 5.0 across 12, InfraPod 4.9 across 16. An 11-review Trustpilot profile scored 2.0 at our check. We did not locate a BBB profile for LIT Method.
Editorial record Fortune: Luminar 5 best overall home sauna, 4.5/5. Rolling Stone: Equinox 2 best infrared overall, Luminar 2 top outdoor pick, Eclipse 2 best built-in red light. Garage Gym Reviews: Luminar best outdoor sauna overall and Equinox 2-person best overall infrared sauna. Independently hands-on tested. Esquire (Madison Vain, August 5, 2026): a single-product review of a BeautyBox installed in the writer's home from December 2025, describing months of use and skin results, with no temperature, EMF or comparative measurements reported. Its headline is "This Infrared Sauna Is the Final Frontier of At-Home Wellness"; the phrase "Best At-Home Sauna of 2026," which LIT attributes to Esquire on its product pages, blog guides and a YouTube title, does not appear in the article's text, and we located no separate Esquire award. Independently hands-on reviewed, no instrumented measurements.
Regular list prices (saunas) Blanket $499; Solstice from $5,599; Pod $6,699; Equinox 2 $6,799; Eclipse 2 $10,599; Luminar 2 $11,599; Nova 3 $12,499; Eclipse 4 $13,599; Luminar 5 $14,499; Nova 6 $16,399; Solaris from $37,199. InfraPod $1,199; BeautyBox $5,999; Forge $8,999 (one red light panel); Titan 2-person $9,499 (4.5 kW base heater); Titan 4-5 person $10,999 (6 kW base heater); WiFi heater variants displayed at $11,499 to $13,999 on September 17 (regular list not separately shown).
Shipping and assembly Free U.S. curbside freight. Luminar: 2 to 4 people, about 3 to 4 hours per Sun Home's assembly page; Garage Gym Reviews used five people on its 5-person unit. White-glove inside delivery is a paid upgrade. Indoor cabins: panel-locking assembly. Free contiguous-U.S. LTL curbside freight. BeautyBox: about 30 minutes, tool-free. Titan: two people, about two hours, plus a licensed electrician. 0% APR up to 36 months.

Model-by-model matchups

These are the pairings buyers actually cross-shop. All prices are regular list.

Two-person indoor with red light: Sun Home Eclipse 2 vs LIT BeautyBox

Eclipse 2 vs BeautyBox
Spec Sun Home Eclipse 2 LIT Method BeautyBox
List price $10,599 $5,999
Heaters 6 far-infrared plus 2 dedicated full-spectrum heaters; 2,820 W nameplate 6 carbon far-infrared heaters marketed as full spectrum; "1,800 W" (manufacturer-stated)
Published maximum 165°F (no independent Eclipse reading located; see the Equinox, Luminar and Pod readings above) 150°F, about 30 minutes to reach it (no independent reading located)
Red light Dual 660 and 850 nm towers standard; 180 to 250 mW/cm² at 6 in published One 660 and 850 nm panel, runs with or without heat; output not located
EMF Vitatech ranges, brand-level (see EMF section) 0.1 to 0.5 mG and 0.3 to 0.7 mG stated on the same page; no lab named
Electrical 120 V, 2,820 W, 23.5 A, NEMA L5-30P on a dedicated 30 A circuit 120 V, 20 A, NEMA 5-20 on a dedicated 20 A circuit
Size and weight 51.5 × 47.2 × 76.7 in; 600 lb 46.5 × 40.5 × 76.7 in (interior about 38 × 32 × 74 in); 190 lb
Wood Canadian hemlock or Canadian red cedar (Sun Home offers both woods) Canadian hemlock, matte black exterior, double-insulated glass
App and audio Sun Home app; Bluetooth No app; Bluetooth and aux with two speakers
Warranty Up to 7 years cabinetry and heaters, 3 years controls, 90-day parts, labor and shipping 5 years cabin; heaters listed as 1 year (warranty tab), 2 years (feature list) and 5 years (spec panel); LIT's warranty page says 2
Independent coverage Rolling Stone best built-in red light Esquire long-term use review (no measurements; no "Best At-Home Sauna" title in its text); 12 brand-hosted reviews at 5.0

What the $4,600 difference at list buys (editorially calculated): 15°F more published ceiling, dedicated full-spectrum emitters, published red light irradiance, brand-level named-lab EMF and VOC documents, app control, and five more years of heater coverage under each brand's controlling warranty. What LIT keeps: a lower entry price, a 190 lb cabin that two people can move, and a 20 A circuit instead of a 30 A one.

