Buyer's guide · Capacity: 3 people · Updated
Seven exact models, one per category, with the dimensions, bench figures, electrical requirements, temperatures, warranties, and prices we could verify on manufacturer pages. Where a spec is not published, the table says so instead of guessing.
The short answer
The Sun Home Equinox 3 is our best overall 3-person home sauna: a purpose-built three-seat, full-spectrum infrared cabin that runs on a dedicated 120V/20A circuit, listed at $7,699 ($6,999 during a sale that ends August 31, 2026) with a manufacturer-rated 155°F maximum, verified August 28, 2026. Three adults who plan to sit together regularly should compare its 62.3-inch exterior width, and the fact that its bench length is not published, against a four-person cabin before buying. The traditional, outdoor-value, heritage, testing, and budget lanes go to other brands below.
The seven awarded picks, in one line each: best overall, the Sun Home Equinox 3 above; outdoor infrared, the Sun Home Luminar 5 (a five-person cabin that seats three with room); established infrared brand, the Health Mate Enrich 3; annual third-party testing, the Good Health Saunas GHS-3X Hybrid; traditional barrel, the Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4-Person; outdoor traditional value, the Redwood Outdoors Cove 3 Person; budget, the Dynamic Lugano DYN-6336-02. One additional red-light option, the Sun Home Eclipse 4, is discussed below but is not among the seven awards.
Best 3-person home saunas at a glance
| Category | Exact model | True seating | Price (verified Aug 28, 2026) | Why it wins |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall (true 3-person) | Sun Home Equinox 3 | 3-person cabin; bench length not published | $7,699 regular; $6,999 in a sale ending Aug 31 | Full-spectrum heat, published under-0.5 mG EMF spec, brand-level third-party EMF and VOC reports, dedicated 120V/20A plug-in install, free shipping |
| Best outdoor infrared (seats 3 with room) | Sun Home Luminar 5 | 5-person cabin; published L-bench 59 in + 44 in | $14,499 regular; $13,899 in a sale ending Aug 31 | Aluminum exterior rated for year-round outdoor placement; Garage Gym Reviews' Best Outdoor Infrared Sauna (April 2026 re-evaluation) |
| Best established infrared brand (true 3-person) | Health Mate Enrich 3 | 3-person cabin; bench length not published | $5,900, free curbside delivery | Founded 1979; lifetime warranty on the heater core; 120V NEMA 5-20P plug-in |
| Best annual third-party testing program (true 3-person) | Good Health Saunas Hybrid Series 3-Person (GHS-3X) | 3-person; GHS says "ample space for 2, fits 3 comfortably" | Not published (quote only) | Annual EMF retesting (Vitatech-certified under 1.0 mG per GHS) plus published TVOC, emissivity, and FSC wood reports; 75 to 165°F control range; lifetime warranty on heaters and all electrical components |
| Best traditional barrel (seats 3) | Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4-Person Barrel | 4-person barrel; two published 63.25 in benches | $7,575 regular; $5,302.50 in Almost Heaven's 30% August sale | Made in the USA; Harvia 6 kW heater and stones included; limited lifetime on manufacturing defects; the only pick with fully published bench dimensions |
| Best outdoor traditional value (true 3-person) | Redwood Outdoors Cove Outdoor Sauna, 3 Person | 3-person cube; bench length not published | $6,699 (availability conflict at check, see pick) | Lowest price we verified for a true three-seat outdoor traditional sauna with a Harvia heater included |
| Best budget (true 3-person) | Dynamic Saunas Lugano DYN-6336-02 | 3-person; one owner review calls it "tight for 3" | $2,899 | Lowest verified price for a three-seat cabin; 120V/20A; 9 carbon far-infrared panels |
Prices exclude electrical work and, unless stated, shipping. "True seating" reports what the manufacturer publishes; where bench length is not published we say so rather than estimate it from cabin dimensions.
Will it fit? Specifications compared
Capacity ratings alone do not answer the question most buyers have. These two tables carry the fit and installation figures each manufacturer publishes, then heat, warranty, and price. A cell reading "not published" means the figure was not on the product page at our check; ask the brand for it in writing before you buy.
| Model | Exterior (W × D × H) | Interior or bench | Door opening | Weight | Electrical | Assembly | Placement |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Equinox 3 | 62.3 × 45.9 × 77.7 in | Bench height 19.5 in; bench length not published | 28 in | 620 lb | Dedicated 120V/20A circuit, NEMA 5-20 plug | Panelized cabin kit; owner reviews describe DIY assembly | Indoor |
| Sun Home Luminar 5 | 82.25 × 51.75 × 84 in | Interior 78 × 47 × 72 in; L-shaped bench 59 × 20 in plus 44 × 20 in return (spec sheet) | 24 in | 1,270 lb | Dedicated 240V/30A circuit, NEMA L6-30 (electrician) | Panelized outdoor kit; needs a level pad rated for the weight | Outdoor, year-round |
| Health Mate Enrich 3 | 59 × 43.5 × 77 in | Interior 56.75 × 39.75 × 71.5 in; bench length not published | Not published | Not published | 120V, 2,205 W, 20A, NEMA 5-20P plug | Tool-free buckle assembly | Indoor |
| Good Health GHS-3X Hybrid | 60 × 48 × 75 in on the model page; GHS's 3-person category page lists 49 in deep | Interior depth 47 in (category page); bench length not published | Not published | Not published | 120V/20A, NEMA 5-20R; GHS says the dedicated outlet must be installed by a professional | Kit; GHS says most users finish setup in under an hour | Indoor only (GHS prohibits outdoor use) |
| Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4-Person | 78 × 71 × 81.5 in assembled | Interior 75.25 × 63.25 × 69.25 in; two benches 16 in W × 63.25 in L × 17 in H | Not published | Not published | Heater 240V/30A hardwired; lighting 120V/15A plug-in | DIY barrel kit; ships in 6 to 8 weeks; nationwide pro install from $1,400 | Indoor or outdoor (Almost Heaven advises a stain outdoors) |
