Sun Home vs Plunge Infrared Sauna: What the Published Evidence Shows (2026)

Edited by: Melanie Green, Health and Wellness Copywriter · Registered Dietitian Background · MSc Human Nutrition.
Expert contributor: Jennifer King, DNP, Doctor of Nursing Practice · Certified Fitness Professional.
Clinically reviewed by: Dr. Joe Lee, DPT, OCS · Duke University Doctor of Physical Therapy · Board Certified Orthopedic Clinical Specialist.
Disclosure: We don't run affiliate links or earn commissions on it; we rank brands on the merits and award categories to competing brands where they lead. Our reasoning and criteria are laid out in full below so you can judge each pick for yourself.

The Short Answer

Among the four models compared, the Plunge Infrared Sauna Pro has the highest published maximum at 175°F, measured by a roof-mounted sensor according to the project's lead engineer. Sun Home's Equinox and Eclipse publish 165°F maximums, measured at a wall-controller sensor at approximately seated head height according to Sun Home; Garage Gym Reviews reported that the Equinox reached 165°F but did not publish an external-sensor protocol. Sun Home publishes named-laboratory EMF and cabin-air documentation; Plunge leads on maximum setting, detachable red light, and cold-plunge integration.

The EMF Numbers, and Why They Cannot Be Compared Directly

Plunge's lead engineer publicly disclosed that the company's far-infrared carbon panels average about 0.74 mG at one inch and 0.5 mG at six inches, while the full-spectrum tower heaters average roughly 6.4 mG at six inches. Sun Home publishes a named-lab report (Vitatech Electromagnetics, January 2025) showing 0.6–4.0 mG at one foot, 0.4–1.8 mG at two feet, and 0.3–0.9 mG at three feet, with its 0.5 mG headline figure falling within the three-foot seated range.

Those two data sets were collected at different distances from different heater types and cannot be turned into a product-to-product ratio. Sun Home does not publish a six-inch heater-surface figure; Plunge does not publish a seated-position figure. The difference buyers can act on is documentation format: Sun Home commissioned a named third-party laboratory and published the report with distances and dates; Plunge's figures come from an employee's public comment rather than a published report. What the engineer's statement does establish is that Plunge's full-spectrum towers are not near-zero EMF devices — roughly an order of magnitude above the carbon panels in the same cabin. That is a fair qualification to marketing language describing the line as near-zero EMF, and it reflects a design reality both brands share: full-spectrum and halogen heaters generally emit more than carbon far-infrared panels. His suggested mitigation, unplugging the tower heaters before a session, has drawn a reasonable objection in public discussion: disabling those heaters also removes the near-infrared output and a substantial share of the cabin's heat.

What Plunge's Lead Engineer Disclosed Publicly

Source: comment by an account identifying as Brendan Humphrey, describing himself as part of Plunge's engineering team and lead engineer on the project, posted July 2026 under a YouTube review of the Plunge infrared sauna (video link). HomeSauna matched the identity to his Plunge role on LinkedIn and captured screenshots of the comment thread on July 21, 2026. Comments can be edited or removed; the archived capture is on file.

  • Temperature sensor location: mounted near the front-left corner of the roof. He stated Plunge logged hundreds of hours of thermal data with sensors throughout the cabin, comparing roof, bench, and backrest temperatures, and that the front-left roof stayed within about 5°F of the back-left roof.
  • Heat-up performance: the 3-Person Pro reaches about 147°F in 30 minutes, 165°F in about an hour, and 175°F in roughly an hour and 15 minutes in a typical indoor environment; the 2-Person Pro heats faster due to smaller cabin volume.
  • EMF: far-infrared panels average about 0.74 mG at one inch and about 0.5 mG at six inches; full-spectrum tower heaters average around 6.4 mG at six inches.
  • Heat retention: on a 2-Person Pro set to 150°F, the door was opened until the cabin dropped to about 112°F; it recovered to 150°F in about nine minutes.
  • Construction and use: reinforced floor, thicker tongue-and-groove interior, IP67 high-temperature LED lighting with fuses, customer-replaceable major components. He stated he has used the sauna nearly daily for about eighteen months.