Three-to-four-person indoor: Sun Home Eclipse 4 vs LIT Forge

Eclipse 4 vs Forge
Spec Sun Home Eclipse 4 LIT Method Forge
List price $13,599 $8,999 with one red light panel; two-panel configuration priced higher (see product page)
Capacity 4 person 3 to 4 person, dual-level bench
Heaters 12 far-infrared plus 4 full-spectrum 6 carbon far-infrared plus 4 full-spectrum
Published maximum 165°F 170°F
Red light Included, 660 and 850 nm 660 and 850 nm, one or two panels
Electrical 240 V, 5,300 W, 22 A, NEMA L6-30P, dedicated 240 V, 25 A circuit, NEMA L6-20 locking plug; licensed electrician required
Size and weight 94.4 × 55.1 × 76.7 in; 925 lb 64 × 48 × 78 in; 650 lb (one spec block on the same page says 225 lb)
Controls Sun Home app Digital touchscreen with WiFi and an unnamed app
Warranty Up to 7 years cabinetry and heaters 5 years structure; heaters 1 year on the page, 2 years on LIT's warranty page

The Forge is the LIT cabin whose full-spectrum claim is supported by its own spec sheet, and it publishes a 170°F ceiling. It is 30 in narrower than the Eclipse 4 and about 30 percent lighter on the figures both pages lead with (650 vs 925 lb) (editorially calculated); the 225 lb figure elsewhere on the Forge page is an unresolved conflict. Its product page still calls the cabin "Eclipse" in several places (see the disambiguation note below), and its availability text conflicts: the variant selector says "Restocked, ships in 3 to 5 days" while the FAQ describes a 30-day pre-order lead time.

Two-person outdoor: Sun Home Luminar 2 vs LIT Titan 2-Person

Luminar 2 vs Titan 2-Person
Spec Sun Home Luminar 2 LIT Method Titan 2-Person
List price $11,599 (red light tower add-on $1,699) $9,499 with the 4.5 kW base heater; WiFi 6 kW heater variant displayed at $11,499 on September 17 (regular list not separately shown)
Heat 6 full-spectrum plus 3 far-infrared heaters; 170°F published 6 carbon far-infrared panels (150°F) or a Harvia electric stove (200°F; base heater listed at 185°F); one mode per session
Independent temperature record Garage Gym Reviews recorded about 160°F within ten minutes on the 5-person Luminar and, in its best home sauna roundup, notes the unit maxed out around 160°F against the 170°F published; the 2-person figure is manufacturer-stated None located
Red light Optional door-mounted tower Built in, 660 and 850 nm
Exterior and interior Matte black aerospace-grade aluminum exterior (design patent D1,079,961) with a Canadian red cedar interior Gunmetal powder-coated aluminum exterior with a Canadian hemlock interior; rated indoor and outdoor; LIT states operation down to -30°F
Electrical One dedicated 240 V, 20 A circuit, NEMA L6-20 Two dedicated 240 V circuits: 20 A for the infrared panels plus 25 A (base) or 30 A (WiFi 6 kW) for the stove; licensed electrician required
Size and weight 57 × 51.5 × 82.7 in; 970 lb 49 × 56 × 78 in (interior 45 × 52 × 74 in); 650 lb
Controls Sun Home app Touchscreen; Harvia app over Bluetooth on WiFi heater variants only
Assembly Crated to the curb; 2 to 4 people, about 3 to 4 hours per Sun Home; Garage Gym Reviews needed five people for its 5-person unit and scored delivery and setup 3 out of 5 Palletized to the curb; two people, about two hours, plus the electrician visit (LIT estimates $200 to $500 for the electrical work)
Warranty Up to 7 years cabinetry and heaters; exterior 3 years; void within 5 ft of a water source 5 years frame; heaters 2 years (the spec panel says 5 years); LIT's warranty page says 2

The Titan is the only cabin here that offers stove heat and infrared in one shell, and it includes red light at a lower list price. The Luminar is the better-documented outdoor infrared cabin: a published 170°F ceiling with an independent measurement on record, a patented aluminum exterior, and seven-year heater coverage. Buyers who want steam and stove heat from Sun Home should look at the Nova (indoor, HUUM DROP, 230°F published, from $12,499) or the Solaris (outdoor, from $37,199), not the Luminar.

Larger cabins: Sun Home Luminar 5 and Nova 3 vs LIT Titan 4-5 Person

The Luminar 5 ($14,499 list) is a five-person outdoor infrared cabin with 5 far-infrared and 10 full-spectrum heaters on a dedicated 30 A NEMA L6-30 circuit, 82.25 × 51.75 × 84 in and 1,270 lb. Fortune named it best overall home sauna at 4.5/5 and Garage Gym Reviews names the Luminar best outdoor sauna overall; GGR's testers also found five adults cramped and called four-person capacity "more fair" (independently hands-on tested). The Nova 3 ($12,499 list) is Sun Home's indoor traditional cabin: a HUUM DROP 6 kW heater with stones, 230°F published, Canadian cedar with marine-grade stainless fasteners in a double-wall insulated build, 64.9 × 57.1 × 82.7 in, 772 lb, hardwired to a dedicated 240 V, 30 A circuit, about an hour to temperature, HUUM app control; the Nova 6 ($16,399) steps up to 7.5 kW on 40 A.