| Redwood Cove 3 Person | Roof 83.5 L × 66.25 W × 82.5 H in; base 81.875 × 64.5 in | Not published ("long, elevated bench") | Tempered glass door; width not published | 1,000 lb | 240V heater, hardwired by a licensed electrician (included 6 kW KIP draws 30A); 120V lighting | Pre-cut interlocking kit; solid level foundation required | Outdoor |
| Dynamic Lugano DYN-6336-02 | 60 × 45 × 75 in (roof overhang adds 4.3 in of depth) | Interior 57 × 41 × 69 in; bench length not published | Not published | 350 lb | 120V/20A service (brand says consult an electrician) | Clasp-together; ships in three boxes | Indoor |
| Model | Heat type | Maximum temperature | Warranty | Price (verified Aug 28, 2026) | Shipping |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Equinox 3 | Full-spectrum infrared: 5 far-infrared plus 2 full-spectrum heaters | 155°F (manufacturer spec) | 7 years cabinetry and heaters, 3 years controls | $7,699 regular; $6,999 in a sale ending Aug 31 | Free US shipping |
| Sun Home Luminar 5 | Full-spectrum infrared: 5 far-infrared plus 10 full-spectrum heaters | 170°F published; Garage Gym Reviews' hands-on recorded about 160°F | Limited lifetime (component periods on Sun Home's warranty page) | $14,499 regular; $13,899 in a sale ending Aug 31 | Free US shipping |
| Health Mate Enrich 3 | Tecoloy mid- and far-infrared heaters, far-infrared floor heaters, 96-diode near-infrared LED ceiling panel | Not published (FAQ suggests 120 to 140°F sessions) | Limited Lifetime: heater core for life, cabin, paneling, and controls 10 years (residential) | $5,900 | Free curbside delivery |
| Good Health GHS-3X Hybrid | HybridHeat+ carbon, graphene, and alloy elements (marketed as full-spectrum) | 75 to 165°F digital control range (GHS category page); a thermostat ceiling, not a measured maximum | Lifetime on heaters and all electrical components | Not published (quote) | Not published |
| Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4-Person | Traditional electric: Harvia KIP 6 kW with stones (smart-heater options) | 150 to 195°F (Almost Heaven's electric-heater range, not model-specific) | Limited lifetime on manufacturing defects; Harvia 1 year elements, 5 years other components | $7,575 regular; $5,302.50 in a 30% August sale | Calculated at checkout |
| Redwood Cove 3 Person | Traditional electric: Harvia KIP 6 kW included; 8 to 9 kW upgrades | Not published | 1-year limited (sauna); Harvia 1 year elements, 5 years components | $6,699 | Calculated at checkout |
| Dynamic Lugano DYN-6336-02 | Far-infrared: 9 carbon panels | Not published on the brand page (dealers list about 140°F) | Not stated on the brand product page | $2,899 | Not stated |
If lying down matters more than seating three, read our guide to the best saunas you can lie down in, which ranks only on published or tape-measured bench figures.
2-person vs 3-person: which do you need?
A 2-person sauna is the right call if it is mainly for one or two users, floor space is tight, and you want the lowest price and simplest install. A 3-person sauna makes sense for a couple plus an occasional guest, for room to recline, or for a small family taking turns.
Two facts help you size correctly. First, capacity ratings run generous across the industry: a 3-person cabin seats two adults comfortably and a third snugly, and most makers do not publish bench length. Second, the step up often changes less than you expect. On Sun Home's Equinox line, the 2-person and 3-person cabins share the same dedicated 120V/20A NEMA 5-20 requirement, the same 28-inch door, and the same 19.5-inch bench height; the 3-person is 62.3 inches wide against 50.9 inches and weighs 620 pounds against 541. If a 2-person is enough, our best 2-person saunas for small spaces guide covers that lane.
How we ranked these saunas
We weighted seven criteria, with the most weight on claims a buyer can verify: usable seating and fit (published bench figures beat ratings), safety and testing documentation (named labs, methods, and dates), heat performance appropriate to the format, build and materials as stated on the product page, warranty and service as written, independent evidence (hands-on coverage with measurements), and value for a three-person use case. Every pick is an exact, purchasable model with a manufacturer product page; brand-level picks were removed in this update.
| Criterion | Weight | What counts as evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Usable seating and fit | 20% | Published bench length and depth, interior dimensions, door opening, weight |
| Safety and testing documentation | 20% | Named laboratory, method, date, numeric result, and which model it covers |
| Heat performance | 15% | Published maximum, heater type and count, independent temperature measurements where they exist |
| Build and materials | 15% | Wood species and certification, exterior rating, construction as stated on the product page |
| Warranty and service | 10% | Component coverage periods as written on the warranty page, shipping and installation terms |
| Independent evidence | 10% | Hands-on reviews with measurements from named publications |
| Value | 10% | Listed price against the published record for a three-person use case |
We publish the weights but not per-model numeric scores. Without instrumented testing, a decimal score would imply a precision the record does not support. The table below states what settled each category instead.
Three rules shape the awards. First, a specification is printed only if it appears on the manufacturer's page or in a named independent review; otherwise the cell reads "not published." Second, where a brand's own pages disagree with each other (heater counts, wood species, warranty terms), we disclose the conflict rather than pick a side. Third, because of the commercial relationship disclosed above, Sun Home models are eligible for at most two category awards in any homesauna.com guide. That limit is a conflict-of-interest control, not a merit judgment, and the deciding-factors table shows that it changed no outcome here: every non-Sun Home award was decided on the product record, and the one Sun Home cabin without an award, the Eclipse 4, also has no qualifying competitor to be compared against.