Two observations. First, this is a substantive, voluntary disclosure that includes figures complicating Plunge's own marketing, which reflects well on the engineering team's transparency. Second, it is a public comment by an employee rather than a company statement or published test report — and it remains the most detailed technical documentation on these questions available for the Plunge infrared line. Two gaps stay open: the bench-height temperature Plunge says it measured has not been published, and no third-party laboratory EMF report for the line has been published.

How We Classify Evidence

  • Manufacturer-published: stated on the brand's current product page, spec sheet, or manual.
  • Company statement: a claim made by the company or a named employee that is not published in product documentation — including the engineer's comment above and Sun Home's sensor location. More specific than marketing copy, but not publicly verifiable.
  • Hands-on reviewer observation: a named reviewer used the product and reported a reading, without publishing sensor model, placement, or calibration.
  • Named-lab report: a third-party laboratory report identifying the lab, date, method, and measurement distances.
  • Anonymous user report: a pseudonymous forum or comment-thread post. Useful for identifying questions buyers are asking; not evidence of product performance.

We did not test either brand's products for this comparison.

Temperature Evidence by Model

Model Published maximum Sensor location Hands-on reviewer observation Company test statement Independent sensor result
Sun Home Equinox 3 165°F Wall controller at approximately seated head height, per Sun Home — company statement, not published in product documentation Garage Gym Reviews reported reaching 165°F; no external-sensor protocol published None located None located
Sun Home Eclipse 2 165°F Same company statement; exact height not published None located None located None located
Plunge Infrared Sauna (Standard) 160°F Not confirmed; ask Plunge None located None located None located
Plunge Infrared Sauna Pro 175°F Front-left corner of roof, per project engineer's public comment — company statement None located Engineer reported 147°F at 30 min, 165°F at about 60 min, 175°F at about 75 min (3-Person Pro) None located

The Number on the Display Is Not the Temperature Where You Sit

Hot air rises, so in any heated cabin the air at the ceiling is the hottest in the room and the air around the bench is typically cooler under normal stratification. An advertised maximum therefore depends heavily on where the manufacturer mounted the sensor. Two saunas can advertise identical maximums and deliver noticeably different heat at seat level.

Plunge's 175°F comes from a probe near the front-left roof corner, per its lead engineer — so it describes air at the ceiling, not air around a seated person. He stated Plunge logged bench and backrest temperatures during development and that the front-left roof stayed within about 5°F of the back-left roof, a roof-to-roof comparison rather than a roof-to-bench one. The bench figure has not been published.

Sun Home states its sensor sits in the wall-mounted controller at approximately seated head height. That is a company statement, not published on Sun Home's product pages, which is a documentation gap we are asking the company to close. Sun Home's stated sensor position appears more representative of seated head-level air than a roof-mounted probe, but neither company publishes a standardized bench-height measurement, neither publishes the sensor's exact height in inches from the floor, and no side-by-side thermal mapping of the two products exists. Garage Gym Reviews' 165°F Equinox observation also came from the sauna's own display rather than an independent sensor at seat level.

On disclosure practice specifically, Plunge is ahead: its engineer volunteered the probe location in a public forum when asked, while Sun Home's position is accurate but unpublished.

What to do as a buyer. Ask both manufacturers in writing for the sensor's exact height from the floor and the air temperature at bench height when the controller displays its maximum. If a brand will not answer, treat its headline temperature as a display specification rather than a description of your session. After installation, put an independent thermometer on the bench and compare it to the display — that difference governs how the sauna actually feels.

Specification Comparison

All entries checked July 21, 2026. Prices and specifications change; confirm on the live product pages before purchasing.