The Titan 4-5 Person ($10,999 list with the 6 kW base heater; WiFi 6 kW and WiFi Spirit 8 kW variants displayed at $12,999 and $13,999 on September 17, regular list not separately shown) is 70 × 56 × 78 in, 850 lb, with a 17 in lower and 36 in upper bench, six carbon infrared panels (150°F) and a Harvia stove (200°F). It needs two 240 V circuits: 20 A for the panels plus 30 A (6 kW) or 40 A (8 kW) for the stove (manufacturer-stated). Against the Nova it is an outdoor-rated hybrid at a lower price with a 30°F lower published stove ceiling and two-year heater coverage against HUUM's three-year heater warranty on the Nova.

Portable: Sun Home Infrared Sauna Blanket vs LIT InfraPod

The Sun Home blanket ($499 list) is a far-infrared lie-flat blanket with a 95 to 167°F setting range and roughly 500 W draw per its manual, a manufacturer-stated 0.4 mG shielding figure, a one-year warranty, and independent hands-on reviews (Garage Gym Reviews scored it 4.5/5 and measured a 167°F hold; Fit&Well tested an earlier unit) (independently hands-on tested). The LIT InfraPod ($1,199 list) is a 36 × 36 × 74 in stand-up tent with six carbon far-infrared panels, 660 and 850 nm red light, a standard 110 V plug, a 15 lb frame, and a two-year warranty on heating elements and electronics; the page lists 150°F in its features and 160°F in its FAQ, and its "independently measured 0.02 to 0.99 mG" claim names no lab (manufacturer-stated). The InfraPod is the only portable option here with red light; the blanket is the only one with an independent measured-temperature record. No award in this lane. For the wider market, see our portable infrared sauna guide.

Heat and temperature: published vs measured

Sun Home publishes 165°F for the Equinox, Eclipse and Pod and 170°F for the Luminar. Three independent Garage Gym Reviews readings exist, one unit each, and this is the one place we set them out in full; later sections refer back here. In the Equinox review (two-person unit), the tester reported 165°F, called it the hottest infrared sauna she had tested, and clocked about ten minutes to heat. In the Luminar review (five-person unit), the cabin reached about 160°F within ten minutes, and GGR's roundup notes it maxed out around 160°F against the 170°F published, which is a measured shortfall. The Pod review (April 2026) is a different case: GGR lists the Pod's maximum as 149°F and reports that its unit reached that figure in about 35 minutes, while Sun Home's current product page lists 165°F. GGR does not describe a failed attempt to reach 165°F, and neither source says whether the reviewed unit and the current model are the same version, so we report the difference without treating it as a shortfall. No Eclipse reading was located.

LIT publishes 150°F for the BeautyBox (about 30 minutes to reach it), 170°F for the Forge, and 150°F infrared or 200°F stove heat for the Titan, whose base 4.5 kW Harvia heater is listed at 185°F. The InfraPod page lists 150°F in its features and 160°F in its FAQ. Esquire's BeautyBox review describes months of use at a 130 to 150°F setting but reports no measured temperature, so we located no independent instrumented test of any LIT sauna, and LIT's sauna warranty states that advertised temperature range, heat-up time and other performance figures "are estimates based on proper installation and ideal site conditions and are not guaranteed outcomes." Treat every LIT temperature as a manufacturer figure.

What "full spectrum" means on each brand's spec sheet

On homesauna.com, a cabin is full spectrum when it names a distinct near or mid-infrared emitter in addition to carbon far-infrared panels; carbon panels alone are far-infrared. Sun Home's Equinox, Eclipse and Luminar list dedicated full-spectrum heaters alongside far-infrared panels (Equinox 2: 4 far-infrared plus 2 full-spectrum; Eclipse 2: 6 plus 2; Luminar 2: 3 far-infrared plus 6 full-spectrum), while its Pod and Solstice are far-infrared cabins. LIT's Forge lists 4 full-spectrum heaters plus 6 carbon panels and qualifies. LIT's BeautyBox and Titan are marketed as full spectrum, but their specifications list only "6 Carbon PureTech Near Zero EMF FAR Infrared heaters," so their full-spectrum claims are not supported by their own spec sheets. LIT's product imagery goes further, labeling the carbon panels themselves "Full Spectrum Infrared," and Esquire's review repeats the description without discussing heater type. Neither brand publishes a spectral-output report by wavelength band, so both brands' full-spectrum claims remain manufacturer-stated at the emitter-type level. Our full-spectrum sauna guide explains the standard.

Red light therapy

Sun Home's Eclipse 2 and 4 and the Pod ship with factory-integrated 660 and 850 nm towers, and Sun Home publishes irradiance figures for them: 180 to 250 mW/cm² at 6 in, 219 mW/cm² average, per the Eclipse page (manufacturer-stated, figures published). Irradiance is not dose; dose also depends on exposure time and distance, which the user controls. The Luminar takes a $1,699 door-mounted tower as an option, and the Equinox and Solstice have no red light. The Eclipse page also lists separate chromotherapy lighting, which is not red light therapy.