What decided each category
| Category | Winner | Strongest alternative on the record | What decided it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall (true 3-person) | Sun Home Equinox 3 | Health Mate Enrich 3 | Both are three-seat 120V/20A cabins. The Equinox 3 publishes a maximum temperature, an EMF specification, and dated lab documentation, runs two dedicated full-spectrum heaters, and ships free to the door. The Enrich 3 is $1,799 cheaper with a lifetime heater-core warranty but publishes no maximum temperature, weight, or door width and lists conflicting heater counts. Documentation and published specifications decided it. |
| Best outdoor infrared (seats 3 with room) | Sun Home Luminar 5 | None in the format; the Redwood Cove 3 Person (traditional) is the nearest outdoor alternative | The only outdoor infrared cabin in our verified set, with a published bench that seats three, an all-season exterior rating, and the most independent coverage in the guide (Garage Gym Reviews award, The Good Trade, Fortune). |
| Best established infrared brand (true 3-person) | Health Mate Enrich 3 | Sun Home Equinox 3 | Health Mate was founded in 1979; Sun Home in 2021. A lane Sun Home cannot win on the record. |
| Best annual third-party testing program (true 3-person) | Good Health GHS-3X Hybrid | Sun Home Equinox 3 | GHS states an annual EMF retesting cadence and publishes EMF, TVOC, emissivity, and FSC reports. Sun Home publishes dated reports (EMF January 2025, VOC April 2026, adhesive June 2026) but states no retesting cadence. Cadence decided it; Sun Home's numeric 27 µg/m³ TVOC result remains the more specific single figure. |
| Best traditional barrel (seats 3) | Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4-Person | Almost Heaven Morgan 4-Person (Garage Gym Reviews' Best Outdoor Barrel Sauna) | Sun Home makes no barrel. The Pinnacle publishes complete bench dimensions and a current listing we could verify; the Morgan has hands-on coverage. Published fit data decided it. |
| Best outdoor traditional value (true 3-person) | Redwood Cove 3 Person | Redwood Cabin 4-Person ($7,299; Garage Gym Reviews' Best Outdoor Sauna Overall) | Sun Home's outdoor traditional line starts at the four-person Solaris 4, a custom build, so it did not compete for a three-seat value award. The Cove is the exact three-seat entity at $6,699 with a Harvia heater included; the Cabin is $600 more, four-person, and has hands-on evidence. Price for a true three-seat decided it, with the Cove's stock conflict disclosed. |
| Best budget (true 3-person) | Dynamic Lugano DYN-6336-02 | Health Mate Enrich 3 ($5,900) | $2,899 against $5,900; the lowest-priced Sun Home three-seat cabin, the Solstice 3, lists at $6,999. Price decided it. |
| Red light therapy for three (no award) | Sun Home Eclipse 4 (not awarded) | No qualifying competitor in our verified set | The only cabin we verified that seats three with dedicated red light towers standard. A category with a single qualifying entrant is not a comparison, so no award is made; the two-award limit would also apply. Its full record appears below. |
What we did not do: homesauna.com has not conducted instrumented testing of these seven cabins. Hands-on observations are attributed to the publication that made them, and we label manufacturer figures as such.
Best overall · True 3-person · Indoor full-spectrum infrared
Sun Home Equinox 3
- Price (verified Aug 28, 2026)
- $7,699 regular; $6,999 during Sun Home's Back to School sale, which ends August 31, 2026
- Capacity
- 3 person (purpose-built); bench height 19.5 in; bench length not published
- Heat
- 5 far-infrared plus 2 full-spectrum heaters; 155°F manufacturer maximum
- EMF
- Under 0.5 mG (manufacturer specification)
- Electrical
- Dedicated 120V/20A circuit, NEMA 5-20 plug
- Size and weight
- 62.3 × 45.9 × 77.7 in; 28 in door; 620 lb
- Wood
- Eucalyptus (kiln-dried hardwood)
- Warranty
- 7 years cabinetry and heaters, 3 years controls; free US shipping
The Equinox 3 is the rare pick here that is a purpose-built three-seat cabin rather than a larger model seating three. It runs near, mid, and far infrared from two dedicated full-spectrum heaters alongside five far-infrared panels, lists a 155°F manufacturer maximum, and installs on a dedicated 120V/20A circuit with a NEMA 5-20 plug, so a compatible outlet is the only electrical work most buyers need. Audio is Blaupunkt Bluetooth; there is no app and no red light on this model.
What sets it apart is the documentation behind the safety claims, and it is worth being precise about what that documentation covers. Sun Home publishes three third-party reports on its safety testing page: a Vitatech Electromagnetics EMF summary (report VTE-3534, January 2025) showing 0.6 to 4.0 mG at one foot, 0.4 to 1.8 mG at two feet, and 0.3 to 0.9 mG at three feet with the heating element under load across 120V and 230V configurations; a VERT Environmental cabin-air VOC test (one sample, April 2, 2026, EPA Method TO-15, analyzed by AIHA-accredited LA Testing) returning 27 µg/m³ TVOC, classified "Low"; and an Applied Technical Services adhesive analysis (June 18, 2026) finding no formaldehyde or BTEX above reporting limits. The Vitatech summary describes Sun Home's heating technology and does not name a tested model, and the VOC page describes "the tested unit" without a model name. We therefore treat these as brand-level documentation of Sun Home's heaters and construction, not as Equinox 3-specific measurements; the under-0.5 mG figure on the Equinox 3 page is a manufacturer specification. Ask Sun Home which model and configuration each report covers if that distinction matters to you. Even with that scoping, a named lab, a stated method, a numeric result, and a date is more than most brands in this guide publish.
On heat: Garage Gym Reviews' hands-on Equinox review reported reaching about 165°F, but Sun Home's current published maximum is 155°F, and we use the manufacturer's figure here. That is the lowest published maximum among the infrared cabins in this guide that publish one: Health Mate publishes none, and Good Health publishes a 75 to 165°F control range for the GHS-3X, which is a thermostat ceiling rather than a measured result.
Best for
Couples and small families who want a true three-seat full-spectrum cabin with published safety documentation, a listed price, free shipping, and a plug-in install.
Where it falls short
Indoor only, no app, no red light, a 155°F manufacturer maximum, and a 7-year warranty that is shorter than the limited lifetime terms on Sun Home's Eclipse and Luminar lines. Bench length is not published, so three adults who want elbow room should compare a four-person cabin.
Consider instead
The far-infrared Sun Home Solstice 3 ($6,999 regular, $6,299 in a sale ending August 31; 10 far-infrared heaters; 140°F; same 62.3-inch footprint and NEMA 5-20 circuit; 622 lb) if you want the same cabin at a lower price without the full-spectrum heaters; the Health Mate Enrich 3 below for a lower listed price from a 1979-founded brand; or the Eclipse 4 (discussed below) if built-in red light matters more than a three-seat footprint. For the full-spectrum category across all sizes, see our best full-spectrum infrared saunas guide.