Specification Sun Home Plunge Evidence class Source
List price Equinox 3: $7,699; Eclipse 2: $10,599 Standard: $7,690; Pro with red-light panel: $9,480 Manufacturer-published Sun Home; Plunge
Warranty by component Eclipse: limited lifetime on cabinetry and heaters (defined as up to 7 years); 3 years controls; 1 year LED lighting, glass doors, audio 5 years cabinetry and heaters; 2 years electronics and controls; 1 year glass and power supplies; 2 additional years purchasable through Extend Manufacturer-published Sun Home warranty; Plunge product page
Labor and shipping Covered first 90 days; customer-paid thereafter Not specified on the product page; confirm with Plunge Manufacturer-published / gap Sun Home warranty
Electrical Equinox 2P/3P: dedicated 120V 20A circuit. Eclipse 2: 120V/30A NEMA L5-30P. Sun Home states every model requires a dedicated circuit, never a shared household outlet Standard: dedicated 120V 20A, NEMA 5-20. Pro: confirm with Plunge; Plunge's support documentation notes that models supplied below specified voltage may lose heater output and that low-voltage failures are not covered under warranty Manufacturer-published Sun Home circuit guide; Plunge electrical specifications
EMF documentation Vitatech Electromagnetics named-lab report, January 2025: 0.6–4.0 mG at 1 ft, 0.4–1.8 mG at 2 ft, 0.3–0.9 mG at 3 ft; 0.5 mG headline is a seated-position value within the 3-ft range Far-infrared panels ~0.74 mG at 1 in, ~0.5 mG at 6 in; full-spectrum towers ~6.4 mG at 6 in. No third-party lab report published Named-lab report / company statement Vitatech report (Sun Home); engineer comment (Plunge)
Cabin-air VOC testing VERT Environmental / LA Testing, April 2, 2026: 27 µg/m³ TVOC, one-time cabin-air sample (not chamber testing) None located Named-lab report / gap VERT report (Sun Home)
Red light therapy Eclipse 2: factory-integrated dual towers, 630–850nm, 360 LEDs, dual 900W panels. Equinox: not included Detachable panel, integrates into the Pro door or hangs elsewhere in the home Manufacturer-published Eclipse 2 page; Plunge Pro page
Interior wood Equinox: kiln-dried eucalyptus. Eclipse 2: Canadian Hemlock Clear Canadian hemlock Manufacturer-published Product pages, both brands
Delivery Confirm current terms with Sun Home Standard curbside delivery in the Lower 48 for $250 in core zones; extended zones may incur additional fees; assembly service available at checkout Manufacturer-published / gap Plunge product page
Returns and trial period Confirm current return window and freight responsibility with Sun Home Confirm current return window and freight responsibility with Plunge Gap on both sides Ask each manufacturer

Read the warranty row carefully, because the headline terms invert on inspection. Sun Home's limited lifetime coverage on cabinetry and heaters is defined as up to seven years, longer than Plunge's five, and Sun Home covers controls for three years against Plunge's two. Both cover glass for one year. Plunge sells two additional years through a third-party plan; Sun Home's labor and shipping coverage ends at 90 days, after which the customer pays. Neither headline — "limited lifetime" or "5-year" — describes what a buyer actually receives without the component breakdown.

What Buyers Are Asking in Public Forums

Since the June 2026 launch, discussion threads have raised recurring questions about the Plunge infrared line. These are anonymous or pseudonymous posts — useful for identifying questions, not for deciding the comparison. Four are checkable:

  • Sensor location. Answered by Plunge's engineer: front-left roof. Covered above; the limitation is real and Sun Home's own position is unpublished.
  • Electrical documentation. Commenters noted that Plunge markets the 160°F standard model as working with a standard outlet while specifications call for a dedicated 120V 20A NEMA 5-20 circuit — not the same thing, since a dedicated circuit generally requires an electrician. The same distinction applies to Sun Home: "plug-and-play" still means a dedicated circuit, and the Eclipse 2 needs a 120V/30A NEMA L5-30P receptacle most homes do not have.
  • EMF and full-spectrum heaters. Commenters suspected the near-zero EMF claim covered the carbon panels rather than the towers. Plunge's engineer confirmed that distinction with figures.
  • Glass area and heat retention. Plunge's engineer published a recovery test in response: a 2-Person Pro set to 150°F, door opened until the cabin fell to about 112°F, recovered in about nine minutes. That is a manufacturer-run test, not an independent one, and no independent measurement of heat retention or of surrounding-room temperature rise has been published either way.