LIT builds a 660 and 850 nm panel into the BeautyBox, Forge (one or two panels), Titan and InfraPod, and the BeautyBox panel runs independently of the heat. We did not locate LED count, panel size or irradiance for any LIT model (not located). Coverage differs as well: the BeautyBox panel is a single wall-mounted unit near the door at torso height, of unpublished dimensions, while the Eclipse mounts full-height towers on both sides of the door. LIT calls its panel "medical grade," a term with no defined standard for a consumer LED panel; LIT publishes no clearance, LED count or output behind it, and Esquire's reviewer reports her skin results as personal impressions. Because LIT publishes no output figure, no side-by-side comparison of light output is possible; wavelength parity does not establish output parity. Our red light sauna guide covers what to ask any brand before paying for a panel.

EMF, VOC and certification documentation

This is the widest gap between the two brands. Sun Home publishes three documents on its safety testing page: a Vitatech Electromagnetics RMS seating-distance summary of report VTE-3534 (January 2025; 0.6 to 4.0 mG at 1 ft, 0.4 to 1.8 mG at 2 ft, 0.3 to 0.9 mG at 3 ft, measured with fluxgate instruments under load), a six-page VERT Environmental indoor air quality report (a single cabin-air sample taken April 2, 2026, analyzed by EPA Method TO-15 at an AIHA-accredited lab, 27 µg/m³ total target compounds), and an ATS adhesive report (no. 486424, June 18, 2026) showing no formaldehyde or BTEX above reporting limits and total VOC content below 0.001 percent by weight (independently laboratory-tested, commissioned by Sun Home). Two scope notes: the Vitatech summary names no model and says it does not replace the full report, and the VERT report does not identify the cabin sampled, so both are brand-level documentation rather than per-model results. Sun Home's headline "as low as 0.3 mG" is the bottom of the 3 ft range, not a whole-cabin figure. Its low-EMF explainer reproduces the test conditions in full.

LIT states EMF figures without a lab: the BeautyBox page gives "0.1 to 0.5 mG at bench seating" in its feature list and "0.3 to 0.7 mG at seating level" in its specification panel; the InfraPod page says "independently measured at 0.02 to 0.99 mG" and "tested" without naming who tested it; the Forge and Titan pages say "low EMF" and "near-zero EMF." We did not locate an instrument, distance protocol or report in the sources reviewed as of September 18, 2026 (manufacturer-stated). On materials, LIT states "non-toxic, low-VOC adhesives" and "no off-gassing at sauna temperatures," and the Titan spec panel says "no glues" while the Titan feature list says "low VOC adhesives." We did not locate a cabin-air, adhesive or wood test (not located).

On safety listing, Sun Home states its infrared cabins are ETL Listed for the U.S. and Canada through Intertek plus RoHS compliant (the Luminar carries RoHS and Intertek only). LIT states the Forge and Titan are "ETL certified" and that every Titan heater is "UL certified under 6J21." Neither brand publishes a listing number on its product pages; Sun Home names the certifier.

Controls, app and audio

Sun Home's app is brand-owned (App Store and Google Play) and works with the Eclipse 2 and 4, Pod, and Luminar 2 and 5 for remote preheat, scheduling and guided breathwork; the Nova's HUUM heater is controlled through HUUM's own app over Wi-Fi; the Equinox and Solstice use in-cabin controls with no app. Garage Gym Reviews found the Pod's control panel less intuitive than it wanted and used the app instead. LIT's Forge has a digital touchscreen with WiFi and an app that the product page does not name. LIT's Titan connects to Harvia's own app over Bluetooth, and only on the WiFi heater variants; the base-heater Titan uses the stove's built-in controls. The BeautyBox and InfraPod have no app. Both brands include Bluetooth audio on their cabins (Sun Home's Equinox and Solstice use Blaupunkt speakers, the Eclipse lists a Bluetooth surround system and the Luminar a premium Bluetooth system; LIT lists two speakers with a pre-amp on the BeautyBox, Forge and Titan).

Electrical and installation

Circuit requirements decide the real installed cost. Where a brand publishes wattage but not current, the amps below are calculated at the stated voltage and labeled as such.

Circuit requirements by model (manufacturer-stated unless labeled editorially calculated)
Model Voltage and draw Circuit and plug Electrician
Sun Home Equinox 2 120 V; draw not stated on the product page Dedicated 20 A, NEMA 5-20; 10 ft cord exits the back-left of the roof Only if no dedicated 20 A outlet exists
Sun Home Pod 120 V, 1,710 W, 14.2 A (spec sheet) Dedicated 20 A, NEMA 5-20 Only if no dedicated 20 A outlet exists; Garage Gym Reviews advises consulting one because NEMA 5-20 outlets are less common
Sun Home Eclipse 2 120 V, 2,820 W, 23.5 A Dedicated 30 A, NEMA L5-30P Typically, for the 30 A circuit
Sun Home Eclipse 4 240 V, 5,300 W, 22 A Dedicated 30 A, NEMA L6-30P Yes
Sun Home Luminar 2 / 5 240 V Dedicated 20 A NEMA L6-20 / 30 A NEMA L6-30 Yes
Sun Home Nova 3 / 6 240 V, hardwired Dedicated 30 A / 40 A Yes, before delivery
LIT BeautyBox 120 V, "1,800 W" stated (about 15 A at 120 V, editorially calculated) Dedicated 20 A, NEMA 5-20 LIT says none if a dedicated 20 A outlet exists
LIT Forge 240 V; draw not stated Dedicated 25 A circuit, NEMA L6-20 locking plug Required per LIT
LIT Titan 2-Person 240 V; draw not stated Two circuits: 20 A (infrared) plus 25 A (base 4.5 kW) or 30 A (WiFi 6 kW) Required per LIT; $200 to $500 estimated by LIT
LIT Titan 4-5 Person 240 V; draw not stated Two circuits: 20 A plus 30 A (6 kW) or 40 A (8 kW) Required per LIT
LIT InfraPod 110 V; draw not stated Standard 15 A outlet None