Best outdoor infrared · 5-person cabin, seats 3 with room · Outdoor
Sun Home Luminar 5
- Price (verified Aug 28, 2026)
- $14,499 regular; $13,899 during a sale that ends August 31, 2026
- Capacity
- 5 person; published L-shaped bench 59 × 20 in plus 44 × 20 in return; interior 78 × 47 × 72 in
- Heat
- 5 far-infrared plus 10 full-spectrum heaters; 170°F published maximum
- EMF
- Under 0.5 mG (manufacturer specification)
- Electrical
- Dedicated 240V/30A circuit, NEMA L6-30; electrician required
- Size and weight
- 82.25 × 51.75 × 84 in; 24 in door; 1,270 lb
- Build
- Canadian red cedar interior; aerospace-grade aluminum exterior (design patent D1,079,961)
- Warranty and extras
- Limited lifetime; native app (remote preheat, scheduling, guided breathwork); red light therapy add-on $1,699; free US shipping
Sun Home does not make a 3-person Luminar, so for outdoor infrared heat that comfortably holds three, the five-person Luminar 5 is the pick, and the published bench is why we are comfortable saying it seats three with room: a 59-inch primary bench plus a 44-inch return in an L configuration, 20 inches deep, from Sun Home's spec sheet. The exterior is matte black aerospace-grade aluminum over a Canadian red cedar interior, rated for year-round outdoor placement with no cover, and it runs 15 heaters (5 far-infrared, 10 full-spectrum) on a dedicated 240V/30A NEMA L6-30 circuit. Red light is an optional $1,699 add-on rather than standard.
Independent coverage is the strongest of any pick here. In its April 2026 re-evaluation of outdoor saunas, Garage Gym Reviews named the Luminar 5 its Best Outdoor Infrared Sauna. The Good Trade published a hands-on Luminar review (Emily Wagner, May 14, 2026), and Fortune's Luminar review named the five-person model its best overall home sauna at 4.5 out of 5. One measurement caveat: Garage Gym Reviews' dedicated Sun Home review recorded about 160°F after roughly 10 minutes on the five-person Luminar and said it fell short of the published 170°F, so we report 170°F as Sun Home's published figure, not as an independently verified one.
Best for
Buyers who want infrared heat outdoors in any climate, room for three (or five), app control, and the most independent review coverage in this guide, and who have a pad and a 30A circuit to give it.
Where it falls short
It is the most expensive and most install-intensive pick: a 240V/30A circuit, an electrician, and a level foundation rated for 1,270 pounds. It is an 82-inch-wide five-person footprint for a three-person question, red light costs extra, and the one independent temperature measurement we found landed about 10°F under the published maximum.
Consider instead
The Sun Home Luminar 2 (57 inches wide, dedicated 240V/20A NEMA L6-20) if two seats are enough; the Redwood Outdoors Cove 3 Person below for a true three-seat outdoor traditional sauna at roughly half the price. For winter placement specifically, our best outdoor saunas for cold climates guide compares insulation and exterior materials in more depth.
Best established infrared brand · True 3-person · Indoor
Health Mate Enrich 3
- Price (verified Aug 28, 2026)
- $5,900 with free curbside delivery
- Capacity
- 3 person; interior 56.75 × 39.75 × 71.5 in; bench length not published
- Heat
- Tecoloy dual-wave mid- and far-infrared wall and bench heaters, far-infrared floor and lower-back heaters, 96-diode near-infrared LED ceiling panel; maximum temperature not published
- Electrical
- 120V, 2,205 W, 20A, NEMA 5-20P plug
- Size
- 59 × 43.5 × 77 in; weight and door width not published
- Wood
- Indonesian mahogany (current builds; legacy models were eucalyptus)
- Warranty
- Limited Lifetime: heater core, harness, and wiring for life; cabin, paneling, controls, and lighting 10 years (residential)
- Certifications
- ETL (Intertek), CE, S Mark, KC, PSE per Health Mate
Health Mate makes a true three-seat cabin and brings the longest documented history in this guide: founded in 1979 and operating as a subsidiary of the Samick Group. The Enrich 3 pairs its patented Tecoloy mid- and far-infrared heaters with far-infrared floor heaters and a 96-diode near-infrared LED ceiling panel that also runs nine chromotherapy colors, in a solid Indonesian mahogany cabin with tool-free buckle assembly and built-in Bluetooth audio. It plugs into a dedicated 120V/20A NEMA 5-20P outlet, ships free to the curb, and lists at $5,900, $1,799 under the Equinox 3's regular price.
Two disclosures from Health Mate's own pages. The product page states both "10 low-EMF heaters" and "all 8 heaters" in different sections; we could not resolve the count. And the warranty page describes the Limited Lifetime Warranty as applying to "full-size saunas purchased in 2025" while listing the component table above, so confirm 2026 coverage in writing before ordering. The near-infrared panel is an LED array with red among its color options; it is not the dedicated dual-tower red light system found on the Sun Home Eclipse.
Best for
Buyers who want a purpose-built three-seat infrared cabin from the longest-running brand here, a lifetime heater warranty, and a lower listed price than the premium full-spectrum cabins.
Where it falls short
No published maximum temperature, weight, or door width; the heater-count and warranty-year conflicts above; a third-party EMF report is linked on the product page but no figure is printed there; and we did not locate a cabin-air VOC report on the product, About, or warranty pages at our check. Curbside delivery means moving a crated sauna yourself or paying for help.
Consider instead
The Equinox 3 for a published maximum temperature, published EMF and VOC documentation, and free to-the-door shipping; the Good Health GHS-3X below if annual third-party retesting matters more than a listed price.