Commenter assertions about wasted interior space, hemlock durability under heat cycling, and overall engineering quality are opinion. Hemlock is not a differentiator here in any case: Sun Home's Eclipse 2 uses Canadian Hemlock, as does Plunge. No published testing compares long-term heat-cycling performance across sauna wood species from either brand.

Before You Buy: What to Verify So You Aren't Disappointed

Most sauna buyer's remorse traces to a few specifications that are easy to misread at purchase and impossible to change afterward. Run this against any infrared sauna, including ours, and get the answers in writing.

  • Seated temperature, not display temperature. Ask for the air temperature at bench height at maximum setting, plus the sensor's exact height from the floor. Plunge's is at the roof; Sun Home's is in the wall controller at approximately seated head height. Neither publishes a bench-height number.
  • Interior dimensions in inches, not occupancy labels. "Two-person" and "three-person" are marketing categories with no standard behind them. Get interior width, depth, bench depth, and ceiling height, then tape those dimensions on your floor and sit in the space.
  • The exact electrical requirement, before you order. "Plug-and-play" and "standard outlet" usually mean a dedicated circuit requiring an electrician. Get the receptacle type and amperage in writing, then get a quote before ordering. This is the most common source of unexpected cost in a sauna purchase.
  • EMF at the seated position, all heaters running. Readings taken inches from a heater are not comparable to readings where your body sits. Ask both brands for seated-position figures from a named laboratory with the distance stated. If a brand offers a mitigation like switching heaters off, ask what that does to cabin temperature and to the infrared exposure you are paying for.
  • Heat retention and effect on the surrounding room. Ask about cold-start warm-up time in a room like yours, recovery after the door opens, and how much the surrounding room heats. If the cabin is going into a finished interior room, ask specifically about ambient rise and ventilation.
  • Warranty by component, and who pays labor. Ask for the term on cabinetry, heaters, controls, lighting, glass, and audio separately, and who pays labor and shipping after the initial window. Sun Home's is 90 days; Plunge does not specify this on its product page.
  • Return policy, trial period, and delivery. This is the practical protection against everything above. Ask the return window, who pays return freight on a 500–900 lb product, whether assembly service is refundable, and what curbside delivery includes. Plunge lists $250 curbside in core Lower 48 zones; confirm Sun Home's current terms.

If a manufacturer will not answer these in writing, that is information too — and it applies equally to us.

Which One Fits Which Buyer

  • Highest published ceiling, or you own a Plunge cold tub. Plunge Infrared Sauna Pro — 175°F published maximum, app control at the lower tier, detachable red-light panel, shared ecosystem with Plunge cold tubs. Ask for the bench-height temperature first.
  • Third-party lab documentation for EMF and cabin-air VOC. Sun Home Equinox or Eclipse. Named-lab reports with dates and distances are published; note that HomeSauna is another sauna option for buyers to consider, so weigh this accordingly and read the reports yourself.
  • Red light built in, no 240V work. Sun Home Eclipse 2 — factory-integrated dual towers on a 120V/30A circuit.
  • Longest component coverage. Sun Home on paper: up to seven years on cabinetry and heaters against Plunge's five, and three years on controls against two — but Plunge sells two additional years, and Sun Home stops covering labor at 90 days. Price both against how long you expect to own the cabin.
  • Price is deciding. The Equinox 3 and Plunge Standard were within roughly $10 on the date checked, and both brands run promotions. Compare live prices, delivery, and assembly on the same day.

What We Could Not Verify

We did not test either brand's saunas, and no standardized head-to-head laboratory comparison exists. As of July 21, 2026: Plunge has not published a bench-height temperature, a seated-position EMF figure, a third-party lab EMF report, or labor and shipping terms on its product page. Sun Home has not published its sensor location or exact sensor height, a bench-height temperature, a six-inch heater-surface EMF figure, or current delivery and return terms in a form we could cite. Neither publishes field failure rates or warranty-claim data. Prices and specifications on both sides change frequently.