Both brands ship freight to the curb. Sun Home's Luminar takes 2 to 4 people and about 3 to 4 hours by Sun Home's account; Garage Gym Reviews used five people for its 5-person unit and scored delivery and setup 3 out of 5, while its Equinox build took two people and its Pod build took two people within a couple of hours. LIT's Titan takes two people and about two hours before the electrician's visit; LIT's BeautyBox and Sun Home's indoor cabins use panel-locking assembly.

Warranty and returns, component by component

"Better warranty" depends on which part fails. The table compares each brand's controlling document: Sun Home's warranty page (orders on or after March 2, 2026) and LIT's Sauna Limited Warranty.

Residential warranty terms by component
Component Sun Home (Eclipse, Pod, Luminar) Sun Home (Equinox, Solstice) LIT Method (all saunas)
Cabinetry and structure Up to 7 years (limited lifetime); Luminar exterior cabin 3 years 7 years 5 years (structural cabinet, frame, wood components)
Heaters Up to 7 years 7 years 2 years
Controls 3 years 3 years 5 years
Lighting 1 year (LED) 1 year 5 years (factory-installed lighting)
Glass doors and hardware 1 year (glass) 1 year (glass) 5 years (doors and hardware)
Audio 1 year 1 year Not itemized; product pages say 1 year on the radio, the warranty page says 5 years on factory electrical components
Labor and shipping Parts, labor and shipping covered for the first 90 days from delivery No labor line; parts only Not stated; repair or replacement of components at LIT's discretion
Transferable No, original purchaser only No No, original purchaser only
Commercial use Separate commercial terms provided at point of sale Same 1 year
Performance figures Not addressed Not addressed Advertised temperature, heat-up time and other performance figures expressly excluded
Placement conditions Void within 5 ft of any water source (cold plunge, shower, bathtub, hot tub); dedicated outlet required Same Licensed electrician required for all electrical connections; shipping damage must be reported in writing within 48 hours

Read across the rows: Sun Home is longer on the two most expensive parts (cabinetry and heaters) and adds 90 days of labor on the Eclipse, Pod and Luminar; LIT is longer on controls, lighting and doors. LIT's product pages disagree with each other on heater coverage (the BeautyBox and Forge warranty tabs say one year, the feature lists say two, the spec panels say five, and the Titan commercial FAQ says five), so buyers should rely on the warranty page. Sun Home's Nova carries HUUM's residential heater warranty (three years on the body and controls, elements excluded as consumables) with replacement parts only beyond 90 days.

Returns and cancellations

Neither brand offers a try-it-at-home return on a cabin. Sun Home's Warranty and Returns FAQ: saunas may be returned within 30 days of delivery only if unused and in their original unopened packaging; a 25 percent restocking fee plus outbound and inbound shipping applies even on free-shipping orders; uncrated, assembled or used saunas are not accepted; custom and made-to-order traditional saunas are non-refundable; every cancellation carries a 3 percent fee per product, rising to the 25 percent restocking fee plus round-trip freight once an order enters fulfillment (after 24 hours for in-stock items); refunds issue within 21 days of receipt. Sun Home's help center puts typical round-trip freight at $1,500 to $1,800. LIT's return and cancellation policy: saunas may be returned within 30 days of delivery only if unused, unassembled and in original unopened packaging; a 25 percent restocking fee plus outbound and inbound freight is deducted; uncrated, assembled, installed or used saunas are non-returnable; custom and made-to-order units are final sale; in-stock orders may be canceled within one business day subject to the 25 percent restocking fee if not yet shipped. LIT's product pages carry a "30-Day Guarantee" badge; the policy behind it is the unopened-packaging return above. An older LIT warranty page still quotes a 20 percent fee; the current policy page says 25.