Best annual third-party testing program · True 3-person · Indoor
Good Health Saunas Hybrid Series 3-Person (GHS-3X)
- Price (verified Aug 28, 2026)
- Not published; pricing by quote through GHS ("Get Pricing")
- Capacity
- 3 person; GHS: "ample space for 2 people and enough space to fit 3 comfortably"; bench length not published
- Heat
- HybridHeat+ carbon, graphene, and alloy elements; 75 to 165°F digital control temperature range (GHS category page); measured maximum not published
- Electrical
- 120V/20A, NEMA 5-20R; GHS says the dedicated outlet must be installed by a professional
- Size
- 60 × 48 × 75 in on the model page (category page: 49 in deep); interior depth 47 in; weight and door width not published
- Wood
- FSC-certified Canadian hemlock or red cedar
- Warranty
- Lifetime on heaters and all electrical components
- Testing
- Low EMF certified by Vitatech Electromagnetics at under 1.0 mG and "VOC-Free" air quality verified by IAQ Diagnostics, both as stated by GHS; annual EMF retesting; 2026 EMF report, TVOC report, emissivity report, and FSC certification published on its certifications pages
Good Health Saunas is the competitor that leans hardest into published testing. The new-for-2026 Hybrid Series 3-Person states that every Hybrid cabin goes through third-party EMF testing each year, and the model page links a 2026 EMF report, a TVOC air-quality report, an emissivity report, and FSC wood certification. GHS's 3-person category page adds the figures the model page leaves out: a 75 to 165°F digital control temperature range, low EMF certified by Vitatech Electromagnetics at under 1.0 mG, "VOC-Free" air quality verified by IAQ Diagnostics, a 47-inch interior depth, and about 5,174 square inches of heater surface, all as GHS statements. The cabin runs a mix of carbon, graphene, and alloy heating elements with an internal air ionizer, chromotherapy, Bluetooth audio, and tempered glass, on a 120V/20A NEMA 5-20R circuit, and its warranty is lifetime on heaters and all electrical components, the broadest electrical coverage in this guide.
Three limits to note. GHS markets HybridHeat+ as full-spectrum, but the element descriptions on the model page list far and mid infrared from the carbon, graphene, and alloy elements and do not identify a separate near-infrared emitter, so we describe it as "marketed as full-spectrum." The 165°F figure is the top of the thermostat's control range, not a measured cabin temperature. And GHS does not publish a price; its 3-person category page gives a generic $5,000 to $10,000 market range and directs buyers to request a quote. GHS's two pages also disagree on depth (48 inches on the model page, 49 on the category page). If a corner placement suits your room, GHS's Hybrid corner model (GHS-3CX, 59 by 59 by 75 inches, same 75 to 165°F control range) is the same series in a corner footprint.
Best for
Buyers who want a competitor with an annual, published third-party testing cadence, FSC-certified cedar or hemlock, and lifetime electrical coverage, and who are comfortable getting a quote rather than reading a price.
Where it falls short
No listed price, no measured maximum temperature (165°F is a control-range ceiling), no published weight or door width, indoor-only use, no app, and a professional outlet install that GHS itself calls out. GHS sells through Wisconsin and Minnesota showrooms and traveling events, which suits some buyers and not others.
Consider instead
The Equinox 3 for a listed price, a published maximum temperature, and free shipping; the Enrich 3 for a listed $5,900 price with lifetime heater coverage.
Best traditional barrel · 4-person, seats 3 with room · Indoor or outdoor
Almost Heaven Pinnacle 4-Person Barrel Sauna
- Price (verified Aug 28, 2026)
- $7,575 regular; $5,302.50 during Almost Heaven's 30% August sale; shipping calculated at checkout; ships in 6 to 8 weeks
- Capacity
- Up to 4; two benches 16 in W × 63.25 in L × 17 in H; interior 75.25 × 63.25 × 69.25 in
- Heat
- Harvia KIP 6 kW electric heater with stones (smart heater and Fenix Wi-Fi options); 150 to 195°F is Almost Heaven's general electric-heater range
- Electrical
- Heater 240V/30A hardwired; lighting 120V/15A plug-in
- Size
- 78 × 71 × 81.5 in assembled (6 × 6 ft barrel); 1.375 in ball-and-socket lumber
- Wood
- Rustic red cedar (order this configuration; see note on the Onyx option)
- Warranty
- Limited lifetime on manufacturing defects; Harvia 1 year on elements, 5 years on other components
- Origin and extras
- Country of origin USA; nationwide professional installation from $1,400; HSA/FSA eligible through Truemed
For a traditional, steam-capable sweat that seats three comfortably, the six-by-six-foot Pinnacle is the exact model we recommend, and it is the only pick in this guide with fully published bench dimensions: two opposite-facing benches, each 63.25 inches long and 16 inches deep, inside a 75.25 by 63.25-inch room. A Harvia 6 kW KIP heater and stones are included, the lumber is 1.375-inch ball-and-socket rustic red cedar, and the sauna is built in the USA with a limited lifetime warranty on manufacturing defects. Pour water on the stones for löyly; this is the traditional experience the infrared cabins here do not offer.
One configuration note: Almost Heaven lists the Pinnacle in Rustic Red Cedar and Onyx finishes. We recommend ordering the Rustic Red Cedar configuration, because at least one dealer describes the Onyx version as a different species; confirm the lumber in writing if you choose Onyx. Garage Gym Reviews' outdoor roundup names a different Almost Heaven barrel, the Morgan 4-Person, its Best Outdoor Barrel Sauna; we chose the Pinnacle for its complete published fit figures and current listing, and the Morgan is the alternative if hands-on review coverage matters more to you.
Best for
Buyers who want high heat and steam for three (or four), domestic craftsmanship, published bench measurements, and the option of professional installation.
Where it falls short
A 240V/30A hardwired heater means an electrician; the $5,302.50 figure is an August sale price and the regular price is $7,575; lead time is 6 to 8 weeks; Almost Heaven advises staining the exterior for outdoor use; and 16-inch bench depth is fine for sitting but narrow for reclining. There is no exact "3-person" Almost Heaven barrel, so you are buying a four-person.
Consider instead
The Redwood Outdoors Cove 3 Person below for a true three-seat cube with a large window; any infrared pick above for lower temperatures and a plug-in install. For indoor traditional heat, Sun Home's Nova 3 (HUUM DROP 6 kW, 230°F, Canadian cedar, dedicated 30A hardwired) is a three-seat indoor option; it is a Sun Home product and is named here as an alternative, not an award. Cedar buyers can also read our best cedar saunas guide.