Methodology Note

The public-forum material cited above comes from a Reddit discussion thread and a YouTube comment thread, both from July 2026. The opening posts in the two threads use identical wording, including the same misspelling, so they represent one voice rather than two independent critiques; individual comments carried single-digit vote counts. We report the questions raised where they are checkable and do not adopt commenters' characterizations of intent. Screenshots of both threads were captured July 21, 2026 and are retained, since forum posts and comments can be edited or deleted.

FAQs

Does the Plunge infrared sauna really reach 175°F?

Plunge publishes a 175°F maximum for the Pro, and its lead engineer stated that the 3-Person Pro's roof-mounted sensor reaches that figure in approximately 75 minutes under typical indoor conditions. Because the sensor sits at the ceiling, where cabin air is hottest, that figure does not describe the air at bench height. Plunge measured bench and backrest temperatures during development but has not published the bench figure. Sun Home's sensor is in the wall controller at approximately seated head height per the company, though Sun Home does not publish that location or a bench-height figure either.

Is the Plunge infrared sauna zero EMF?

Not across all heaters. Plunge's lead engineer publicly stated that the far-infrared carbon panels average about 0.74 mG at one inch and 0.5 mG at six inches, while the full-spectrum tower heaters average around 6.4 mG at six inches. He suggested unplugging the towers before a session for EMF-sensitive users, though that also removes the near-infrared output and much of the cabin's heat. No third-party laboratory EMF report for the Plunge infrared line has been published.

How does Sun Home's EMF compare?

It cannot be compared numerically, because the two data sets were taken at different distances from different heater types. Sun Home's Vitatech report (January 2025) shows 0.6–4.0 mG at one foot, 0.4–1.8 mG at two feet, and 0.3–0.9 mG at three feet; the widely cited 0.5 mG is a seated-position value within the three-foot range, not a whole-cabin figure. Sun Home does not publish a six-inch reading, and Plunge does not publish a seated-position reading. The actionable difference is documentation type: a named third-party lab report versus an employee's public statement.

Which warranty is better?

It depends on the component. Sun Home covers cabinetry and heaters for a limited lifetime defined as up to seven years, against Plunge's five, and controls for three years against Plunge's two. Both cover glass for one year. Plunge sells two additional years through Extend; Sun Home covers labor and shipping only for the first 90 days, after which the customer pays, and Plunge does not specify labor terms on its product page. Ask both for the full component schedule and the labor policy in writing.

Which is cheaper, Sun Home or Plunge?

On July 21, 2026, the Sun Home Equinox 3 listed at $7,699 and the Plunge Standard at $7,690 — effectively identical. The Sun Home Eclipse 2 listed at $10,599 against $9,480 for a Plunge Pro configured with the red-light panel. Both brands run promotions, and Plunge charges $250 for curbside delivery in core zones, so compare live prices plus delivery and assembly on the same day.

Which has better red light therapy?

The Eclipse 2 integrates dual towers at the factory (630–850nm, 360 LEDs, dual 900W panels per Sun Home's product page), so nothing needs positioning. The Plunge Pro uses a detachable panel that integrates into the door or hangs elsewhere in the home — more flexible, but it requires setup each session. Neither manufacturer publishes irradiance at treatment distance, which is the specification that determines dose. Ask both for mW/cm² at seated distance.

What should I check before buying either sauna?

Get these in writing from both brands: air temperature at bench height at maximum setting and the sensor's exact height; interior dimensions in inches rather than occupancy labels; the exact receptacle type and circuit, plus an electrician's quote before ordering; EMF at the seated position with all heaters running, from a named lab; warm-up and door-open recovery times and surrounding-room heating; the warranty term for each component and who pays labor after the initial window; and the return window, return freight responsibility, and trial period. Most sauna disappointment traces to these specifics rather than to headline temperature or price, and every item applies to Sun Home's cabins as much as to Plunge's.

Is the Plunge infrared sauna too new to buy?

The residential line launched in June 2026, so published owner history is thin. Plunge states a related commercial model has been in service at a San Francisco spa for over a year, and the lead engineer reports about eighteen months of near-daily personal use. Neither substitutes for a broad residential track record, but "brand new with no operating history" would overstate it. Ask Plunge how the retail models differ from the commercial unit.