Reviews and public record

Sun Home's BBB profile shows an A+ rating, accreditation since December 9, 2025, and 69 customer reviews averaging 4.87, with a public complaints tab; its brand-hosted product reviews include 117 on the Equinox 2 at 4.8 (September 18 check). Its editorial record includes Fortune (Luminar 5 best overall home sauna, 4.5/5), Rolling Stone (Equinox 2 best infrared overall, Luminar 2 top outdoor pick, Eclipse 2 best built-in red light), Garage Gym Reviews (dedicated hands-on reviews of the Equinox, Luminar 5 and Pod, plus roundup awards for the Luminar and Equinox 2), and The Good Trade's Luminar review, which is published in partnership with Sun Home and is cited here only for ownership detail. GGR's criticisms are on record too: five adults were cramped in the Luminar 5, the Pod's control panel was unintuitive, and the Pod's price drew a 4 out of 5 on value; its temperature readings are set out in the Heat section.

LIT's product reviews are brand-hosted Okendo widgets: 49 at 5.0 on the Titan (the same 49 appear on both Titan pages), 12 at 5.0 on the BeautyBox, and 16 at 4.9 on the InfraPod. A Trustpilot profile for litmethod.com showed 11 reviews and a 2.0 TrustScore at our check, including a review describing a Titan order that had not arrived after 12 weeks; small samples cut both ways. We did not locate a BBB profile for LIT Method. LIT's editorial record is one review: Esquire's Madison Vain had a BeautyBox installed in her basement in December 2025 and wrote it up in August 2026 after months of use, reporting a routine of 20 to 30 minutes at 130 to 150°F, a preheat of about 20 minutes, and skin results she judged against her own red light mask; the piece contains no temperature, EMF or comparative measurements and carries shop links to LIT. Its headline is "This Infrared Sauna Is the Final Frontier of At-Home Wellness." LIT describes it across its product pages, blog guides and a YouTube title as "Esquire's Best At-Home Sauna of 2026"; that phrase does not appear in the article's text, and we located no separate Esquire award conferring it.

Cost formula: what you actually spend

Installed cost is equipment plus the circuit plus delivery and assembly, and the exit cost matters too: because neither brand accepts an opened cabin back, the practical return cost of either sauna is the full price. Neither brand publishes electrician pricing except LIT's $200 to $500 estimate for the Titan stove connection, so the circuit stays a line item. All prices are regular list for both brands because promotions expire; both brands were discounting at check.

Two-person indoor with red light
Sun Home Eclipse 2: $10,599 list + one dedicated 120 V, 30 A circuit (electrician) + free curbside freight. LIT BeautyBox: $5,999 list + a dedicated 120 V, 20 A outlet if the room lacks one + free LTL freight. Gap at list: $4,600 (editorially calculated).
Two-person outdoor
Sun Home Luminar 2: $11,599 list, $13,298 with the red light tower (editorially calculated) + one dedicated 240 V, 20 A circuit + assembly by 2 to 4 people or paid white-glove delivery. LIT Titan 2-Person: $9,499 list with the base heater ($11,499 as displayed with the WiFi 6 kW heater) + two dedicated 240 V circuits, LIT's $200 to $500 estimate for the stove hookup + two people for about two hours. Gap at list, Luminar 2 with tower vs base Titan: $3,799 (editorially calculated).
Operating cost
Neither brand publishes metered session energy. Nameplate draw is the ceiling: 2,820 W (Eclipse 2) against LIT's stated 1,800 W (BeautyBox); LIT's own FAQ estimates $0.25 to $0.30 per hour for the BeautyBox at a standard rate (manufacturer-stated). Higher draw is what buys the higher published ceiling; it is not evidence of efficiency either way.

Direct answer: which should you buy, and what to ask first

Choose Sun Home if you want published, brand-level named-lab EMF and VOC documents before you put a heated cabin in your home; a published 165 to 170°F ceiling with independent readings on file (see the Heat section for how they compare); factory-integrated red light with published irradiance (Eclipse, Pod); a brand-owned app; seven years on heaters with 90 days of labor on the Eclipse, Pod and Luminar; an outdoor cabin with a patented aluminum exterior; or a dedicated traditional cabin (Nova, Solaris) with a HUUM heater and a 230°F published ceiling.

Choose LIT Method if you want stove heat and infrared in one indoor or outdoor cabin (Titan), a two-person cabin with built-in 660 and 850 nm red light below $6,000 list on a 20 A outlet (BeautyBox), a 3-to-4-person full-spectrum cabin with WiFi control under $9,000 list (Forge), or a portable tent with red light (InfraPod), and you are comfortable with manufacturer-stated EMF figures, no located VOC testing, two-year heater coverage and no independent temperature record.

Six questions to ask before you pay either brand

  1. Sun Home: which model does the VERT air sample cover, and can you send the model-level Vitatech report for the cabin I am buying? (The published documents are brand-level.)
  2. Sun Home: which wood will the Eclipse 2 ship in, hemlock or cedar, and is the Pod on sale today the same version Garage Gym Reviews tested? (The Pod review lists a 149°F maximum against the page's 165°F.)
  3. LIT: which laboratory produced the EMF figures on the BeautyBox and InfraPod pages, and which of the two BeautyBox ranges applies? Can you send the report?
  4. LIT: is the heater warranty one, two or five years on the model I am buying? (Three different figures appear on LIT's pages; the warranty page says two.)
  5. LIT: does the Forge ship in 3 to 5 days or on a 30-day pre-order, and does the cabin weigh 650 lb or 225 lb? (Both figures appear on the same page.)
  6. Both: what is the round-trip freight cost if I refuse or return the crate unopened? (Sun Home's help center says $1,500 to $1,800; LIT does not publish a figure.)