Best outdoor traditional value · True 3-person · Outdoor
Redwood Outdoors Cove Outdoor Sauna, 3 Person
- Price (verified Aug 28, 2026)
- $6,699; shipping calculated at checkout (Labor Day discounts apply to orders of $7,000 and up)
- Capacity
- 3 people "depending on the seating arrangement" per Redwood; bench length not published
- Heat
- Harvia KIP 6 kW included; upgrades to Harvia 8 kW, Harvia Virta, or Homecraft 9 kW; maximum temperature not published
- Electrical
- 240V heater hardwired by a licensed electrician (6 kW KIP draws 30A); 120V lighting
- Size and weight
- Roof 83.5 L × 66.25 W × 82.5 H in; base 81.875 × 64.5 in; 1,000 lb
- Wood
- FSC-certified Canadian Thermowood (heat-treated hemlock)
- Warranty
- 1-year limited on the sauna; Harvia 1 year on elements, 5 years on other components
- Included
- Sauna rocks, bulkhead light, tempered glass door, asphalt roll roofing (metal roof kit upgrade), sauna hat
The Cove is the exact three-seat outdoor traditional sauna this category asked for. It is a cube of heat-treated Canadian hemlock with a large side window, a gravity venting system, and a long elevated bench, sold with a 6 kW Harvia KIP heater, stones, and roofing included at $6,699. Redwood's thermal modification (kiln-drying, heating above 400°F, controlled steaming) is what the brand markets for rot, warping, and insect resistance, and the kit assembles from pre-cut interlocking panels. At this price it undercuts Redwood's own 4-person Cabin by $600 and every other outdoor traditional option we verified for three seats.
Availability disclosure: at our August 28 check the product page displayed "Currently Out of Stock" on every heater package while also showing a September 14 estimated ship date and an active order button. Confirm availability with Redwood before ordering. Redwood publishes no maximum temperature; one owner review on the page reports about 185°F in 20 to 25 minutes with the upgraded 8 kW Spirit heater, which is an owner's report, not a manufacturer specification.
Best for
Buyers who want a true three-seat outdoor traditional sauna with a Harvia heater included, a view, and the lowest verified price in that format, and who can accept a one-year sauna warranty.
Where it falls short
The one-year sauna warranty is the shortest here; the heater is 240V hardwired by an electrician; 1,000 pounds requires a solid level foundation; bench length and maximum temperature are not published; standard roofing is asphalt roll; and the stock status was contradictory at our check.
Consider instead
Redwood's Cabin Outdoor Sauna, 4 Person ($7,299 on Redwood's site) if you want hands-on coverage: it is Garage Gym Reviews' Best Outdoor Sauna Overall, rated 4 stars with a 190°F temperature ceiling in GGR's testing. The Almost Heaven Pinnacle above for a longer sauna warranty and published bench figures.
Best budget · True 3-person · Indoor far-infrared
Dynamic Saunas Lugano DYN-6336-02
- Price (verified Aug 28, 2026)
- $2,899 brand-direct (Dynamic Saunas Direct, a Golden Designs store)
- Capacity
- 3 person; interior 57 × 41 × 69 in; bench length not published
- Heat
- 9 carbon far-infrared panels; maximum temperature not published on the brand page (dealers list about 140°F)
- Electrical
- 120V/20A service; brand says consult a certified electrician
- Size and weight
- 60 × 45 × 75 in plus a 4.3 in roof overhang; 350 lb; ships in three boxes
- Wood
- Canadian hemlock
- Warranty
- Not stated on the brand product page
- Extras
- Bluetooth audio with two speakers, chromotherapy lighting (Dynamic calls the red setting a red light therapy feature on 2024-and-later models), tempered glass door, roof vent
If price is the priority, the Lugano is the lowest-priced true three-seat cabin we verified, at $2,899 brand-direct. It is a far-infrared-only cabin: nine carbon panels including an under-bench heater, Canadian hemlock construction, clasp-together assembly, and 120V/20A service. Its brand-hosted reviews run 216 deep with 83 percent five-star, and one titled "Tight for 3" is worth reading before you plan on three adults.
Two clarifications. Dynamic's "red light therapy feature" is the red setting of the chromotherapy lighting system, not a dedicated red light array; our red light therapy sauna guide explains the difference. And the product page labels the cabin low EMF without publishing a figure, and states no warranty, wattage, or maximum temperature; the approximately 140°F figure comes from dealer listings.
Best for
Budget buyers who want three seats, a plug-in 120V/20A install, and far-infrared heat, and who do not need full-spectrum heaters, published safety documentation, or a stated warranty.
Where it falls short
No published EMF figure, VOC data, maximum temperature, or warranty on the brand page; far-infrared only; hemlock rather than hardwood; and an owner review reporting a tight fit for three. It is an entry point, not a long-term flagship.
Consider instead
The Health Mate Enrich 3 at $5,900 for a lifetime heater warranty and a mahogany cabin; the Sun Home Solstice 3 ($6,999 regular; $6,299 in a sale ending August 31) for a far-infrared cabin with a published 140°F maximum, an under-0.5 mG specification, and a 7-year warranty (a Sun Home product, named as an alternative); or the Equinox 3 if you can stretch to full-spectrum heat with published documentation.
Red light therapy for three: the Sun Home Eclipse 4 (not an award)
Sun Home does not make a 3-person Eclipse, so the four-person Eclipse 4 ($13,599 regular; $12,999 during a sale that ends August 31, 2026) is the option for three people who treat red light as a primary feature. It builds in factory-integrated dual red light towers at 660 nm and 850 nm alongside 12 far-infrared and 4 full-spectrum heaters, reaches a published 165°F, runs on a dedicated 240V/30A NEMA L6-30 circuit, includes the native Sun Home app, and carries a limited lifetime warranty. It is 94.4 by 55.1 by 76.7 inches and 925 pounds. The product page lists Canadian hemlock; some other Sun Home pages list cedar for this line, so confirm the wood in writing if it matters to you. Health Mate's Enrich 3 includes a near-infrared LED ceiling panel and Dynamic's Lugano includes red chromotherapy; neither is the same as dedicated towers. For how to read wavelength and irradiance claims, see our red light therapy sauna guide.
Choosing between the top picks
Sun Home Equinox 3 vs Health Mate Enrich 3
Both are true three-seat, 120V/20A infrared cabins. Choose the Equinox 3 for a published 155°F maximum, a manufacturer-published under-0.5 mG EMF specification (Sun Home separately publishes brand-level EMF and VOC reports that do not identify the tested cabin as the Equinox 3), two dedicated full-spectrum heaters, and free shipping. Choose the Enrich 3 for a $5,900 listed price, a lifetime heater-core warranty, mahogany construction, and a near-infrared LED panel, accepting that maximum temperature, weight, and door width are not published and that the heater count conflicts on Health Mate's own page.