Two names that confuse searches

"LIT Eclipse" is not the Sun Home Eclipse. LIT Method's Forge product page still refers to its cabin as "Eclipse" in its FAQ ("Our Eclipse sauna heats up to 170°F," "Your Eclipse sauna uses a NEMA L6-20 locking plug") and in its specification block, and several of its image files carry the Eclipse name, which suggests an earlier product name. The Sun Home Eclipse is a different product from a different company: 165°F published, 120 V L5-30 (2-person) or 240 V L6-30 (4-person), dual red light towers, and a limited lifetime warranty.

LIT's own comparison guides describe an older Sun Home lineup. LIT publishes buyer's guides on its blog, verified by its co-founder, that compare LIT to Sun Home and state that Sun Home offers "no traditional models." That was accurate before July 2026; Sun Home now sells the Nova indoor traditional and the Solaris outdoor traditional. Readers of LIT's guides should treat that line as out of date.

What we could not verify

  • We did not purchase or test either brand's saunas. Temperature, EMF and material claims are labeled by source throughout; the three independent Sun Home readings come from one unit per model, and the lab documents are brand-level.
  • LIT's product pages self-conflict on several points we could not resolve from LIT's published material: BeautyBox EMF (two ranges on one page); heater warranty (one, two or five years depending on the tab); Forge weight (650 lb and 225 lb on the same page); Forge availability (ships in 3 to 5 days vs 30-day pre-order); InfraPod maximum (150°F vs 160°F); Titan adhesives ("no glues" vs "low VOC adhesives"); a 2-person Titan FAQ that references a 6 kW base heater and an 8 kW option that the 2-person variant selector does not offer; and a restocking fee stated as 25 percent on the current return policy and 20 percent on an older warranty page.
  • Sun Home offers the Eclipse in Canadian hemlock or Canadian red cedar, which is why different Sun Home pages name different woods; ask which wood your order will ship in. Garage Gym Reviews' Luminar 5 reading (about 160°F) sits below the 170°F published, and its Pod review lists a 149°F maximum against the current page's 165°F; whether the reviewed Pod and the current model are the same version is not stated by either source.
  • LIT's ETL and UL statements are brand-cited; we located no listing numbers. LIT's "Esquire's Best At-Home Sauna of 2026" wording is not supported by the text of the Esquire review it points to. Sun Home's Vitatech summary names no models and states it does not replace the full VTE-3534 report; its VERT report does not identify the cabin sampled.

Bottom line

On independent evidence, Sun Home has the only lab reports (Vitatech EMF, VERT air sample, ATS adhesive, all brand-level) and the only hands-on temperature readings in this comparison; one of those readings, the Luminar 5, sits below the published figure, and the Pod review lists a lower maximum than the current page. On manufacturer-published terms, Sun Home offers seven-year heater and cabinetry coverage, 90 days of labor on its flagship lines, published red light irradiance and a brand-owned app, while LIT offers five-year coverage on controls, lighting and doors, lower list prices in every matchup, and two configurations Sun Home does not sell. Buy LIT for the hybrid or the price; buy Sun Home for the documentation; and read the return terms before either, because neither brand takes an opened cabin back.

Sources and verification

Product, warranty and return pages were fetched on September 17 and 18, 2026. All prices are regular list prices as displayed on those dates.

  1. Sun Home Eclipse 2 product page; Eclipse 4 product page; Eclipse overview page (red light irradiance).
  2. Sun Home Equinox 2 product page (heaters, circuit, dimensions; fetched September 18); Pod product page.
  3. Sun Home Luminar 2 product page; Luminar 5 product page; Luminar red light tower add-on.
  4. Sun Home Nova 3 product page (fetched September 18); Solaris; Infrared Sauna Blanket.
  5. Sun Home warranty terms; Warranty and Returns FAQ (returns, cancellation fees, transferability; updated September 10, 2026); return policy overview (round-trip freight estimate); assembly and shipping information.
  6. Sun Home safety testing page (hosts all three reports); Vitatech RMS seating-distance summary, report VTE-3534 (PDF); ATS adhesive report no. 486424 (PDF); the VERT Environmental air quality report is linked from the safety testing page; Sun Home low-EMF explainer.
  7. LIT Method BeautyBox product page.
  8. LIT Method Forge product page.
  9. LIT Method Titan 2-Person product page; Titan 4-5 Person product page.
  10. LIT Method InfraPod product page.
  11. LIT Method Sauna Limited Warranty; LIT return and cancellation policy; LIT Method Our Story.
  12. LIT Method, "Best Indoor Saunas: A 2026 Buyer's Guide" (LIT's own comparison naming Sun Home).
  13. LIT Method investment announcement, April 27, 2021 (founders, Los Angeles base).
  14. Esquire, "This Infrared Sauna Is the Final Frontier of At-Home Wellness" (Madison Vain, August 5, 2026): the BeautyBox review LIT cites; reviewed in full for this article.
  15. Garage Gym Reviews: Sun Home Equinox review; Sun Home Saunas (Luminar 5) review; Sun Home Pod review; best outdoor sauna; best infrared sauna; best home sauna. All fetched or index-verified September 18, 2026.
  16. Fortune, Sun Home Luminar review (best overall home sauna, 4.5/5; cited for the award, not its warranty line).
  17. Rolling Stone, best infrared saunas.
  18. The Good Trade, Sun Home Luminar review (published in partnership with Sun Home; cited for ownership detail only).
  19. BBB profile, Sun Home Saunas; Inc. 5000 profile, Sun Home Saunas.