Sun Home Equinox 3 vs Good Health GHS-3X
Choose the Equinox 3 for a listed price, free shipping, and a manufacturer-published under-0.5 mG specification, published alongside brand-level lab reports that do not identify the tested cabin as the Equinox 3. Choose the GHS-3X for annual third-party EMF retesting (Vitatech-certified under 1.0 mG per GHS), a higher 165°F control-range ceiling, FSC-certified cedar or hemlock, and lifetime coverage on all electrical components, accepting quote-based pricing and no measured maximum temperature.
Infrared vs traditional for three
Choose a 3-person infrared cabin (Equinox 3, Enrich 3, GHS-3X, Lugano) for manufacturer-rated 140°F to 155°F heat, a plug-in 120V/20A install, and indoor placement. Choose the Almost Heaven Pinnacle or Redwood Cove for 150°F-plus traditional heat with steam, accepting a 240V hardwired heater, an electrician, and outdoors, a foundation.
Indoor vs outdoor for three
Indoors: the Equinox 3, Enrich 3, GHS-3X, or Lugano, or the Eclipse 4 for red light. Outdoors: the Luminar 5 for infrared, or the Cove 3 Person and Pinnacle for traditional heat. Our best home saunas guide covers the wider market across every size.
How to choose a 3-person sauna
Measure before you fall for a model
The true three-seat cabins here are 59 to 62.3 inches wide and 43.5 to 48 inches deep, before door swing and the roof overhang some models add. The barrel and cube are 71 to 83.5 inches on their longer side and need clearance for airflow, a level foundation, and, for traditional heaters, the combustible clearances in the manufacturer's manual. Check the door opening against your hallway and the weight against your floor or deck; the outdoor picks here weigh 1,000 to 1,270 pounds.
What matters
- True capacity. Treat "3-person" as two comfortably and three snugly unless the maker publishes bench length. Only two picks here do.
- Verified documentation. Ask for EMF and VOC reports with the lab, method, measurement distance, and date, and ask which model they cover.
- Electrical. Confirm whether the model plugs into a dedicated 120V/20A NEMA 5-20 outlet or needs a 240V circuit installed by an electrician.
- Warranty in writing. Coverage periods differ by component; read the warranty page, not the badge.
- Independent coverage. Hands-on reviews with measured temperatures beat spec-sheet roundups. Only the Luminar 5 and Redwood's 4-person Cabin have that here.
For the decision sequence before you shop, from format to placement to power, read our how to choose a home sauna guide.
What we corrected in this update
This August 28, 2026 revision replaced the June 2026 version. The changes that affect a buying decision:
- Equinox 3 price and temperature updated to the live listing: $7,699 regular ($6,999 in a sale ending August 31) and a 155°F manufacturer maximum, replacing the earlier $7,299 and 165°F figures.
- Sun Home's EMF and VOC lab reports are now described as brand-level documentation of its heating technology and construction, because the published summaries do not name a tested model. The Equinox 3's under-0.5 mG figure is labeled a manufacturer specification.
- Health Mate claims that the brand was founded in Southern California, was the first infrared manufacturer in the U.S., and builds domestically were removed; Health Mate's current About page supports "founded 1979" and "subsidiary of the Samick Group" and does not state those other claims.
- Brand-level entries ("Health Mate 3-person," "Good Health Saunas 3-person," "Almost Heaven 4-person," "Dynamic / Maxxus") were replaced with exact models, and the combined Dynamic / Maxxus row was dropped.
- The Redwood outdoor pick changed from the 4-person Cabin to the true three-seat Cove; the Cabin remains named as Garage Gym Reviews' Best Outdoor Sauna Overall. The earlier "perfect 5/5 heat score and about 190°F in roughly 35 minutes" wording was replaced with what GGR's live page states: a 4-star rating and a 190°F temperature ceiling.
- The Good Health Saunas "0.5 mG via Vitatech" claim was replaced with what GHS's live pages state: low EMF certified by Vitatech Electromagnetics at under 1.0 mG, retested annually. GHS's published 75 to 165°F control range was added.
- The Luminar's "verified 170°F" became "170°F published," alongside Garage Gym Reviews' roughly 160°F hands-on measurement.
- The Eclipse 4 moved out of the awards under the two-award eligibility rule, and its price was updated from "$13,000+" to the live $13,599 regular ($12,999 in a sale ending August 31).
- The duplicated "Direct answer" block was removed, the disclosure was rewritten to describe the commercial relationship rather than claim independence, and every specification row now carries a verification date.
Sources and verification
Key claims and where to verify them. Prices, availability, and warranty terms change; confirm with the original source before relying on them.
- Sun Home Saunas, Equinox 3 product page: price, heaters, 155°F, EMF specification, electrical, dimensions, weight, warranty. Verified .
- Sun Home Saunas, safety testing page and the Vitatech RMS seating-distance summary (VTE-3534): EMF ranges by distance, VERT Environmental VOC test (Project 66958, April 2, 2026), ATS adhesive report (486424, June 18, 2026). Verified August 28, 2026.
- Sun Home Saunas, Luminar 5 product page: price, heaters, 170°F, materials, electrical, dimensions, weight; bench and interior figures from the linked spec sheet. Verified August 28, 2026 (spec sheet August 26, 2026).
- Sun Home Saunas, Eclipse 4 product page, Solstice 3 product page, and warranty information. Verified August 28, 2026.
- Garage Gym Reviews, Best Outdoor Sauna (April 2026 re-evaluation): Luminar 5 Best Outdoor Infrared Sauna; Redwood Thermowood Cabin Best Outdoor Sauna Overall, 4-star rating, 190°F ceiling; Almost Heaven Morgan Best Outdoor Barrel Sauna. Verified live August 28, 2026.
- The Good Trade, Sun Home Luminar outdoor sauna review (Emily Wagner, May 14, 2026), and Fortune, Sun Home Luminar review (best overall home sauna, 4.5/5). Confirmed live August 27, 2026.
- Health Mate Sauna, Enrich 3 product page, About (founded 1979, Samick Group), and Warranty (component table). Verified August 28, 2026.
- Good Health Saunas, Hybrid Series 3-Person (GHS-3X), 3-person saunas category page (control temperature range, Vitatech under 1.0 mG statement, interior depth), and warranty. Verified August 28, 2026.
- Almost Heaven Saunas, Pinnacle 4 Person Barrel Sauna: price, specifications, bench dimensions, electrical, warranty, origin, shipping. Verified August 28, 2026.
- Redwood Outdoors, Cove Outdoor Sauna, 3 Person: price, specifications, heater options, warranty, availability notices; Cabin Outdoor Sauna, 4 Person price as listed on Redwood's site. Verified August 28, 2026.
- Dynamic Saunas Direct, Lugano 3 Person Low EMF FAR IR Sauna (DYN-6336-02): price, features, dimensions, weight, electrical, reviews. Verified August 28, 2026.
FAQs
What is the best 3-person home sauna in 2026?
For most buyers, the Sun Home Equinox 3 is our best overall pick: a purpose-built three-seat full-spectrum infrared cabin that plugs into a dedicated 120V/20A NEMA 5-20 circuit, listed at $7,699 ($6,999 in a sale ending August 31, 2026) with a manufacturer-rated 155°F maximum at our August 28, 2026 check. The Health Mate Enrich 3 ($5,900) is the strongest true 3-person alternative, the Redwood Outdoors Cove 3 Person ($6,699) is the best outdoor traditional value, and the Dynamic Lugano DYN-6336-02 ($2,899) is the lowest-priced true 3-person cabin we verified.
Do 3-person saunas actually fit three adults?
Usually two adults sit comfortably and a third fits snugly. Manufacturers rarely publish bench length for 3-person cabins; among the picks here only the Almost Heaven Pinnacle (two 63.25-inch benches) and the Sun Home Luminar 5 (59-inch plus 44-inch L-shaped bench) publish it. If three adults will sit together regularly, or one person wants to lie flat, size up to a four-person cabin or barrel, or ask the manufacturer for bench length in writing.
Should I buy a 2-person or a 3-person sauna?
Buy a 2-person sauna if it is mainly for one or two users and floor space is tight. Buy a 3-person sauna for a couple plus an occasional guest or for room to recline. On Sun Home's indoor infrared cabins the step from 2 to 3 seats does not change the electrical requirement: the Equinox 2 and Equinox 3 both use a dedicated 120V/20A NEMA 5-20 circuit. The 3-person cabin is about 11 inches wider (62.3 inches versus 50.9 inches) and about 80 pounds heavier.
What is the best 3-person infrared sauna?
The Sun Home Equinox 3 is our pick: full-spectrum heat (5 far-infrared plus 2 full-spectrum heaters), a 155°F manufacturer-rated maximum, a published under-0.5 mG EMF specification, and free shipping, on a dedicated 120V/20A circuit. The Health Mate Enrich 3 and the Good Health Saunas GHS-3X Hybrid are the strongest 3-person alternatives; Health Mate publishes no maximum temperature, GHS publishes a 75 to 165°F control range rather than a measured maximum, and GHS sells by quote rather than a listed price.
What is the best 3-person outdoor sauna?
For outdoor infrared, the Sun Home Luminar 5 is our pick; Sun Home does not make a 3-person Luminar, so it is a five-person cabin whose published L-shaped bench seats three with room. For outdoor traditional heat, the Redwood Outdoors Cove Outdoor Sauna, 3 Person is a true three-seat cube at $6,699 with a 6 kW Harvia heater included; Redwood's 4-person Cabin ($7,299) is Garage Gym Reviews' Best Outdoor Sauna Overall if you want a hands-on-tested option.
Does a 3-person sauna need special electrical wiring?
It depends on the model. The Sun Home Equinox 3, Solstice 3, Health Mate Enrich 3, Good Health GHS-3X, and Dynamic Lugano all run on a dedicated 120V/20A circuit with a NEMA 5-20 receptacle; if you do not already have one, an electrician adds it. The Sun Home Luminar 5 and Eclipse 4 need a dedicated 240V/30A circuit, and the Almost Heaven Pinnacle and Redwood Cove heaters are 240V and hardwired, so a licensed electrician is required.
How much does a 3-person home sauna cost?
At our August 28, 2026 check the true 3-person picks ran from $2,899 (Dynamic Lugano) to $7,699 (Sun Home Equinox 3, $6,999 in a sale ending August 31), with the Health Mate Enrich 3 at $5,900 and the Redwood Cove 3 Person at $6,699; Good Health Saunas does not publish a price. Larger cabins that seat three with room cost more: the Almost Heaven Pinnacle lists at $7,575 ($5,302.50 in its August sale) and the Sun Home Luminar 5 at $14,499 ($13,899 in a sale ending August 31). Budget separately for any electrical work and, for outdoor kits, a foundation.
Which 3-person sauna has the lowest EMF?
Sun Home publishes an under-0.5 mG specification on the Equinox 3 product page and a Vitatech Electromagnetics summary for its heating technology showing 0.3 to 0.9 mG at a three-foot seated distance; the summary does not name a specific model. Good Health Saunas publishes annual third-party EMF reports and states its 3-person models are certified by Vitatech Electromagnetics at under 1.0 mG. Health Mate links a third-party EMF report without a figure on the product page, and Dynamic labels the Lugano low-EMF without a published number. Ask any brand for the report and the measurement distance.
Which 3-person sauna has the best warranty?
Good Health Saunas offers a lifetime warranty on heaters and all electrical components. Health Mate's Limited Lifetime Warranty covers the heater core for life and the cabin, paneling, and controls for 10 years in residential use. Almost Heaven covers manufacturing defects for a limited lifetime, with the Harvia heater at 1 year on elements and 5 years on other components. Sun Home's Equinox 3 carries 7 years on cabinetry and heaters plus 3 years on controls, while its Luminar line is limited lifetime. Redwood Outdoors covers the sauna for 1 year, and Dynamic does not state a warranty on the Lugano product page.
Is a 3-person infrared or traditional sauna better?
Neither is better for everyone. The 3-person infrared cabins here top out at manufacturer-rated 140°F to 155°F, plug into a dedicated 120V/20A circuit, and are indoor-only. Traditional electric saunas like the Almost Heaven Pinnacle run in the 150 to 195°F range on a 240V hardwired heater and let you pour water on the stones for steam, but they need an electrician and, outdoors, a foundation. Choose infrared for a simpler install and gentler heat, traditional for high heat and steam.