 

FAQs

Is the LIT Method BeautyBox a full-spectrum infrared sauna?

LIT markets the BeautyBox as full spectrum, but its own specification lists six carbon far-infrared heaters and no separate near or mid-infrared element. On homesauna.com, full spectrum means the cabin names a distinct near or mid-infrared emitter. By that standard the LIT Forge qualifies (four full-spectrum heaters plus six carbon panels), and the Sun Home Equinox, Eclipse and Luminar qualify (dedicated full-spectrum heaters alongside far-infrared panels), while the BeautyBox and Titan publish carbon far-infrared heaters only. Sun Home's Pod and Solstice are far-infrared cabins.

Does LIT Method publish EMF or VOC lab reports?

We did not locate a publicly accessible EMF or VOC laboratory report in the LIT Method sources reviewed as of September 18, 2026. LIT states EMF ranges on its product pages (0.1 to 0.5 mG and 0.3 to 0.7 mG appear on the same BeautyBox page; the InfraPod page says independently measured at 0.02 to 0.99 mG) without naming a laboratory, instrument or measurement method, and we found no cabin-air or material VOC test on its site. Sun Home publishes a Vitatech Electromagnetics EMF summary, a VERT Environmental cabin-air VOC report and an adhesive test report as PDFs on its safety testing page.

Which gets hotter, Sun Home or LIT Method saunas?

On published figures, Sun Home lists 165°F for the Equinox, Eclipse and Pod and 170°F for the Luminar; LIT lists 150°F for the BeautyBox and InfraPod (its InfraPod FAQ says 160°F), 170°F for the Forge, and 150°F infrared or up to 200°F stove heat for the Titan. Independent readings exist only for Sun Home: Garage Gym Reviews' Equinox tester reported 165°F, its Luminar 5 unit reached about 160°F after roughly ten minutes against a 170°F published figure, and its April 2026 Pod review lists a 149°F maximum against the 165°F on Sun Home's current Pod page, without stating whether the two are the same version. We located no independent instrumented test of any LIT sauna, and LIT's warranty states that advertised temperature and heat-up figures are estimates and not guaranteed.

Is the LIT Method Eclipse the same sauna as the Sun Home Eclipse?

No. The Sun Home Eclipse is Sun Home's indoor red light and full-spectrum infrared cabin. LIT Method's Forge product page still refers to its cabin as the Eclipse in several FAQ and specification passages, which appears to be an earlier product name. The two are different products from different companies with different specifications, warranties and prices.

Which brand has the longer sauna warranty?

It depends on the component. Sun Home covers cabinetry and heaters on the Eclipse, Pod and Luminar for up to seven years (its limited lifetime definition), controls for three years, and LED lighting, glass and audio for one year, with parts, labor and shipping covered during the first 90 days; the Equinox and Solstice carry seven, three and one years. LIT Method's controlling sauna warranty covers the structure, wood, factory electrical components, controls, lighting, benches and doors for five years and heaters and heating elements for two years, with one year for commercial installations and no labor or shipping coverage stated. Sun Home is longer on heaters and cabinetry; LIT is longer on controls, lighting and doors. Both warranties are non-transferable, and LIT's expressly excludes advertised temperature and heat-up figures. LIT's product pages variously state one, two or five years on heaters; its warranty page controls.

Does Sun Home make a hybrid infrared and traditional sauna?

No. Sun Home sells infrared cabins (Equinox, Solstice, Eclipse, Pod, Luminar) and traditional cabins (Nova indoor, Solaris outdoor) as separate products. LIT Method's Titan combines six carbon infrared panels and a Harvia electric stove in one cabin, but LIT's specification states the two modes are independent systems that cannot run at the same time.

Can you return a Sun Home or LIT Method sauna after trying it?

Not in practice. Both brands accept sauna returns within 30 days of delivery only if the unit is unused, unassembled and still in its original unopened packaging, and both charge a 25 percent restocking fee plus outbound and inbound freight; uncrated, assembled or used saunas are not returnable at either brand, and custom or made-to-order units are final sale. Sun Home's help center says round-trip freight typically runs $1,500 to $1,800. LIT's product pages show a 30-Day Guarantee badge, but its return policy carries the same unopened-packaging condition.